1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

TPU Minecraft Server

Discussion in 'Games' started by newtekie1, Feb 2, 2011.

  1. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    14,259 (6.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,047
    Location:
    IA, USA
    I just looked through the changes made in 1.2.1 and a lot of them are excellent:
    http://www.minecraftwiki.net/wiki/Version_history

    Especially of interest:
    -Ladder recipe makes 3 instead of 2 ladders.
    -Slab recipe makes 6 slabs instead of 3.
    -Redstone Lamp: glowstone that can be turned on and off.
    -Stairs and slabs can be placed upside down.
    -Lava makes sounds.
    -Also, additions to F3:
     
    -KarL- says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  2. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,410 (6.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,425
    Yeah, I'm hoping the updated map generator doesn't screw with the map, we will likely have to go pretty far to find a Jungle biome.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  3. Chevalr1c

    Chevalr1c

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    3,335 (2.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,514
    Location:
    NL, Europe
    Good, now it is at least making sense. No "disappearance" anymore of 50% of the stone/wood used for the slabs (if you see what I mean).

    BTW, in order to find a jungle, we should try going North once we are @ 1.2, either over land or by boat around the continent.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. magibeg

    magibeg

    Joined:
    May 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,001 (0.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    203
    Yea, I saw that some jerks just had to go off and explore massive distances ;)

    Naw but minecraft is actually at 1.2.3 now i believe.

    Also sudden thought, will the server have enough HD space to be converted to "anvil" format?
     
  5. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,410 (6.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,425
    Bukkit has already put out the update to 1.2.3, so hopefully by monday Lockette, MyWarp, and Hawkeye will be updated.

    I hope so. The current map is almost 700MB, so hopefully the new format will at most double the size. If that is the case, we'll be more than fine, as the server hard drive has about 20GB left.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  6. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    14,259 (6.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,047
    Location:
    IA, USA
    Tectonicus probably won't support Anvil for a long time. :(


    I think the best option would be to explore south or east.
     
    Chevalr1c says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    14,259 (6.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,047
    Location:
    IA, USA
    I got the Skeleton Grinder done but can't figure out how to punch skeletons without them shooting back. :(
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. Chevalr1c

    Chevalr1c

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    3,335 (2.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,514
    Location:
    NL, Europe
    Make the hole smaller, maybe? Make it so that you have to/can only attack their feet.

    P.S.: never mind, it does not work as it seems (i tried it but they still managed to shoot)
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. jpsandman New Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Messages:
    61 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Location:
    Indiana
    .......[]
    .......[]
    [][]..[][][]
    ..[]..O...[]
    ..[][][]..[]
    ..........X

    Maybe try an offshoot from the corner of the room like this. character at the X attacking towards O. might be able to knock skellies back before they get a shot off. (floors at same level. barrier 1 block high in blank space.)

    let me know if this makes no sense at all
     
    Last edited: Mar 5, 2012
  10. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    14,259 (6.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,047
    Location:
    IA, USA
    It makes no sense at all. XD

    Try it and see if it works.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  11. jpsandman New Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Messages:
    61 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Location:
    Indiana
    I'll try and get on after work to build a model between the beach ranch and tower to show you. I've used it in single player before. With a macro attacking quickly, it should work the same.

    [] is blocks
    X is player
    O enemy/aim location
    ... are there because spaces got removed when i posted.
     
  12. jpsandman New Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Messages:
    61 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Location:
    Indiana
    I got a model up between tower and beach ranch.
     
  13. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    14,259 (6.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,047
    Location:
    IA, USA
    Is that a horiztonal or vertical view? I meant you could try it in the Skeleton Grinder that way you have a supply of skeletons to try it with. I suspect you won't be able to hit them but it is worth a shot.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  14. jpsandman New Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Messages:
    61 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Location:
    Indiana
    That is a top-down view. I didn't have time to try it at the grinder, but the model of what i mean is at tower.
     
  15. jpsandman New Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Messages:
    61 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Location:
    Indiana
    Testing an idea for skelly grinder tonight. If i'm dead, it's not working 100%
     
  16. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    14,259 (6.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,047
    Location:
    IA, USA
    :confused:


    magibeg, pick ready. It is in the locked chest in Ghast's Tear vault. Deposit 11 diamonds in that chest when you retrieve it:
    3 diamond pickaxe
    1 unbreaking III
    5 efficency V

    Requests for efficency V have been bumped up to 5 diamonds due to demand and rarity.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  17. jpsandman New Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Messages:
    61 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Location:
    Indiana
    What I put together in the skelly Grinder isn't working. There are instances when, as soon as the mob comes into range and takes damage, I take an arrow. It needs some work still, but i'm not sure how to change it yet.
     
  18. -KarL-

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2011
    Messages:
    39 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    38
    Location:
    Iowa
    The problem is they shot as soon as they see you. You almost need a decoy for them to shot at...
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  19. jpsandman New Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Messages:
    61 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Location:
    Indiana
    That's not really it though. If i'm not attacking I can position myself so that the arrows are always blocked by something. It only happens when the fast attack macro is on.
     
  20. jpsandman New Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Messages:
    61 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Location:
    Indiana
    Ford,
    I Converted the mellon farm to levers from pressure plates and the dirt no longer needs to be tilled after harvesting. The last update allows them to grow on non-tilled soil.
    Also, the water doesn't fall in the far back left section of the wheat farm.
    Finally, I have tried a bunch of stuff for the skelly grinder and i'm out of ideas.
     
    FordGT90Concept says thanks.
  21. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    14,259 (6.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,047
    Location:
    IA, USA
    I think the only way a skeleton grinder would work unattended is if they change mobs so you can attack them without them being able to attack you (which makes sense anyway).


    No one harvest the left-most strip of wheat in the Piston Farms until I get a chance to fix that.

    Edit: Think I got it fixed. There was a cobblestone block just above the glass the piston moves blocking the water from getting through. Can't test until it all regrows.


    I dunno about the levers (because then everyone has to remember to reset them). A button would be ideal so it isn't accidentally hit but there's the problem of finding a place to put it that still maximizes how many harvestable tiles there are. Maybe I'll just have to put a repeater there and run a button up to the wall.
     
    Last edited: Mar 8, 2012
    Crunching for Team TPU
  22. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    11,394 (4.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,866
    Location:
    US
    I just throw a health pot at the bitches and POOF!.

    All so have it so a cobble stone moves away so they instantly die too all though you need a stone to move covering the hole up a bit more or else they will shoot you while they go past lmao.

    O yeah make sure they drop 23 lvls too..
     
  23. jpsandman New Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Messages:
    61 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Location:
    Indiana
    I can change the levers to buttons. I'll just have to put a block sticking up from walking level to place the button.
     
  24. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,410 (6.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,425
    Ok, so here is the dilemma, and I'll leave it up to you guys to decide what you want to do. I can update the server today or tomorrow, however some things won't work. AnyoneSleep seems to have been abandoned for now, but I think I can just give everyone the time command to reset the time to morning. Also Tectonicus will not work, and I'm not sure when it will be updated to work with the new Anvil maps. That is pretty much it, everything else should work. So I'm thinking go ahead with the update, but wanted to get your input first.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  25. jpsandman New Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Messages:
    61 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Location:
    Indiana
    My vote is for update sooner over later.
     
    FordGT90Concept says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page