1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

TPU Eyefinity Club

Discussion in 'techPowerUp! Club Forum' started by t_ski, Sep 20, 2010.

  1. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,864 (4.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,934
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    I could change the profile, but that seems to have issues with some apps.

    Ambient temps aren't that high really...the rets of the temps seem high as power saving features were disabled on the CPU when I took that screenie a couple of days ago, and the high motherboard sensor temps are due to the hot air coming off of that VGA.

    Now, if I put the other card on top, it hits about 65c with multiple monitors, and exhausts the hot air out the case. However, if I leave things in that config, the rear exhaust cards gets super-high load temps due to sucking in all the hot air from the in-case exhaust card.

    Sucks that I have mis-matched cards, but oh well. I told XFX before they tested the card and sent it to me, that it better be bullet proof, because if it wasn't, I'd be RMA'ing the card for sure. They assured me I'd get a good card, and really, I cannot say the temps concern me that much. Lifetime warranty means that when it pops, I'll get another.
  2. HossHuge

    HossHuge

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Messages:
    2,025 (0.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    492
    Location:
    EDM, AB, CAN
    If I remember correctly cadaveca is from Edmonton, AB. And you don't really need to worry about ambient temps there.
  3. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,864 (4.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,934
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Yeah, not really a place where ambient is too important.

    However, on hot days(if you can call them hot), because the climate here is so cold, it can be an issue to exhuast hot air out of the house itself, as homes here are very much made to retain heat, and my home even more so than some other homes.
  4. HossHuge

    HossHuge

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Messages:
    2,025 (0.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    492
    Location:
    EDM, AB, CAN
    Ya, I'm from Edmonton as well and now that I live in TW I definitely need to worry about ambient temps.

    Go OIL!!
  5. t_ski

    t_ski Former Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    10,776 (3.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,235
    Yeah, I was thinking he should just crack a window or something :laugh:
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. grunt_408

    grunt_408

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Messages:
    2,026 (0.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    485
    Location:
    Australia
    Dues Ex is pretty cool with eyefinity
  7. NAVI_Z

    NAVI_Z New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    Messages:
    254 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    37
    pics please :toast:
  8. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,864 (4.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,934
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Deus Ex in Eyefinity:

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
    NAVI_Z, HossHuge and Mussels say thanks.
  9. slippy1010 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2011
    Messages:
    12 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    Scotland / UK
    Deus Ex in Eyefinity is the dogs dangles.
    I completed the game the other day, stay till after the credits for a little snip-it
    cadaveca says thanks.
  10. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,139 (11.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,470
    and performance is good enough that you can actually do it on high settings too.
    NAVI_Z says thanks.
  11. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,864 (4.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,934
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Yeah, on a single card. Pretty impressed by AMD and Deus EX, for sure.
  12. LordJummy

    LordJummy New Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2011
    Messages:
    1,406 (1.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    248
    Location:
    US of A
    Definitely enjoying DXHR on eyefinity. It runs incredibly well at full settings...
  13. HossHuge

    HossHuge

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Messages:
    2,025 (0.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    492
    Location:
    EDM, AB, CAN
    After going through this thread about whether or not 4GB of ram is enough for today's games, do you think that 4GB is enough for Eyefinity?
  14. slippy1010 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2011
    Messages:
    12 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    Scotland / UK
    For the price of 8gb ram, its crazy not to.
    Here in the UK, you can get G.Skill 2x4gb for £35
    HossHuge says thanks.
  15. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,864 (4.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,934
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    I'm running a new motherboard motherboard every week for a reviews, swapping out ram sticks, etc...

    PLus, using Eyefinity daily...

    Uh, yeah, 4 GB of ram is PLENTY. I have NEVER ram out of ram.

    OF course, I do have 8GB of serverla types of mem, so yeah, I've played with that too...NO DIFFERENCE.

    That said, I can get 8GB of ram for $40. NO reason to NOT run 8GB.

    So htere's my opinion. There's no need for 8GB< but also no reason to NOT run it, except, fo course, that so much ram does affect overclocking.
    HossHuge says thanks.
  16. HossHuge

    HossHuge

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Messages:
    2,025 (0.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    492
    Location:
    EDM, AB, CAN
    This is what I'm worried about. The ram speed I have now is 1800mhz running at 1440. So, If I mix and match it might effect my overclock. Probably just stay at 4GB until I sell this rig.
  17. TotalChaos

    TotalChaos New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2005
    Messages:
    737 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    590
  18. bbmarley

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    Messages:
    482 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    76
  19. slippy1010 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2011
    Messages:
    12 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    Scotland / UK
  20. Rebelstar

    Rebelstar New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    71 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    Location:
    Minsk, Belarus
    Guys, if I'll remove metallic borders on the monitors, we'll it work after? Want to have extra thin bezel. Reduced from 19 mm to 9 mm already by disassembling plastic bodies [​IMG]
  21. bbmarley

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    Messages:
    482 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    76
    dam that gun looks pretty real lol
  22. HossHuge

    HossHuge

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Messages:
    2,025 (0.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    492
    Location:
    EDM, AB, CAN
    hey Rebelstar. I'm curious what your wall mount looks like from behind. Are they three different mounts or just one?
  23. Rebelstar

    Rebelstar New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    71 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    Location:
    Minsk, Belarus
    Custom mod. I made these mounts from the wood and painted with black, 3 pieces for each screen. They have adjusting angles via hinge

    [​IMG]
    Last edited: Sep 17, 2011
  24. t_ski

    t_ski Former Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    10,776 (3.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,235
    list the cards and models and I'll get you added
    Crunching for Team TPU
  25. Rebelstar

    Rebelstar New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    71 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    Location:
    Minsk, Belarus
    Two 6970 + Three stripped Benq G2420HD

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 0 (0 members and 0 guests)

Share This Page