1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Took apart computer to clean, now monitor won't show anything

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Oragami, Jan 30, 2013.

  1. Oragami New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2013
    Messages:
    4 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I've taken my computer apart (mainly the video card for dust since that killed my last one, and on occasion the memory sticks...if that's what they're called.)

    Today when I was done checking everything and putting it back (like I have done several times before), I turned it on and while the fan on the heat sink would turn on, along with the smaller one on the video card), my monitor would say something about VDA/DVI (or something of the sort) hookups/cords.

    I tried taking it out and putting it back in, unplugging everything (mouse, keyboard, wifi, speakers), letting it try to boot up for a few minutes, but --nothing-- showed up on my monitor beyond the little notice.

    As far as I know I didnt 'break' any bits off the motherboard.

    Is this something that may be able to get fixed (and cheap), or do I say screw it and buy a new computer?
  2. najiro New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2012
    Messages:
    7 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Philippines
    how did you clean it? you disassembled everything? i/o cables, gpu, rams and so on?
    ehhh? you don't really need to do that if you have a good air blower. Did you brush or wipe any of the hardware?
  3. Oragami New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2013
    Messages:
    4 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I unplugged everything from the outside (power cords, 'accessories'). I had to look up GPU, but do you mean the video/graphics card?

    I used a hair dryer (on the 'cool' setting to blow out the dust I could see, and a few bugs that had gotten in there and died (I know that is not the issue, they've been getting in for a while, one reason I keep the side facing me off)
  4. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    4,848 (2.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,917
    Location:
    Oregon
    First list all your parts
    Double check the wires
    Re seat the card and memory

    Did you plug the monitor into the correct plug?

    Power cord to GPU?

    Do you have on board video, also? (this is why you need to list your parts)


    Don't use a hair dryer to clean your PC or a vacuum, Static. Buy a can of air
  5. Oragami New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2013
    Messages:
    4 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I'm not sure exactly what I have, since I gave it to a neighbor to look at, and didn't write down any of the information for what was on it. I THINK the graphics card had a PNY logo (or something similar) on it.

    I took the cards out several times and put them back in, just like I said. I made sure ALL cords/hookups were secure, even the ones I didnt unplug (just to be sure)

    As for inboard video, I don't know about that.
  6. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    4,848 (2.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,917
    Location:
    Oregon
    Ok well if he doesn't figure it out then list all your hardware

    Good luck
  7. xenocide

    xenocide

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Messages:
    2,131 (1.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    458
    *cringe*

    Oh well that makes it okay...



    But seriously, compressed air is dirt cheap, and there's a reason people use it so much. Anything else is bound to either transmit static electricity or blow debris into your case.
  8. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,529 (10.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,042
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Yea using a hair dryer causes Electromagnetic field from the AC motor. If gotten too close to the components, it could have killed something.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. Easy Rhino

    Easy Rhino Linux Advocate

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    13,408 (4.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,233
    i am no electrical engineer but i am pretty sure as long as the pc is turned off having a hair dryer near it is not going to have any affect.
  10. Geofrancis

    Geofrancis

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,041 (0.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    153
    Location:
    SCOTLAND!
    does your motherboard have a small speaker on it? it should beep if there is a fault.
    when the computer is off is the monitor on standby or is it saying no connection?
  11. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,529 (10.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,042
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    I can create some type of interference. I had to do a project on the effects of certain magnetic fields when I got my degree in electronics engineering. I didn't say thought that this was the main cause but it could be.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  12. 3870x2

    3870x2

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,875 (2.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    689
    Location:
    Joplin, Mo
    It doesn't have to be on / plugged in to affect it.
  13. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,529 (10.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,042
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Right, It sorta like the static electricity we create by rubbing the hair on our heads then touching something metal. The results are somewhat similar to electromagnetic fields.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  14. TC-man

    TC-man

    Joined:
    May 25, 2011
    Messages:
    348 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    117
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Perhaps it's not the electromagnetic field that may have caused the damage, but I think it's more likely that the dry air from the hair-dryer that created static charge/electricity which may have caused some damage to certain part in your PC. Just maybe, I guess.

    Anyway, try re-seating everything and see if you are still having the problem.
  15. Easy Rhino

    Easy Rhino Linux Advocate

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    13,408 (4.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,233
    if that is the case then when he turned the pc on he would have heard a very audible snap.
  16. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,529 (10.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,042
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Possibly, but maybe he was listening to pantera during this time? :cool:
    Jetster says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  17. Mindweaver

    Mindweaver Moderato®™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,162 (2.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,654
    Location:
    Statesville, NC
    Static electricity is bad, and for the most part doesn't totally kill parts, but degrades the part where the static discharges and over time causes the part to fail. It would take a very high static discharge to kill a part to the point it would be harmful to the person.

    I think Oragami has it in the best possible hands(for free) at the moment with there friend. I would wait till I heard from them. I bet it's something simple Oragami's overlooking. I'm quite surprised sometimes at what some people call secure... hehehe

    EDIT: I don't like the way that last part sounds, that part is not a jab at you Oragami when I say "some people". Ram, pci, PCI-E cards not seated completely can feel secure, because of how it can get widged. If it's something like that, and this person is a good friend will point this out. Then you'll understand what I mean. :toast:
    Last edited: Jan 30, 2013
    qubit says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  18. lordjohn

    lordjohn

    Joined:
    May 19, 2012
    Messages:
    161 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    i used to have this kind of problem before, long long time ago, maybe my first PC that build by my self. take out your ram, handle only the edge and clean the golden finger, do the same for the video card. clean the ram slots and pci-e, agp slots too.
    discharge urself first, don't touch any chip.
    and what sound come out when it is black screen. check ur mainboard menu that will show it is ram or video card problem.

    and don't clean pc with hair dryer, clean it the same way u do with a dslr
  19. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,529 (10.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,042
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    I clean my PC with a air compressor with the pressure turned down to 5-15 PSI so it does not get violent on the motherboard. Been doing this for years without an issue.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  20. Easy Rhino

    Easy Rhino Linux Advocate

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    13,408 (4.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,233
    i need to get one of those. i keep getting suckered into paying for those compressed air cans that cost like $5 per can! what a complete scam!
  21. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,529 (10.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,042
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    LOL rhino! I needed one for my garage anyways so caught a 10Gal 5HP at tractor supply for 75$ on black friday :) Has controllable regulator and dual lines.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  22. tokyoduong

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2013
    Messages:
    478 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    119
    Don't wait until you need it to buy it!! I see it on sale here and now for a 5 pack at various stores. When it's $1-2 buy like 10 of them and use it when you need them.
    This goes for anything you know you will need like a PSU. Right now there's a TX650 V2 on newegg for 69.99 and even lower if you include the mail in rebate. It looks like that will be in sitting in my closet soon when my current PSU gives up.
  23. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,529 (10.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,042
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    You can get a little one gallon AC for like 40$ at walmart that can be used for many other things besides cleaning. Just factor the cost of that to canned air and see what the result of savings would be :)
    Crunching for Team TPU
  24. Easy Rhino

    Easy Rhino Linux Advocate

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    13,408 (4.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,233
    yea i should definitely go get one cause my PCs have been gathering some serious dust and cat hair :eek:
  25. Mindweaver

    Mindweaver Moderato®™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,162 (2.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,654
    Location:
    Statesville, NC
    I've used an air compressor for 18 years now full blast on everything in a pc. I've found the higher the pressure the better.. But be sure to have a good water trap on the air compressor, because of condensation.. I always start out blowing away from the computer to get rid of any water in the lines. :toast:

    EDIT: Pressure wise I just hit it a few times or back away from the parts.
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page