1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

To RMA or to refund? That is the question!

Discussion in 'NVIDIA' started by random, Apr 21, 2009.

  1. random

    random

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    3,043 (1.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    686
    I'm not sure anymore about this gtx 295 I have. Since I don't have money to afford a new PSU I got very limited options;

    1st option - get warranty hope the next card solves the problem (http://forums.techpowerup.com/showthread.php?t=91668).

    2nd option - Refund the GTX295 for 829AUD and buy 1x 4890 1GB & a Q9550.

    3rd option - Refund the GTX 295 for 829AUD and buy 1x 4890 & a new PSU.
     
  2. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    I don't see how the PSU would do that. Probably a defective memory. I'd RMA it first see if it's fixed, if not grab the 4890+PSU.
     
    random says thanks.
  3. Assassin48 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,450 (1.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    515
    Location:
    95350
    RMA that thing maybe it will work

    did you dl all the updates for cod ?
    you update all drivers?

    if you did rma it
     
    random says thanks.
  4. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,654 (13.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,045
    Doesn't the card require a 6 pin and an 8 pin PCI-E connector?
     
    random says thanks.
  5. random

    random

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    3,043 (1.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    686
    Yeah the hx620 has both
     
  6. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,654 (13.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,045
    My HX620 has only two 6-Pin connectors. Strange....

    *Oh that's right, they have the +2 connectors on each cable..
     
  7. random

    random

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    3,043 (1.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    686
    Yes true, but the input has like an extra 2 pin on the side. :S

    The output connectors are only 6pin though.

    EDIT: how long does the RMA process take for any etailer as an average?

    Note: to Assassin - I've tried many versions of nvidia driver from old to new drivers - tried running everything completely stock and problem persists and I know its not from conflicting driver installations..
     
    Last edited: Apr 21, 2009
  8. random

    random

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    3,043 (1.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    686
    /bump

    Problem solved, refunded with a 10% restocking fee so I just bought a 4890 1GB thanks for the help all.
     
  9. Assassin48 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,450 (1.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    515
    Location:
    95350
    wow they charged you to take it back

    i would just keep making a fit and made them pay :D

    especially if you buy alot from them
     
  10. random

    random

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    3,043 (1.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    686
    Nah I've only bought cheap elixir ram from them rofl, they would prolly think im a cheap ass.

    But anyways how can I chuck a fit at such a hot asian girl retailer? There's just NO way LOL.

    The 4890 I got was a dud, wouldn't detect on my comp nor my gf's comp SIGHHH im just getting no luck from both teams at all
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page