1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

TPU Modern Warfare 2 Team Clubhouse

Discussion in 'techPowerUp! Club Forum' started by 3870x2, Nov 11, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. 3870x2

    3870x2

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,875 (1.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    689
    Location:
    Joplin, Mo
    To mods: I'm trying to put together a competitive / fun TPU community (by steam friends list) to play Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2. Please don't merge this with that pathetic excuse for a thread we like to call the modern warfare 2 thread. In fact, you could probably just rename it to "call of duty: MW2 Haters Thread":toast:

    Anyway, on to it:

    My steam name is furi0nst0rmrage (0 = zero)

    If you are going to play MW2 or L4D2, add me.

    TPUers, use this thread to connect to other MW2 Players!:rockout:

    The moderaters have had enough of this thread. Please refrain from starting any sort of MW2 converstation, or any other conversation that does not pertain to creating teams / sharing steam names, etc... We dont want this thread to be closed or merged with the MW2 haters thread.

    STEAM Group Name: TechPowerUP Team
     
    Last edited: Nov 11, 2009
  2. Mike0409

    Mike0409

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,142 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    126
    Location:
    Connecticut
    Already got you added on there. I'll be on this weekend. Got a couple other buddies that will be playing it as well.
     
  3. 3870x2

    3870x2

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,875 (1.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    689
    Location:
    Joplin, Mo
    Im very confused about the port situation to get to play online. Im seeing 0 players online, and it is because of some port configuration problem. I have no NAT yet it says my NAT is strong. I have my router passing through completely. Any tips?
     
  4. A Cheese Danish

    A Cheese Danish

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2006
    Messages:
    2,963 (1.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    413
    Location:
    your local vending machine
    If I get it I'll join. But since the multiplayer isn't looking too good, not sure if I will.
    But I'll join anyway.
     
  5. 3870x2

    3870x2

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,875 (1.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    689
    Location:
    Joplin, Mo
    Maybe it is because I am unable to play online yet?

    Looks like everything is good. Had to open those ports on my router firewall.
     
    Last edited: Nov 11, 2009
  6. Mike0409

    Mike0409

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,142 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    126
    Location:
    Connecticut
    My NAT is currently set as Strict..and I have UPnP enabled as they say. I havn't looked for the ports required by the match making service but I played Co-Op fine last night.

    Also check your Windows Firewall or 3rd party firewall.
     
  7. boise49ers

    boise49ers

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    Messages:
    3,284 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    402
    Location:
    Idaho
    When I get on I'll add you. I get my disk tomorrow.
     
  8. Exeodus

    Exeodus

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2005
    Messages:
    625 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    156
    Location:
    A suburb of Chicago, IL
    Subscribed, definitely curious to see how PC multiplayer works out.

    Do you guys know how the LAN aspect of the MP is supposed to work?
     
  9. Mike0409

    Mike0409

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,142 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    126
    Location:
    Connecticut
    No but I will be finding out tomorrow.
     
  10. Easy Rhino

    Easy Rhino Linux Advocate

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    13,499 (4.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,330
    does the multiplayer suck on the pc like everyone says? i cant play online with my version, but the single player is fun.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  11. Mike0409

    Mike0409

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,142 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    126
    Location:
    Connecticut
    Like I said I played Co-Op no problem what so ever. Havn't played MP yet, but my guess would be there servers are being slammed.
     
  12. Easy Rhino

    Easy Rhino Linux Advocate

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    13,499 (4.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,330
    i thought they didnt have any servers tho?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  13. 3870x2

    3870x2

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,875 (1.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    689
    Location:
    Joplin, Mo
    multiplayer is nothing short of amazing. Havent had this much fun since starcraft II and warcraft III. MW multiplayer was fun, but the servers list just isnt my thing. Playing for about 45 minutes, I have only had 1 time where there was host migration, and from beginning to end, lasted about 12-15 seconds, until I started playing again.
     
  14. Mike0409

    Mike0409

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,142 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    126
    Location:
    Connecticut
    Well they have to redirect the players somehow right? Id assume some sort of server running the match making service? I really have no idea how there doing it, ive heard MP to be fantastic ive heard people having problems.

    Either way the game is amazing. Definately worth it.

    Co-op was a blast, I can't wait to try the full MP mode tonight.
     
  15. Easy Rhino

    Easy Rhino Linux Advocate

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    13,499 (4.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,330
    so let's say some dork is "serving" on his crappy cable ISP and gets upset cause he is getting owned. he shuts down his server in the middle of the game because he is pissed off. what happens to the match?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  16. Mike0409

    Mike0409

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,142 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    126
    Location:
    Connecticut
    From what I understand the service detects the host had disconnected and then it redirects the game to the next best connection, so the game is always live until the last person disconnects.

    @3870x2 How do the teams work in this? Is there a clan management system of any sort?
     
  17. 3870x2

    3870x2

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,875 (1.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    689
    Location:
    Joplin, Mo
    There are central servers putting everything in play, but the host actually takes the brunt of the work. My ping has been fairly good, never had a lag issue as of yet. Has anyone else gotten this game yet? I had to stop myself from playing the single player from end - to - end in one sitting.
    @Mike, It uses the STEAM system fully, to the point that you have to be logged into steam, much like counterstrike. This works, because you can set clans in steam, but i wish they would have made an internal lobby.
     
  18. Easy Rhino

    Easy Rhino Linux Advocate

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    13,499 (4.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,330
    blah then. i really only enjoy playing on dedicated servers. that is the only truly competitive way to play.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  19. 3870x2

    3870x2

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,875 (1.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    689
    Location:
    Joplin, Mo
    It says there are 20,000+ players online, Im going to assume were playing with console players also. This is probably a good thing.
     
  20. Mike0409

    Mike0409

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,142 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    126
    Location:
    Connecticut
    Ahh.. rats. All well we can manage it via steam, not that bad. I have the game as well, all ready and good to go. Setup a community in Steam. I'll join it tonight when im off work.

    I would agree with ya. But maybe one day they will. Can only hope...need more love for my blade server.


    Isn't that a bit unfair? Mouse/Keyboard vs Controller? Seems like we have a faster response time...
     
  21. 3870x2

    3870x2

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,875 (1.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    689
    Location:
    Joplin, Mo
    [​IMG]

    Good idea, creating a community right now. Ill put it in the OP.


    Group Created, CHECK OP:

    TechPowerUP Team is the exact group name.
     
    Last edited: Nov 11, 2009
  22. 3870x2

    3870x2

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,875 (1.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    689
    Location:
    Joplin, Mo
    Alright, Im a bit busy right now, but we need a volunteer to make an AVATAR for our MW2 team:
    Best art gets it.

    Requirements:

    1: 184x184
    2: 64x64
    3: 32x32
     
  23. Mike0409

    Mike0409

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,142 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    126
    Location:
    Connecticut
    I can't draw worth shit. But I got a guy that might do it....but he works for beer. So it's gonna cost ya! :toast:
     
  24. 3870x2

    3870x2

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,875 (1.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    689
    Location:
    Joplin, Mo
    lol, dont need to draw, just photoshop skills, really. If i dont get any takers, I can do it myself. Im not amazing, but i can do some industry standard photoshop work.
     
  25. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,895 (13.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,300
    I moved the thread to the clubhouse. I should have the game up and running tonight!
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page