1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

TPU Minecraft Server

Discussion in 'Games' started by newtekie1, Feb 2, 2011.

  1. jpsandman New Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Messages:
    61 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Location:
    Indiana
    Awesome, that is working much better.
  2. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,172 (6.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,023
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    Thanks! It would really help if I was whitelisted so I could log in, otherwise the status of the FTB server doesn't really matter, now does it? :confused:
  3. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    13,416 (6.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,395
    Location:
    IA, USA
    Send him a PM. Posts get lost in this thread. XD
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    13,416 (6.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,395
    Location:
    IA, USA
    FYI, server is down.

    Edit: It's up again.
    Last edited: Feb 9, 2013
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,807 (6.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,924
    The FTB server is now running using McMyAdmin. I'll tell you, that was a bitch to get working. FTB has multiple different mod-packs. So since I already started the server using the Direwolf20 Pack, I have to keep using that pack, or it totally corrupts the world. But McMyAdmin will only use the FTB-Beta-A pack with the FTB-Beta-A.jar file name for the mod pack jar. Which in itself it stupid since FTB has now switch to using a standard ftbserver.jar name for all the different packs(hopefully McMyAdmin will just accept ftbserver.jar with the next update). But it isn't a big deal since the people over at McMyAdmin's forums already figured out the obvious work around, just rename whatever pack you want to use to FTB-Beta-A.jar.

    Then the instruction that McMyAdmin gives say to just copy the FTB-Beta-A.jar file over into the McMyAdmin folder and it will work. WRONG! It took me a little brain work to figure out that I also have to copy over some folders that contain most of the actual mods before things will work properly. Without copying these folders the server will start, and seem like it is working, but no one will be able to join. Instead you will just get an error message saying forgecraft found an item ID mismatch...

    But anyway, it is now working as it should, I hope. McMyAdmin seems to be a necessity, the automatic world backups, and automatic nightly server restarts are a must. Especially since FTB seems to grind to a laggy halt if it isn't restarted every day or so.

    Also, the server is now running with 24GB of RAM thanks to a very generous donation by jpsandman of a 16GB kit of RAM!

    And the primary server was down while I was setting up the FTB server to use McMyAdmin. I didn't want the two conflicting and something happening to the main server, so I just shut it down to protect it.
    Aquinus, FordGT90Concept and jpsandman say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  6. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,807 (6.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,924
    Oh, and I forgot to mention that I re-enabled the night isometric rendering on dynmap. I'll probably try to enable the nether maps too, dynmap supposedly fixed the nether rendering, so we'll see.
    jpsandman and Chevalr1c say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  7. jpsandman New Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Messages:
    61 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Location:
    Indiana
    Looks like the server is down this morning.
  8. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    13,416 (6.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,395
    Location:
    IA, USA
    I've been playing since the 4AM restart without problems. :confused:
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. jpsandman New Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Messages:
    61 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Location:
    Indiana
    hmm, i tried to get on at 5:00 and couldn't. Maybe there was an issue on my end. I'll check at lunch.

    Is the end going to be on a reset cycle for FTB as well?
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 12, 2013
  10. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    13,416 (6.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,395
    Location:
    IA, USA
    The End isn't on a reset cycle for the main server. He manually deletes it on request.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  11. jpsandman New Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Messages:
    61 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Location:
    Indiana
    Ok, I can get to the regular server, but not the TPU.
  12. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    13,416 (6.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,395
    Location:
    IA, USA
    Got a mega project idea in a pretty densely populated area. This is a rough drawing and may not look anything like the finished product. It's a port based on glass/iron domes and bridges that reach out into the ocean. Where lines end in the drawing would either connect to another dome or to a boat of some kind or down to the water surface where little boats could dock.

    The project also includes dredging a canal (may be partially underground) to the spawn lake.

    If anyone has a problem with where this all going, please speak up...
    [​IMG]


    Edit: The canal is already done but not quite following that trajectory. It doesn't look like it hit anything.
    Last edited: Feb 11, 2013
    Crunching for Team TPU
  13. Chevalr1c

    Chevalr1c

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    3,180 (2.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,356
    For the point-to-point warp system with ships and signs, I built a large longship in the New Port in Winterfell. The other one will be in the harbour refered to by Ford's previous post.

    Dynmap:

    [​IMG]


    View from the bow to the stern:

    [​IMG]


    View from the stern to the bow:

    [​IMG]


    View from the west-east bridge:

    [​IMG]


    View from the west-east bridge (larger distance):

    [​IMG]
    TriggerWolf says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  14. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,807 (6.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,924
    Neither cycle, just let me know when the dragon is dead and I'll reset it.

    The FTB server crashed, I've restarted it. Stability is definitely not a feature of FTB...
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  15. jpsandman New Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Messages:
    61 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Location:
    Indiana
    Yeah, I took out the ender dragon on ftb.

    I'm still not able to connect to FTB. Could it have something to do with just having updated java?
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 12, 2013
  16. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    13,416 (6.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,395
    Location:
    IA, USA
    I doubt it.

    Just to clarify, we want another Welcome Center close to spawn, yeah? I'm already planning on building it. Should be more or less exactly the same as it was on the old world...mostly flamable. :roll:
    Crunching for Team TPU
  17. jpsandman New Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Messages:
    61 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Location:
    Indiana
    FTB is good to go again.
  18. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    13,416 (6.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,395
    Location:
    IA, USA
    Enough of the Welcome Center is done (namely, one wall) to cause major deja vu. XD
    Last edited: Feb 12, 2013
    TriggerWolf says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  19. jpsandman New Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Messages:
    61 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Location:
    Indiana
    Looks like ftb is down again.
  20. Reefer86

    Reefer86

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,474 (0.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    193
    Location:
    UK
    i get connection lost end of stream, any help?
  21. Chevalr1c

    Chevalr1c

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    3,180 (2.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,356
    Did you update java to the latest version?
    Crunching for Team TPU
  22. jpsandman New Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Messages:
    61 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Location:
    Indiana
    yeah, java is updated. Still cant reach FTB server. Vanilla is fine.
  23. Chevalr1c

    Chevalr1c

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    3,180 (2.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,356
    I directed that at Reefer.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  24. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    13,416 (6.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,395
    Location:
    IA, USA
    Last edited: Feb 12, 2013
    TriggerWolf and Chevalr1c say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  25. TriggerWolf

    TriggerWolf

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    Messages:
    146 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    92
    The welcome center looks great.

    Btw, yesterday and just now I tried to get inside the big skyrim logo building, the door inside doesn't open when I press the button... :eek:

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page