1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

TP-LINK Announces the AV500 Gigabit Powerline Adapter

Discussion in 'News' started by Cristian_25H, May 21, 2012.

  1. Cristian_25H

    Cristian_25H News Poster

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2011
    Messages:
    4,581 (4.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,161
    Location:
    Still on the East Side
    TP-LINK, a global provider of networking products, today announced its new AV500 Gigabit Powerline Adapter, providing industry-leading performance, hassle-free set-up, for an instant, secure high-speed network for the home or office. The AV500 Gigabit Powerline Adapter provides high-speed streams at up to 500 Mbps on a line length of up to 300 meters, creating an incredibly fast, robust network. At these speeds, the AV500 Gigabit Powerline Adapter delivers the performance required for fast, whole home or office solutions to connect all network compatible devices from HD video streaming, online gaming, VolP or any other bandwidth intensive applications.

    The AV500 Gigabit Powerline Adapter comes equipped with TP-LINK's Quality of Service (QoS) function which prioritizes the bandwidth requirements of data traffic, guaranteeing clear, instant connections of a device, even when other bandwidth intensive applications like VoIP, video streaming or online gaming are running on the network.

    [​IMG] [​IMG]

    The sophisticated Power-Saving Mode on the AV500 Gigabit Powerline Adapter consumes less power when compared with existing Powerline adapters. When there is no data transmission or reception occurring after five minutes, the adapters will automatically switch from their regular "Working" mode to "Power-Saving" mode, lowering energy consumption by up to 85 percent*.

    It also comes with a pair button on each adapter so users can easily set up a hassle-free connection with 128-bit AES encryption for network security and data protection.

    "Our flagship Gigabit Powerline Adapter transforms your home or office power outlets into a high-performance network with no need for new wires or drilling," said Howard He, Product Engineer of TP-LINK USA. "With our convenient network at 500 Mbps, the Gigabit Powerline Adapter will transmit multiple HD video streams to every room or office, making it an exceptional choice for an easy-to-build multimedia network."

    AV500 Gigabit Powerline Adapter (TL-PA511KIT) - $89.99 - Product Available End of May 2012

    ● HomePlug AV standard compliant, high-speed data transfer rates of up to 500 Mbps
    ● One Gigabit Ethernet Port; built-in QoS provides networking flexibility and stable HD video streaming, online gaming capabilities
    ● Plug-and-play setup; no configuration required
    ● Patented Power-Saving Mode automatically reduces power consumption by up to 85%
    ● Up to 300 meter (984 feet) range over the household power circuit for better performance through walls or across floors
    ● Establish a 128-bit AES encryption to secure Powerline communications simply by pressing the Pair button on the adapter
     
    95Viper says thanks.
  2. Nemiel New Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2012
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    nice

    Nice, i just placed an order for these on Amazon UK :D
     
  3. theeldest

    theeldest

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2006
    Messages:
    652 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    140
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Does anyone else think it's disingenuous to call it a Gigabit PowerLine Adapter because of the port spec even though it only does 500 Mb/s actual throughput?
     
  4. Completely Bonkers New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    2,580 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    516
    Yes. I also find it spammish to register at TPU just to say you order these from Amazon (second post). Is this Amazon or TP-Link paying for this kind of marketing trick?

    +++++++++++++++++++

    In the interests of fair-play and competition, I just bought a pair of these http://www.asokatech.com/ rebranded as "swisscom". What is nice about them (in addition to 500mbps) is that they will also i) measure power consumption, and ii) allow you to remotely turn on and off the socket via the internet. NEAT

    http://asokatech.com/media/pdf/plugline/Datasheet-PL7667-Energy Management Devices.pdf
     
  5. diopter

    diopter

    Joined:
    May 22, 2012
    Messages:
    34 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    I'm guessing half-gigabit didn't quite have the same ring to it. :)
     
  6. Cheeseball

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    665 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    84
    The reason why TP-LINK named it a "Gigabit..." adapter is because it comes in a set of two, therefore 500 Mbps + 500 Mbps = 1 Gbps. Yes, I know it's retarded. They used that naming scheme with all their products.
     
  7. DanTheBanjoman Señor Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    10,553 (2.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,383
    It's just half duplex. 1 gbit bandwidth, 500mbit both ways.

    Also, I highly doubt they actually are that fast. Last review of gigabit powerline adapters I read concluded they barely outperformed fast Ethernet.
     
  8. Easy Rhino

    Easy Rhino Linux Advocate

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    13,432 (4.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,243
    i believe they call it 'gigabit' because it has the gigabit port spec. it is like the nas devices that say gigabit on them but obviously can only transfer as fast as the hdd chip allows.
     
  9. DanTheBanjoman Señor Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    10,553 (2.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,383
    What's the HDD chip? Most NAS devices are limited by processing power, most modern disks transfer 100+MB/s.
     
  10. Easy Rhino

    Easy Rhino Linux Advocate

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    13,432 (4.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,243
    sorry yes i mean the sata controller or the cpu. my point being they call it a gigabit device because it has a gigabit port not because it can pass a gigabit connection (which in both cases it cant)
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page