1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

TPU Front Page

Discussion in 'Comments & Feedback' started by TheMailMan78, Feb 18, 2013.

  1. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,290 (7.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,777
    Is something wrong with the TPU front page? Its not loading all the way in IE10 or Safari.
     
  2. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,774 (9.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,236
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Doesn't seem to be loading up all the way for me but it could be my crappy work internets
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,290 (7.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,777
    No its not loading on three different devices in my house.
     
  4. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,774 (9.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,236
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    It finally loaded for me so it was my crappy work nets

    [​IMG]
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,290 (7.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,777
  6. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,709 (6.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,227
    Only partially loads in chrome too. I assume there is something wrong/causing the slow down.
     
  7. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,290 (7.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,777
    IE10 loaded after about 5 minutes. This is what I get if I hit refresh.

    [​IMG]
     
  8. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,774 (9.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,236
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Yep thats the same thing I got my first time trying to load but I kept hitting reload and the whole page finally appeared.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,290 (7.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,777
    It seems to be loading ok now.
     
  10. DarkOCean

    DarkOCean

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Messages:
    1,619 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    350
    Location:
    on top of that big mountain on mars(Romania)
    seems like it's fixed now.
     
  11. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,122 (4.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,325
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    It was mad rush of people looking for Titan news! Added more fairy dust, and the day is saved!



    (not really, I dunno nothing.)
     
  12. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    15,036 (3.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,943
    it seems related to our "up next" feature, which live-updates the headline as the news guys are typing.
     
  13. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,290 (7.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,777
    This is why you make the big bucks.
     
  14. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    15,036 (3.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,943
    has anyone experienced such load issues before (while up next was visible) ?
     
  15. Mindweaver

    Mindweaver Moderato®™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,424 (2.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,014
    Location:
    Statesville, NC
    I haven't in the past, but I did this time.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  16. the54thvoid

    the54thvoid

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,472 (1.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,690
    Location:
    Glasgow - home of formal profanity
    I've noticed it in the past but i couldn't 100% link to "up next" news display. That being said - it was an identical portion of the page loading, i.e. the articles were not loading.
     
  17. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    15,036 (3.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,943
    the up next feature might delay page loading for about half a second due to the extra connection to be made, but the frontpage should be working otherwise
     
  18. the54thvoid

    the54thvoid

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,472 (1.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,690
    Location:
    Glasgow - home of formal profanity
    It happened to me at about 6pm which i thought was too close to a nice reasonable NDA lifting in the American Pacific time (10am)! Man I was disappointed when it did load up. :laugh:
     
  19. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    15,036 (3.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,943
    this should be fixed now. the server process for doing the insta-update magic was crashed, and the process who was supposed to restart it on crash was crashed, too.
     
  20. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,220 (6.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,259
    [​IMG]
     
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  21. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,290 (7.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,777
  22. d1nky

    d1nky

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    3,762 (5.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,293
    nope on i.e in uk
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page