1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

TPU image hosting

Discussion in 'General Software' started by trt740, Jun 25, 2010.

  1. trt740

    trt740

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    10,935 (3.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,113
    I'm getting this Error: Could not move uploaded file: Whats up, trying to post a sale and can't get pictures to upload.
     
    Last edited: Jun 25, 2010
  2. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,675 (6.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,181
    [​IMG]

    Nothing is wrong with it, I would check file type and or size/weight.
     
    trt740 says thanks.
  3. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (4.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,616
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    Is the picture too large? (Greater than 2M)
     
  4. Black Panther

    Black Panther Senior Moderatorâ„¢ Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8,590 (3.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,936
    Which file extension are you using?
    File extensions allowed are gif, jpg or png.

    Also the maximum size of the file is 2 MB.
     
  5. trt740

    trt740

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    10,935 (3.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,113
    it's 14 mp thats it
     
  6. AhokZYashA

    AhokZYashA

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2008
    Messages:
    1,154 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    155
    resize it first
    then upload it.
    i think its too large.
     
  7. trt740

    trt740

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    10,935 (3.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,113
    tried resizing but that didn't work I think the mp are too big . Has it always been 2mp.
     
  8. AhokZYashA

    AhokZYashA

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2008
    Messages:
    1,154 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    155
    i've uploaded 3MP pics to there.
    and theres no problem.
     
  9. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (4.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,616
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    It's not 2 megapixel, it's 2 Megabytes. Just compress the jpg to less than 2 MB.
     
  10. Black Panther

    Black Panther Senior Moderatorâ„¢ Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8,590 (3.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,936
    You can do it easily even with MS Paint.

    Right click file and choose 'open with' MS Paint.

    The picture would be very large.

    Resize it to, say 50% (using 'Image' and "Resize/Skew" in Ms Paint toolbar)

    When you get to save, save it as a jpg.

    Check the image size in MB....
     
    trt740 says thanks.
  11. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,739 (9.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,213
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    resize it down with pixresizer and see if it works.
     
    trt740 says thanks.
  12. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (4.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,616
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    You don't even have to resize it if you do not want to.

    Here is a 12.2 Megapixel (4288 x 2848) image compressed to 1.5MB.

    [​IMG]
     
    trt740 says thanks.
  13. trt740

    trt740

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    10,935 (3.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,113
    I'm not sure what the issue is then
     
  14. AhokZYashA

    AhokZYashA

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2008
    Messages:
    1,154 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    155
    you can compress the image with microsoft picture manager.
    i always compress using that.
    and works like charm...
     
    trt740 says thanks.
  15. trt740

    trt740

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    10,935 (3.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,113
    I'm baffled here.
     
  16. spud107

    spud107

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Messages:
    1,194 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    131
    Location:
    scotland
    trt740 says thanks.
  17. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (4.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,616
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    If the image is a jpg, gif (not tif) or png and it's smaller than 2.00 MB, then I have no idea why it's not working either.
     
    trt740 says thanks.
  18. trt740

    trt740

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    10,935 (3.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,113
    it appears it was to big a file at 14 mp at 5mp it is fine


    [​IMG]
     
  19. AhokZYashA

    AhokZYashA

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2008
    Messages:
    1,154 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    155
    so the file size is the problem..
     
    trt740 says thanks.
  20. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (4.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,616
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    It must have been over 2MB "on disk". I've never had a problem with the 12.2 MP images.
    My original camera images are TIF and weight in at about 30MB. I just compress them to < 2MB and they work fine without resizing to a smaller image size.

    Just as a side note, if the image is very close to the 2MB limit and you add a tag lilne, I think it can push you over the limit. Not sure on that, but I thought it happened to me some time ago.
     
    trt740 says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page