1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

TPU's Core i7 Overclocking and Feedback

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by dark2099, Nov 17, 2008.

  1. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,119 (5.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,454
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    :shadedshu

    Your going to do raid and your system is going to be so bloody fast........




    T U :toast:

    Hope you enjoy it, and to me those SDD drives should last a life time.
     
  2. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (6.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    im gonna sell them and get the 2 gtx260s that ive been asking for for 2 months now.

    oh and yeah.....

    this ENTIRE setup is an early Bday present from me to me. :D
     
  3. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,119 (5.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,454
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    Well Happy Birthday to you.

    I'm glad you got what you asked for.
     
  4. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    so you can basically use them as hard drives? Of course, their capacity is not much but, good enough for like a bench rig for example?
     
  5. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (6.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    hard drives are usually used as hard drives yes.
     
  6. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    I lol'd.

    Sorry CP, but that was funny.
     
  7. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    haha, s**t I completely typed that wrong. Sig material anyone hahaha.

    what I meant is that it is a good idea to use for like a bench station right?

    I'm not even going to correct that post, I'm effin' cracking up myself hehehehe, how stupid was that, god!!!
     
  8. ap4lifetn New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    Messages:
    136 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    Philadelphia
    You know who wants 2 of them!!

    <---
     
  9. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (6.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    after bashing my head on my desk for 2 days i think i have gotten somewhere.

    [​IMG]
     

    Attached Files:

    • 4.5.JPG
      4.5.JPG
      File size:
      154.7 KB
      Views:
      955
    Solaris17 says thanks.
  10. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    how stable is that clock? What was the issue that had you banging your head on your desk?

    In other words, what were you doing wrong before that you could not reach that clock?
     
  11. dark2099

    dark2099

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    Messages:
    4,400 (1.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    755
    Location:
    where everyone wants to be
    Whole bunch of benches, I will put them in their individual threads some other time. Enjoy.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  12. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (6.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    the board has too many options in the bios.

    also,

    there is no "feel" for when your close on settings. on 775 boards you can tell when your getting close to stable. this thing is a total shot in the dark.
     
    Chicken Patty says thanks.
  13. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,260 (5.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,598
    Location:
    Florida
    good work through fit is she benchable?
     
  14. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (6.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    simple benches are for now.

    sPI, generic cpu bench, things like that.

    no 3dmark yet. im getting there.
     
  15. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,260 (5.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,598
    Location:
    Florida
    make it happen man i know you can 4.5ghz on tec should be cake
     
    philbrown23 says thanks.
  16. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,119 (5.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,454
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    Knew it, just didn't have the settings right.

    Whats the trick?
     
    philbrown23 says thanks.
  17. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (6.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    honestly....................


    idfk.


    vcore 1.5v
    pll - 2.1v
    qpi/dram - 1.4893
    dram - 1.92

    other ppl havent had to use that much voltage. me and dark have though.
     
    philbrown23 says thanks.
  18. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,119 (5.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,454
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    It's all about the right mix I swear.

    Just one of them being off, can cause the whole thing to come crazing down.......

    The master kingpin

    me
    I tried a bunch of them

    That was me going for 5ghz with the QX9650......
     
    philbrown23 says thanks.
  19. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (6.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    the lowest pll on the x58 is 1.812v.

    here....

    vcore = vcore
    pll = pll
    qpi/dram = vtt
    dram = dram
    ioh = NB
    ioh_pcie = pcie lanes on the NB
    ich = SB
    ich_pcie = pcie lane on the SB

    i have heard that qpi/dram to dram voltage is ~1.5x all the time.

    so that would mean...

    qpi/dram(vtt) 1.35v
    ram needs to be 2.15v(???) thats higher than rated spec of the mem.

    fugger said he could OC further IF he could find ram that could take up to 2.6v... thats insane for ddr3 thats rated at 1.5-1.65v

    idk what to make of this. its really odd.

    i feel like its the P5Q3 all over again.
     
    philbrown23 and DaMulta say thanks.
  20. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,737 (5.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,537
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    Sounds complex to me, I'll stick with my hamster and wheel powered abacus for a while longer I think, let you guys get there, post your settings then i'll walk right thru the door......kill and eat the hamster, sell it's wheel and use the abacus to calculate how much fu*king money this lot is gonna cost me for christmas :cry:

    Ohhhh and before you hamster lovers get on my case........they taste damn good with some honey mustard!
     
    philbrown23 says thanks.
  21. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,119 (5.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,454
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    http://www.crucial.com/store/partspecs.aspx?IMODULE=BL2KIT12864BE2009

    My DDR3 on the sticker on the sticks says 2.1v max
     
    philbrown23 says thanks.
  22. philbrown23

    philbrown23 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,231 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    147
    Location:
    vermont
    HAHAHAHAHA check out the SIG!!!!
     
  23. Morgoth

    Morgoth

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2007
    Messages:
    3,795 (1.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    250
    Location:
    Netherlands
    sleeping and saving money for extream version back to sleep zzzZZzzZZ
     
  24. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,119 (5.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,454
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    U should of been ready:shadedshu
     
  25. Morgoth

    Morgoth

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2007
    Messages:
    3,795 (1.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    250
    Location:
    Netherlands
    i am ready :p i got the cash jsut waiting a bith for more stores to sell the stuff
    Edite
    ORdered 12gb ddr3 1333mhz caz7 now
     
    Last edited: Nov 20, 2008

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page