1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

TPU Minecraft Server

Discussion in 'Games' started by newtekie1, Feb 2, 2011.

  1. Easy Rhino

    Easy Rhino Linux Advocate

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    13,406 (4.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,233
    im with shibdib. i creep this thread often and it kinda makes me want to get into it. looks relaxing just building stuff for the heck of it.
  2. PVTCaboose1337

    PVTCaboose1337 Graphical Hacker

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Messages:
    9,513 (3.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,142
    Location:
    San Antonio, Texas
    Realize that you get really addicted. You get an idea in your head, you build it in 8bit.

    EDIT: Just finished a bridge I was working on. Gave it a 37 block diameter arch. Looks pretty good. Not sure if I'm gonna fill in the arch or not.

    [​IMG]

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Mar 2, 2011
  3. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (5.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,615
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    The server/connection was surprisingly amiable last night. I have no idea why though. :/

    I got pretty far on my "Bridge to Nowhere". Only fell off a couple times while working on it. lol
    I'm collecting sheep skin for the logo still, but there is no hurry.

    Relax, build, reconnect, repeat. :D
  4. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,801 (6.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,919
    Just as a hint, dyes are best used to dye the sheep before you sheer them. That way a single dye will dye 2-3 blocks instead of just one.
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  5. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (5.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,615
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    ARGGH. Lost connection while just standing in my house and when I rejoined the game killed me for some unknown reason and I lost everything I was carrying.

    Oh well. (sigh) Stupid addicting game !@#$ :laugh:
  6. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,801 (6.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,919
    Yeah, I've had that happen a few times. :(
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  7. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (5.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,615
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    It's not the mundane items, it's the 1000 Diamond blocks I was carrying.
    (Kreij quickly sneaks off to avoid the fallout from his statement).

    In reality :
    I'm think my connection gets better late at night when the load on the satellite(s) are reduced as people go to bed.
    Sound logical? Satellites must have some bandwidth limitations too.
    No more sleep for me !! :toast:
    Last edited: Mar 3, 2011
  8. Wastedslayer

    Wastedslayer

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2005
    Messages:
    832 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31
    Cant connect, End of Stream?
  9. Wastedslayer

    Wastedslayer

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2005
    Messages:
    832 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31
    Nvm got it
  10. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (5.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,615
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    Just tried to play. 68 seconds to open my furnace. lol
    I'll try again later.
  11. PVTCaboose1337

    PVTCaboose1337 Graphical Hacker

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Messages:
    9,513 (3.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,142
    Location:
    San Antonio, Texas
    You can dye sheep? This changes everything.
  12. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (5.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,615
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    I didn't know that either. lol
    Fill the world with rainbow sheep !!! :rockout:
  13. PVTCaboose1337

    PVTCaboose1337 Graphical Hacker

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Messages:
    9,513 (3.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,142
    Location:
    San Antonio, Texas
    My big question is, if I dye them, and they regen the fur, will it still be the color I dyed them originally? If so, I will make a red sheep farm!

    Also: Ford, bad news:

    Crap.

    [​IMG]
  14. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (5.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,615
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    Bah .. no big deal. It's more fun running around whacking sheep than trapping them anyway.
  15. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,801 (6.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,919
    I don't know, I've never had the patience to follow a sheep around long enough for their wool to regen. Does it even regen?
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  16. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    13,414 (6.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,394
    Location:
    IA, USA
    I was hoping the cacti would knock their fur off but apparently it doesn't either.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  17. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    13,414 (6.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,394
    Location:
    IA, USA
    Minecraft.net is returning 500 errors again on login. :(
    Crunching for Team TPU
  18. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (5.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,615
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    Works for me
  19. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    13,414 (6.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,394
    Location:
    IA, USA
    Are you using the stand-alone app or webclient? They use different login systems. I was talking about the stand-alone app. I really hate the tiny size and memory limits of the webclient.


    Edit: Yeah, web works, stand-alone doesn't.
    Last edited: Mar 5, 2011
    Crunching for Team TPU
  20. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,801 (6.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,919
    It seems like this happens every weekend, Notch needs to work on getting servers that don't get overloaded with the rush of people trying to play on the weekend.
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  21. Easy Rhino

    Easy Rhino Linux Advocate

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    13,406 (4.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,233
    im curious to know how the servers function in minecraft. if newtekie built his own box to be a server does it register on a central server somewhere?
  22. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (5.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,615
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    I use the downloaded client. I'm not even sure what the webclient is.
  23. PVTCaboose1337

    PVTCaboose1337 Graphical Hacker

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Messages:
    9,513 (3.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,142
    Location:
    San Antonio, Texas
    Pretty much you have a master server that has a database of all user accounts, and their account type. Then there are privately owned servers that pull information from this master server. In order to connect you have to authenticate with the master server, then with the private server. It is a cumbersome system really, but seems to work ok (on weekdays).
  24. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,801 (6.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,919
    When you first started the client, your username and password is authenticated with the Minecraft.net server. This lets you start the game and play. Once you do this the first time, you can bypass this as long as you play offline.

    Once you have started the game, when you select multiplayer and log onto my server, my server contacts a different minecraft.net server and once again validates your username and password. I can disable this feature, but it makes the server too insecure for my liking, so I won't.

    The problem we are having today is that the initial authentication to start the game is failing, so we can't start the game except in offline mode, which means we can't connect to multiplayer servers.:mad:
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  25. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (5.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,615
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    Mine still works.

    Can we get a new cartographic screen?
    Last edited: Mar 5, 2011

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page