1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

To RAM or not to RAM...

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by Jenesis, Apr 13, 2007.

  1. Jenesis

    Jenesis New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2007
    Messages:
    150 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    England
    Alright the title is a little off, my question is actually about the amount of RAM needed, but eh ;)

    So in my upcoming rig I have the option of having 2GB or 4GB of RAM. 4GB adds £100 on to the initial price. Should I just have 2 gigs and upgrade in the future, or would it be simpler to put all the RAM in in one go? What games need more than 2GB of RAM anyway??
  2. bruins004 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Messages:
    2,480 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    75
    Nothing as or right now needs more than 2GB.
    Though you prob. will need 4GB in the future.

    However, there are quite a few games out there that use more than 1GB (i.e. BF2, FEAR, etc.).
    I would say get a 2 x 1GB set and you will be good for a while :)
  3. zekrahminator

    zekrahminator McLovin

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    Messages:
    9,114 (3.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    321
    Location:
    My house.
    I'd spend the cash you could spend on the additional 2GB, and take someone out to a night on the town :).
  4. Jenesis

    Jenesis New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2007
    Messages:
    150 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    England
    Aye fair enough :) I'll keep it at 2GB then and leave the other RAM until I need it - I'm spending far too much on this PC already!
  5. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,185 (5.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,177
    Bump!
  6. DrunkenMafia

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2007
    Messages:
    2,276 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    232
    Location:
    Cairns QLD, Aussie
    Hey genesis what hardware have you bought, you might be able to save on the ram and step up the rest of the hardware a little...

    Or you could go out on the town as suggested... :D
  7. Chewy

    Chewy New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    3,289 (1.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    148
    Location:
    Halifax, Canada
    shes using a laptop, check her system specs. and welcome to the boards Jenesis, nice to see a female who enjoys some computer gaming/hardware :p.
  8. DrunkenMafia

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2007
    Messages:
    2,276 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    232
    Location:
    Cairns QLD, Aussie

    Roger that.....

    Thought she may be building a system. still I wouldnt think 4 gig will help anything. :confused: Save your cash and do something fun
  9. aximbigfan New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    848 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
    remember, you need a 64bit os and proc in order to run 4gb of ram...


    chris
  10. tkpenalty New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,958 (2.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    Australia, Sydney
    2GB RAM is enough. Just spend the rest on something that you like, like some new clothes or shoes yeah.
  11. Jenesis

    Jenesis New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2007
    Messages:
    150 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    England
    Yep my proc is AMD X2 64 5200+ and OS is either Vista Home Premium or Vista Ultimate (both OEM so only about £20 price difference) so if/when I upgrade the RAM I'll be able to run it.

    tkpenalty, just 'cause I'm female doesn't mean I automatically go shopping for clothes and shoes :p I'll put the saved cash towards Unreal Tournament 3!

    ETA: I haven't bought any hardware for my new system yet, I have a thread knocking about somewhere in the Projects section with my proposed specs.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page