1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

TPU's AMD APU Owners Club

Discussion in 'techPowerUp! Club Forum' started by Durvelle27, Jun 29, 2013.

  1. MidnightSky New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2013
    Messages:
    6 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Australia
    Can I show the cpu and ram speed with a different program?, I have an Ontario C-30 APU laptop but it has Ubuntu on it so I can't run cpu-z
     
  2. Durvelle27

    Durvelle27

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012
    Messages:
    2,646 (3.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    662
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    Sure
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,110 (6.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,172
    Argh! I built a new rig with an A4-4000 but the AsRock board's BIOS is old and doesn't recognize the processor so it won't POST. All I have are Richland APUs and I need a Trinity to flash the BIOS. :(
     
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  4. Mathragh

    Mathragh

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,103 (0.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    305
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    That sucks man, wish I could help out. isn't there any shop nearby that could help you with this?
     
  5. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,110 (6.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,172
    My work office is about 30 minutes away from TigerDirect, I was going to just go buy a Trinity and then return it after the flash, but TigerDirect doesn't take CPUs back. They are really the only place close that would have a CPU in stock.

    I just ordered a 5600K from newegg, I'll just keep it as a spare.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  6. djemergenc

    djemergenc

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2013
    Messages:
    18 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    San Antonio, Texas
    [​IMG]

    System Name: Gaming Budget Build (In Progress) Current Expenses: $395
    Processor: AMD "Richland" A10-6800K Quad-Core APU OC'd @ 4.5GHz
    Motherboard: MSI FM2-A75MA-P33 "Hudson" D3 M-ATX
    Cooling: SilverStone Argon Series AR02 (MAX TEMP 55C)
    Memory: G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series DDR3-2400 (2x4GB) @ 2.5GHz (USING INTEL XMP PROFILE)
    Video Card: NVIDIA GTX 550Ti @ 1GHz/2GHz (Donated)
    Hard Disk: Seagate Barracuda 500GB SATA 6Gb/s
    Optical Drive: None
    CRT/LCD Model: LG 40 Inch LED TV w/ HDMI
    Case: TOPOWER TP-1687BB-400
    Sound Card: Razer 7.1 Surround Sound Virtual Audio
    PSU: TOPOWER SFX 400W
    Software: Windows 7 x64

    I can run most games max settings 1080P, others I can run max settings 720P ​
     
    Last edited: Sep 8, 2013
    MidnightSky says thanks.
  7. emissary42

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2013
    Messages:
    94 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    168
    [​IMG]

    Three times the charm, i guess?
     
    Last edited: Oct 13, 2013
  8. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    5,239 (2.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,167
    Location:
    Oregon
    Might as well make this official

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Oct 13, 2013
  9. Sempron Guy

    Sempron Guy

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2011
    Messages:
    266 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    81
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Can't do much with the board, it's voltage locked except for the ram.

    Specs:

    A8-5600k
    MSI FM2-A75IA-E53 ITX
    G.Skill 4GB DDR3 1600 c9 oc'ed to 2133 c10
    WD Caviar Blue 500GB
    Aerocool VP Pro 500w
    Coolermaster Elite 110 ITX
     
    Last edited: Oct 13, 2013
    Jetster says thanks.
  10. _JP_

    _JP_

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    2,684 (1.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    740
    Location:
    Portugal
    Well, I pressed a buy button and it seems I'm going to be an APU owner.
    I should have the parts delivered either friday or monday.
    Have you got any tips for me?
    I'm expecting a lot of UEFI/BIOS options I'll be leaving at [auto] at first. :\
     
  11. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    5,239 (2.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,167
    Location:
    Oregon
    What did you order?
     
  12. _JP_

    _JP_

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    2,684 (1.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    740
    Location:
    Portugal
    A8-5600K
    ASRock FM2A75 Pro4
    2x4GB Kingston HyperX 1600MHz CL9

    I should clarify, I'm not thinking about OC'ing this (the power regulation circuitry is nothing to write home about...), not right now anyway. I want to fiddle with the RAM, though. Just want to know if there's something I should set-up right in the BIOS before I install the OS (still, lots of things at auto for the 1st days...).
    I've already read the manual a couple of times and I think I'm not missing anything...but I could be wrong...

