1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

TPU's Core i7 Overclocking and Feedback

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by dark2099, Nov 17, 2008.

  1. FilipM

    FilipM New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Messages:
    802 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    94
    Location:
    Bitola, Macedonia
    How can it be i pass 20 times IBT on MAX, and still BSOD...then i try LinX, and i fail!?


    Arent both of them using the same method? Needed to increace VCore by 2 clicks in order to pass LinX
  2. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,552 (2.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    828
    Location:
    TX, USA
    on IBT are you setting the threads to 8 ? LinX does it on its own IBT doesnt ;)
  3. FilipM

    FilipM New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Messages:
    802 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    94
    Location:
    Bitola, Macedonia
    Yes 8 threads, temps are about the same
  4. mudkip

    mudkip

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,226 (0.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    148
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Intel Burn Test doesn't stress your CPU as much as LinX does. (If you don't believe , check your CPU load with both)
    Weird but true. I'd stick to LinX .
  5. kitfit1 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    15 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Got my new phase build up and running earlier on this week.

    [​IMG]

    The first result in anger, so to speak, is below. 20 rounds Linx all ram selected at 4.84ghz.

    [​IMG]
  6. Binge

    Binge Overclocking Surrealism

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6,982 (3.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,752
    Location:
    PA, USA
  7. FilipM

    FilipM New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Messages:
    802 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    94
    Location:
    Bitola, Macedonia
    21 x 190 (3990MHz) 11 passes of LinX @ 1.328V. Anything below is givving errors. I think ill stay here for a while
  8. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,823 (3.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    brandonwh64, HammerON and Binge say thanks.
  9. HammerON

    HammerON The Watchful Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,479 (3.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,581
    Nice find Don!
    Crunching for Team TPU
  10. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (6.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    ooooo

    [​IMG]
  11. Makaveli

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2006
    Messages:
    430 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario
    lol you know that's the motherboard of all motherboards when it says "Maximum CPU Power"

    All hail 24 phases.....not sure i'm worthy enough to own it.

    Maybe in my next life.
  12. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,914 (4.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,979
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
  13. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (6.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    $650? WTF!

    SR2 is less than that and blows it out of the water.
  14. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,914 (4.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,979
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
  15. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (6.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    Well I have 1 of the 2 boards

    ;)
  16. Makaveli

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2006
    Messages:
    430 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario
    $650 wow why not just buy a server motherboard at that price.
  17. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,225
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    I saw a pic the other day of the UD9 and almost jizzed! Where the pics at FIT????
  18. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,823 (3.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    me likes

    [​IMG]
  19. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,569 (5.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,439
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    Have you tried that overclock using turbo? Tests suggest that in many apps using turbo actually increases performance.
  20. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,823 (3.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    no, and i think 4ghz is fast enough for me, i dont have any problems with anything:p

    + it gets around 75c under load(have air cooling)

    so i dont need higher speeds
  21. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,569 (5.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,439
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    It's not necessarily about higher clocks, it's also about the same speed with a lower BClock and using the higher (21x) multi. As I said, in most things, 4gig with Turbo on will be quicker than most things @ 4gig with turbo off as you have yours set now.

    Take a look at this link, read the page and conclusion here and the previous page to it where it also has the legend, the first 2 columns are basically the ones to concentrate on in the results, the fisrt column being turbo/HT off, the 2nd column being turbo on/HT off, you will see in some cases in some apps a 10% performance improvement with turbo enabled :)

    http://ixbtlabs.com/articles3/cpu/ci7-turbo-ht-p2.html

    Some may also be surprised to see that some apps run SLOWER with HT enabled!
    mastrdrver and (FIH) The Don say thanks.
  22. mastrdrver

    mastrdrver

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Messages:
    3,124 (1.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    575
    Hmmm, is this with any 1366 i7 that apps run faster when using the turbo multi over the "regular" max multi?
  23. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (6.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    SR2 time!

    not bad for stock and only 2 480s...

    [​IMG]

    physx off....

    [​IMG]
  24. mstenholm

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2,038 (1.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,147
    Nice Fits. I asume that you will add a small OC and run it again ;)
    Crunching for Team TPU
  25. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,569 (5.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,439
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    Fits....... very nice, now get some volts runnin thru them CPU's!

    @ mastrdvr.... yes anything 1156/1366 will in most things get more performance from turbo enabled as the linky above clearly shows.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page