1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

TPU Minecraft Server

Discussion in 'Games' started by newtekie1, Feb 2, 2011.

  1. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,222 (6.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,263
    It is working for me?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  2. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,852 (6.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,460
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    It wasn't working before the server restarted this morning. The same thing happened to me earlier this morning. (Woo! for waking up at 3:30am. :banghead:)
     
  3. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,222 (6.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,263
    The restart probably fixed it then. Dynmap is the only plug-in I didn't update when I updated the server because every time I update Dynmap it has to do a complete re-render of the map. So the older version might have some issue. If we keep having problems I'll update it.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  4. Chevalr1c

    Chevalr1c

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    3,307 (2.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,484
    Location:
    NL, Europe
    Indeed the restart probably fixed it.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    14,096 (6.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,915
    Location:
    IA, USA
    I'm thinking about making a 1:1 Great Pyramid of Giza (Kuufu) but don't know where to put it. The base of it will be 230x230 so...there aren't very many places it will fit.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,222 (6.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,263
    And it would look out of place anywhere other than a desert biome.;)
     
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  7. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    14,096 (6.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,915
    Location:
    IA, USA
    Yup. I thought the desert west of Kard but it would literally take the entire desert. I'm fine with taking an entire desert, but it should be a desert no one cares about. XD
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. Chevalr1c

    Chevalr1c

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    3,307 (2.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,484
    Location:
    NL, Europe
    Perhaps the desert northwest of KArd? On that large island.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,222 (6.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,263
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  10. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    14,096 (6.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,915
    Location:
    IA, USA
    For minecraft server, I assume? :D
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  11. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,222 (6.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,263
    Yep. Just need to raise about $60 for a new case and a decent heatsink.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  12. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    14,096 (6.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,915
    Location:
    IA, USA
    Processor doesn't come with one? What they come with is usually adequate so long as it isn't overclocked. Why not reuse the existing case?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  13. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,222 (6.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,263
    The stock heatsink won't handle the 960T once it is unlocked(and this one definitely unlocks and hits 3.6GHz when unlocked too:rockout:). I want to put something like a Xigmatek Gaia.

    And the current case won't fit a 120mm tower style heatsink. Plus I want to keep the current server up while building the new one.

    Its alright, I've been so busy at work lately anyway that I won't have time to sit down and build it all in one shot, I'll just be piecing it together over the next few weeks. I'm setting a goal of having it up and running by December 1st.
     
    Last edited: Nov 10, 2012
    Chevalr1c and FordGT90Concept say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  14. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    14,096 (6.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,915
    Location:
    IA, USA
    I have a Sunbeam Freezing Storm (black) case collecting dust if you want it. It's a mid-tower ATX with 4-5 120mm fans in it.

    I'm not sure if that's the exact same model or not but it looks like that.
     
    Chevalr1c says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  15. Chevalr1c

    Chevalr1c

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    3,307 (2.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,484
    Location:
    NL, Europe
    Are you accepting donations? I am willing to consider helping you out a bit through PayPal. :)

    Edit: I guess Ford's offer could do when it comes to the case. My offer still stands though.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  16. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,222 (6.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,263
    I appreciate the offer, but I actually already went ahead and picked up an NZXT Source 210 since newegg has them on sale for $30 w/ Free Shipping.

    I wasn't going to ask, but yes I'm open to donations through paypal. newtekie1 at yahoo.com

    Of course, if you prefer, check out my FS thread and see if there is anything there you might like. Any money I make from selling items there goes towards the server until it is done. I'll be adding a brand new 24-port 10/100 switch there this weekend. I also have a few steam game codes I can trade for Crayon Physics Deluxe and Superbrothers: Sword & Sworcery.
     
    Last edited: Nov 10, 2012
    Aquinus and Chevalr1c say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  17. Chevalr1c

    Chevalr1c

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    3,307 (2.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,484
    Location:
    NL, Europe
    Money sent, please PM me when it is added to your credit.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  18. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,852 (6.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,460
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    Gahh! Teleporting to prime killed me and all of my diamond tools are gone!! Apparently stuff likes to clip through the group and disappear for good.
    /me grumbles.

    Stupid minecraft. :banghead::banghead::banghead::banghead:

    Normally I wouldn't care but diamond is so fricken hard to find even if you mine the crap out of the ground. :mad:
     
  19. Chevalr1c

    Chevalr1c

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    3,307 (2.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,484
    Location:
    NL, Europe
    If anything seems to go wrong, use the / key and press [up] respectively [enter] to quickly re-teleport. Saved me a couple of times. BTW, warping to Prime should be slightly safer.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  20. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,852 (6.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,460
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    I did, the lag teleported my dead corpse. Fortunately I have JUST enough diamond to get another two diamond tools but a stack worth of gold is gone as well. :| Not that I won't recover, it's just a huge inconvenience.

    On a bright note, I think I'll finish the aqueduct this morning.
     
    Chevalr1c says thanks.
  21. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,852 (6.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,460
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    Muwahahaha. Cleanup is all that is left.

    [​IMG]
     

    Attached Files:

    -KarL-, FordGT90Concept and Chevalr1c say thanks.
  22. Chevalr1c

    Chevalr1c

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    3,307 (2.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,484
    Location:
    NL, Europe
    Iron is abundant since the Golem Collector is in a working state. So better make iron tools.
     
    Aquinus says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  23. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,852 (6.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,460
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    I'm not worried about Iron. Easy to find and it is farmable.

    Diamond, however, is pretty rare. Fortunately I found a little bit in a mineshaft.
     
  24. Chevalr1c

    Chevalr1c

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    3,307 (2.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,484
    Location:
    NL, Europe
    Hence iron, it is a good alternative to diamond despite its faster wear-out because there is plenty of iron.
     
    Aquinus says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  25. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,852 (6.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,460
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    I'm lazy, so I like diamond. :p
    It's not like you need a lot of it because you can just repair it when it gets low.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page