1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Tpu Ati Bios Collection = Dead/inactive?

Discussion in 'Comments & Feedback' started by Sovereign, Aug 15, 2007.

  1. Sovereign

    Sovereign New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2007
    Messages:
    797 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    65
    Location:
    Midwest USA
    Heya folks! I do alot of work with video cards and find that the BIOS collection on our site is quite usefull. The sad thing is that it's now over one year out of date (The last posted submitted BIOS was from July of '06)... I know that I've submitted a few BIOS in the past, which eventualy made it on after a few months as well as having submitted a few more a couple of months ago which are still at large...

    I guess what I am trying to say is that what is the deal with the ATI BIOS Collection section of TPU?

    If it's a lack of time for W1z or whoever else manages it, is there any way to deligate this responsibility to somebody else in order to help out and manage the BIOS collection?

    Also would like to suggest adding an NVIDIA BIOS Collection database as well. I know there are a few decent sites out there that already have one but I just think it would be nice to have on of our own as well.
     
  2. salsa2good New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Messages:
    10 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    i need a bios for radeon x1650pro and i cant find it anywhere can you post it or send it to me or somthing?:(
     
  3. Random Murderer

    Random Murderer The Anti-Midas

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6,512 (2.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,233
    x1650 pro is the same as x1600xt
     
  4. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    15,038 (3.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,946
    wish list for bios collection:
    - one php coder with some basic skills (should be a good learning experience) to update the scripts for new bios formats .. i can provide all the data for parsing etc.
    - one person to maintain/add new bioses
     
  5. Random Murderer

    Random Murderer The Anti-Midas

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6,512 (2.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,233
    i can maintain/add if you want
     
  6. salsa2good New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Messages:
    10 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    can you add it for me? ima go try the 1600xt bios also
     
  7. salsa2good New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Messages:
    10 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    that one is PCI-E i need an AGP version
     
  8. Sovereign

    Sovereign New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2007
    Messages:
    797 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    65
    Location:
    Midwest USA

    Ah! Thanks for the heads up, W1z! Finding a respectable PHP coder might take some doing... I just might take it up if we can not find one in the near future.
     
  9. Random Murderer

    Random Murderer The Anti-Midas

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6,512 (2.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,233
    so its settled then! i'm the new maintainer/adder and sovereign is the php coder...:toast:
     
  10. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    15,038 (3.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,946
    i started with the coding yday .. lots of it done already
     
  11. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    15,038 (3.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,946
    so i recoded the whole engine from scratch .. added support for the newer ati bios formats.. added a few extra thingies that can be read:

    http://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/ (works only with new design enabled)

    now the biggest problem is how to organize the bioses .. because one big list is just too much ..
     
  12. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,684 (6.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    do it by series kinda like when you look on newegg its one big list but then you can narrow it down by bus/series etc
     
  13. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    15,038 (3.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,946
    very good idea
     
  14. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,684 (6.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    going to add nvidia BIOS to?
     
  15. Sovereign

    Sovereign New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2007
    Messages:
    797 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    65
    Location:
    Midwest USA
    I was initialy in favor of doing this too but I had a chance to think about it...

    Since there are more nVIDIA video cards out there versus ATI branded, the amount of time and the sheer size of the database may be too much to handle for one person. BTW, thanks W1z for all the work you've been doing so far! ;)
     
  16. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,684 (6.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    so limit it to 6600 and up no one really BIOS changed the older cards anyways the just used coolbits or riva
     
  17. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    15,038 (3.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,946
    yep will add nvidia bioses .. I'll add some magic bios parsing functions that allow fast and easy adding.

    on ati right now all you have to do it upload file, select manufacturer, select model, select memory size, the rest is automatically filled
     
  18. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,709 (6.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,227
    Very nicely done W1z.....I like the format alot better than just endless scrolling untill I find the correct card!!!!!

    Are we gonna have a tread for Nvidia bios dumps to help along with the selection?
     
  19. pt

    pt not a suicide-bomber

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,981 (2.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    208
    Location:
    Portugal
    thanks w1z
    :)
     
  20. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,684 (6.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    one thing if you select nv you can choose the Ati cards that may be confusing in the long run 9xxx series from nv
     
  21. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    15,038 (3.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,946
    no you cant select ati 8800 cards when you select nvidia as architecture. and not the other way round either
     
  22. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,684 (6.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    sorry i said that wrong it still lists the ATi cards for NV thus making confusion as more cards are add i think a split should be made so the 2 dont show in each others
     
  23. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    15,038 (3.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,946
  24. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,132 (5.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,457
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    I remember downloading the 700 bios and they where backwards. The 256 was the 512 and the 512 was the 256 card.
     
  25. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    15,038 (3.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,946
    the 700 bios is what exactly?
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page