    EDIT: Oh! Another thing! Drivers!
    It's a chipset package for...the chipset and the catalyst package for my HD 5770, I think.
    The iGPU will be on (if I'm not mistaken), but I won't be able to take advantage of it, so it isn't going to need the driver suite, right?
     
    Last edited: Nov 20, 2013
  13. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    5,239 (2.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,167
    Location:
    Oregon
    Install all the drivers. Even though you may not be using the igpu you still want the driver installed. I think you will have an AMD ALL in one driver pack. Then the AMD Catalyst software and drivers. At least that's what mine was.
     
    _JP_ says thanks.
  14. agent00skid

    Joined:
    May 6, 2012
    Messages:
    591 (0.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    418
    Still the same APU, but a few updates to it.

    [​IMG]
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  15. _JP_

    _JP_

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    2,684 (1.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    740
    Location:
    Portugal
    Does that Win7 "performance enhancing" patch that was released for bulldozer apply to these APUs, since they're piledriver-based?
     
  16. Sempron Guy

    Sempron Guy

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2011
    Messages:
    266 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    81
    it should be, given trinity is based on the same piledriver architecture.

    Replaced my G.Skill Ripjaws to G.Skill Trident X 2400mhz. Board doesn't boot at rated speed so I downclocked it to 2133 and tightened the timings a bit.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  17. _JP_

    _JP_

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    2,684 (1.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    740
    Location:
    Portugal
    Just found out I can still use the iGPU for OpenCL...I think...
    Now, if I could just choose between the iGPU for less demanding games and the GPU for the remaining, that would be awesome.
     
    Last edited: Nov 24, 2013
  18. _JP_

    _JP_

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    2,684 (1.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    740
    Location:
    Portugal
    Double-post, I know, but UPDATES!
    [​IMG]

    yay :)
     
  19. _JP_

    _JP_

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    2,684 (1.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    740
    Location:
    Portugal
    [​IMG]

    Currently @ 1.35v, but I think this can do either 1.275v or 1.3v without too much trouble. Thing is, for some reason, checking CPU-Z at the same time as AIDA64 makes it reboot. :\
    And that threw me off the first few tries at 3.8 and 4ghz with lower voltages.
     
    Last edited: Jan 6, 2014
  20. N-Gen

    N-Gen

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    Messages:
    643 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    156
    Try monitoring using the ASRock Extreme Tuner utility.
     
  21. _JP_

    _JP_

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    2,684 (1.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    740
    Location:
    Portugal
    Is there an advantage?
    Been reading about AXTU and it didn't seem to provide any benefit over cpu-z or aida64 (or hwinfo64) in terms of monitoring.
     
  22. N-Gen

    N-Gen

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    Messages:
    643 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    156
    Well, I have most of the monitoring tools but AXTU has the essentials all bundled up, not to mention the only correct temperature reading. Also gives you the ability to play around with the voltages and offsets. Running a software level OC @ 4.6GHz and setting the max volts to 1.5v. When I was initially testing I was just playing around increasing little by little since rebooting on the machine with the APU is annoying since there's no SSD in it.

    And fan profiles...I love setting that to keep the thing quiet.
     
  23. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    5,239 (2.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,167
    Location:
    Oregon
    for some reason CPU-Z and HW Monitor gets odd temp readings with AMD APUs. So I use AXTU and GPU-Z
     
  24. _JP_

    _JP_

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    2,684 (1.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    740
    Location:
    Portugal
    I am aware that APUs have the temp sensors screwed-up, so I have to rely on the motherboard sensor. Which shouldn't go over 60~65ºC, given the difference between socket temps and core temps.
    And I have the nasty habit of configuring trough the bios menus. :p
    I have no idea if software oc has gotten any better with the wide UEFI adaption, I just kept setting things up directly in the bios.
     
  25. N-Gen

    N-Gen

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    Messages:
    643 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    156
    I've had more success than using the bios or any of its presets. It's fine software wise...no idea why my 2500k is fine on an ASRock board, maybe my APU is not from a decent bin or something.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page