1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

TPU's Core i7 Overclocking and Feedback

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by dark2099, Nov 17, 2008.

  1. Live OR Die

    Live OR Die

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    4,153 (1.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    451
    yer go for it if its free why not
     
  2. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (7.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    I, for one, am interested in the specifics of your setup.
     
  3. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (5.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    aw... come on. i really need the help here.
     
  4. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (5.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    as for the phase topic.

    a vapo LS, mach2 GT, ocz cryo-z or similar will not hold the load of a i7 or and quad at that. you need to get a custom built phase from a reputable builder. it will cost you $800-$1400 depending on who does it and then you have to pay shipping which is NOT cheap by any means.

    there is little to no maintinence but the cost of running it for long periods of time may shock you. of course you have to insulate your mobo very well to prevent killing anything... which is sorta a PITA if you've never done it before.
     
    Chicken Patty and oily_17 say thanks.
  5. oily_17

    oily_17

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    Messages:
    2,313 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    670
    Location:
    Norn Iron
    Thanks!! Fit's I know what you mean there is more to it than just buying the unit (would be a Xmas present)..just can not see any real benefit over WC 24/7 and the SS would only be used now and again.
    I think my head is running away here!!
     
  6. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (5.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    if you want a DAMN GOOD phase PM piotres over at XS. he's one of the best phase/cascade builders and he's not TOO far from you. poland i think.
     
  7. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (5.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    holy shit!!!

    this is dual channel NOT tripple channel....

    [​IMG]
     
  8. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,474 (5.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,773
    Location:
    Florida
    can you disable that throttling im seeing everyware? if i clock it at 4.2Ghz and it goes back to like 2.3 that will aggrivate me im hoping you have speed step enabled for personal preferance?
     
  9. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (5.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    if you disable it you cant get turbo mode to work.
     
  10. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,474 (5.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,773
    Location:
    Florida
    and all turbo mode does is up the multi to 21 instead of 20 right?
     
  11. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (5.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    yup.
     
  12. Jupiter New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2008
    Messages:
    84 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    38
    Location:
    3rd Rock
    Well guys after much frustration with TEMPS i have found what i think is a TEMP
    i can deal with for now 'till i can get my hands on a Swiftech GTZ'. As i have
    mentioned in diff thread, my issue is that i am in a NONE air conditioned home
    office and, living in Texas where temps can reach 80c-85c in here i have to
    be mindful of my OC. So far i have been able to get 3.8Ghz, 4.0Ghz and even
    4.2Ghz stable EASILY. But temps under load can get into the 80c-95c before
    i stop priming. And this is with ambient temps of 69c 'it's cold here now thank god'.

    As a side note to my setup. I am currently using an old Corsair Nautilus 500
    water block that i was able to get on here by modifying a koolance bracket
    'hacksaw and a metal file'.
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    With all that cleared up, here is where i am at. After much testing and retesting,
    i have been able to get a stable 3.6Ghz with temps under load staying under 80c
    BARELY. This testing was done already knowing what this beast can clock to and
    wanting to setup an EVERYDAY use OC'd reasonable temp system.

    Intel Core i7 920 - Asus P6T Deluxe Bios 905 - Patriot EP Viper 1600 6Gb ELK
    Ambient temps 'today'=69c - Idle temp=35c - Load temps=79c 'after one hour prime run'
    AI/OC - manual
    CPU Ratio - auto
    Speedstep - enable
    Turbo - enable
    Bclk - 180
    PCIE - 100
    Dram - 1443 / 8-8-8-24-1T
    Uclk - 2887
    QPI Link - 8662
    CPU volts - 1.20625
    CPU PLL - auto
    QPI/Dram - 1.21875
    Dram volts - 1.64
    Loadline - enable
    CPU Diff - auto
    C1E - enable
    CPU TM - enable
    HT - enable
    Active Procs - all
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    All other setting were left to default as they did not help any when changed.
    I hope this info can help somebody. If anyone has any suggestions or
    recommendations that can help with my temps, i would greatly appreciate it.
    I'm already thinking to reseat the water block because i am not sure i got a
    good seat after looking at the temp diff from core to core under load. I have
    resisted doing that because of the difficulty involved because of my crappy
    hacked bracket. Trying to keep the water block in place while adjusting the
    position of the brackets evenly and tightening is VERY difficult.
     
    Binge says thanks.
  13. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,474 (5.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,773
    Location:
    Florida
    well a multi of 21 doesnt seem all that important to me a mulit of 20 should suffice for my testings
     
  14. kid41212003

    kid41212003

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,584 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    533
    Location:
    California
    I think you should have that off, and get to 4GHz stable without it first, and then enable it later when you want to OC higher.
     
  15. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,135 (5.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,458
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    mine holds up just fine:toast:
     
  16. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,135 (5.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,458
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    Fit has done a good job at posting what he has done with the i7. Thank you for that fit.

    I would like to see your postings too giorgos. Do you have more at another website?
    To me u are a very well respected overclocker also:toast:
     
  17. Binge

    Binge Overclocking Surrealism

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6,982 (2.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,752
    Location:
    PA, USA
    Deal :roll:

    Look I meant nothing more than just back off the "it's easy!" stuff. For me I found hitting 200 BCLK a non-issue, but for Fit, Dark, and others the idea of 200 BCLK is a headache. And we have really good cooling set-up. I would appreciate any further understanding so that I might reach 4.5ghz stable @ 215 BCLK, but no offense but I even doubt you'd be able to help. You are obviously very knowledgeable. The issue is that you're working with a whole different set of rules to overclock by. You have double the effective QPI, unlocked multipliers, and a different motherboard. I'm curious to see if our bios are the same :)

    Anyway I hope what I've said has not discouraged you too much. Thanks for the good luck, and I hope to see you commenting more with jokes, suggestions, or questions rather than assuming everyone here has seen 200 BCLK stable 24/7.

    YGPM
     
    Fitseries3 says thanks.
  18. giorgos th.

    giorgos th. New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2005
    Messages:
    1,540 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    117
    Location:
    Athens - Hellas
    and why should i do that?
     
    Fitseries3 says thanks.
  19. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (5.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    aw come on man. help us out please.
     
  20. giorgos th.

    giorgos th. New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2005
    Messages:
    1,540 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    117
    Location:
    Athens - Hellas
    Chicken Patty and Fitseries3 say thanks.
  21. HTC

    HTC

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2008
    Messages:
    2,258 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    308
    Fitseries3: have you considered changing board to a Gigabyte UD5 X58?

    I hear very good things about this board and it's the one giorgos th. is using, i believe.

    Should you not know how to adjust this board's BIOS (i very much doubt it), you can check this (something i had already posted in reply #465 of this post).

    Just a thought.
     
  22. kid41212003

    kid41212003

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,584 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    533
    Location:
    California
    I'm wondering how he can get QPI link that low, If this is just AMD's, the lower the HTT (QPI) the better the OC, mine already at 3.423 MHz, and I don't know how to get this thing lower.
     
  23. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (5.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    you find me one cheap i'll try one.
     
  24. HTC

    HTC

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2008
    Messages:
    2,258 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    308
    I dunno of anyone who's selling such boards and they cost quite a bit here: can't help you with this :(
     
  25. kid41212003

    kid41212003

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,584 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    533
    Location:
    California
    NVM this, I noticed his base clock is under 190.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)

Share This Page