1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

TPU's Core i7 Overclocking and Feedback

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by dark2099, Nov 17, 2008.

  1. giorgos th.

    giorgos th. New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2005
    Messages:
    1,540 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    117
    Location:
    Athens - Hellas
    as i see everything is ok now...
    glad you worked it out...
     
    Fitseries3 says thanks.
  2. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (6.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    yes and no. i cant run 20x multi over 4ghz and 19x maxes at 218 bclk. kinda disappointing.
     
  3. giorgos th.

    giorgos th. New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2005
    Messages:
    1,540 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    117
    Location:
    Athens - Hellas
    there are always preffered multis.....
    i can have my best mhz (~5200mhz) only with X27....
     
    Fitseries3 says thanks.
  4. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (6.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    what do i need to do to get it stable to bench? it hard locks when 3dm bench begins.
     
  5. Jupiter New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2008
    Messages:
    84 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    38
    Location:
    3rd Rock
    Fitseries3 says thanks.
  6. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (6.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    if no one has seen these yet i'll show you now...

    [​IMG]
     
    dark2099 and Chicken Patty say thanks.
  7. Jupiter New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2008
    Messages:
    84 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    38
    Location:
    3rd Rock
    I think i may have found two problems.

    1) First problem is that it appears my PSU is stressing.
    Under load my +12v rail drops to 11.88v-11.93v. I am
    sure this IS causing some OC instability.

    2) Under load the chipset can get really hot. Mine has
    reached 59c with 100% load and i have a fan on it.
    Is this normal, is this ok, i have no clue what is acceptable?
     
  8. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (6.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    yes.. mine got to 60+ under load. thats why i went water.

    what psu you have? mine was doing that but i fixed it with the voltage adjustments.... thats yet another reason why i LOVE pc power and cooling.
     
    Jupiter says thanks.
  9. Jupiter New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2008
    Messages:
    84 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    38
    Location:
    3rd Rock
    Am still trying to figure out if the Swiftech MCW-NBMAX
    will fit on an Asus P6T.

    Am using a Apevia 680w PSU. For sure will be upgrading
    to probably a Thermaltake 750w.
     
  10. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (6.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    hmmm.... idk. i just took a look and it doesnt look good on the NB-MAX. thats the one i have and its decent. i think it would be better with some sorta fins or a pin structure inside.

    can you remove that black fin thingy from the NB?
     
  11. msgclb

    msgclb

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    1,718 (0.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,270
    Location:
    Oklahoma City
    Any idea when they will be available and the cost?
     
  12. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (6.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    $700-800 at least. i think you can order them from corsair direct but idk.
     
  13. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    ok, here is my latest 3dmark run, I can't wipe the damn smile off my face :) :) :)


    [​IMG]
     
  14. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (6.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    lol... and im almost 10k on top of that. :D
     
  15. Jupiter New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2008
    Messages:
    84 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    38
    Location:
    3rd Rock
    Yes as shown in the pics of this post. It looks like
    it was made for it.
    http://www.xtremesystems.org/FORUMS/showpost.php?p=3451890&postcount=32
     
  16. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    here is a comparison, between my Phenom and my i7 at same clocks, both on GPU and CPU

    Phenom
    [​IMG]

    Core i7
    [​IMG]
     
  17. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida

    you fucker, shut up!!! hehehe

    Come one single 4870, im only at 3.3 GHz, I think its actually looking pretty darn good for 3.3 GHz. What do you think?
     
  18. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (6.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
  19. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (6.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    single 4870x2 here. 4.2ghz though.

    you're doing good. keep going though.
     
    Chicken Patty says thanks.
  20. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    I will!!!! Thanks.
     
  21. Jupiter New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2008
    Messages:
    84 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    38
    Location:
    3rd Rock
    Well it appears to be 2 3/8".
     
    Fitseries3 says thanks.
  22. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (6.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    can you use mm? if not thats ok.
     
  23. Jupiter New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2008
    Messages:
    84 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    38
    Location:
    3rd Rock
    If i'm not mistaken that is like 35mm.
     
    Fitseries3 says thanks.
  24. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (6.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    should work man. that looks about what mine is.
     
  25. msgclb

    msgclb

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    1,718 (0.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,270
    Location:
    Oklahoma City
    My untrained eye says that 2 3/8" is 60mm.

    Conversion.jpg
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page