1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

TPU's Core i7 Overclocking and Feedback

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by dark2099, Nov 17, 2008.

  1. HTC

    HTC

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2008
    Messages:
    2,240 (0.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    303
    Question: ain't that VCore a bit high for i7?

    EDIT

    Comparing this one to the one DaMulta just posted above, it seems that buying a 2nd 4870x2 is a waste, for now anyway. Maybe as drivers mature there will be a gain, in 3D06.

    Still, i'm almost willing to bet that, in Vantage, this doesn't happen.
     
    Last edited: Nov 18, 2008
  2. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,119 (5.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,454
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
  3. HTC

    HTC

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2008
    Messages:
    2,240 (0.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    303
    I see what you mean: temps weren't shown in that pic.

    2.2? DAMN!!!!!
     
  4. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,119 (5.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,454
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    I was so close to hitting the 5Ghz mark.....so I pushed and I pushed and I pushed.(Dom was on the phone with me that day.....)
    Then clocked it back down to stock and ran it for 3 hours.....turned it off for a day.

    The machine would not turn on for a week......

    At first it had a -10c cold bug

    then it worked with only 3 cores

    Then it worked only at 1400FSB 4 cores

    Then the cold bug went away

    And now
    ATM the thing does work stock.....I'll say that:roll:
     
  5. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,119 (5.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,454
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
  6. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,914 (4.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,979
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    That vcore concerns me too at only 4.1ghz. It's certainly fine for those of us on better WC or more extreme cooling for short periods of time. But considering the risk of electromigration that seems to occur on 45nm's over 1.45v, getting 4.0+ 24/7 is going to still be out of reach. It almost gives argument for people with good Q6600's to stay with them for quite awhile longer. Hell, the Q6600 I just sold was doing 3.9ghz on 1.48v stable.
    I'm certainly not trying to be critical, and I'd like to be playing with an i7 too. I'm just trying to look at the value of the new platform.
     
    Last edited: Nov 18, 2008
  7. mojom@n New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2008
    Messages:
    12 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    I'm priming my i7 920. so far here is where i'm at.





    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
  8. TheGoat Eater

    TheGoat Eater

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    Messages:
    752 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    126
    Location:
    West Des Moines,IA (USA)
    HMMM.... I wonder why this is familiar, oh maybe I have been building and testing i7 systems for a while now :pimp: :rolleyes: I would say that I could throw up a CrossfireX score or 2 in Vantage (4870X2 x2 + i7 965XE ) :D
     
  9. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,748 (5.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,544
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    So what i can see from this, unless I have got it wrong, there is a fair bit of extra speed in these new chips, from my reckoning, an i7 at 4gig = a Yorkfield at about 4.3gig as far as the CPU score is concerned in 2006......thats really quite impressive.
     
  10. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,748 (5.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,544
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    Very true but if the i7 can do, lets say 3.8gig on 1.4v as a 24/7 thats still going to better any Q6600 upto and beyond 4gig 24/7 and they are rare......now my Q9650 will do 4.1gig 24/7 on less than 1.3v but hey sod the 24/7, bench the cr*p outta them I say! :rockout:
     
  11. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,119 (5.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,454
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    O with dice?
     
  12. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (6.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
  13. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,119 (5.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,454
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    I know I should be able to do what your death clocks could do fit, only a little bit more.
     
  14. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,119 (5.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,454
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    Well fit with my phase I think I could take the chip around 4.5

    I would like the 965 for the higher ram usage alone looking at that like.


    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    I think I was around -20c on this clock or -30 down. Around there. That pic is saved on the 500gb drive that decided to die on me in 1 months time....
     
  15. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (6.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    i havent done any "death clocks" with the i7. all my postings have been at stable speeds.

    the i7s put off alot more heat. a phase tuned for 200watts would not suffice with the i7 chips when OCed.
     
  16. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,119 (5.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,454
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    I stayed frozen at 2.0v ask dom LOL

    THATS A TON OF HEAT

    The dang thing starts shacking LOL and reads I think(been a while)-62c on the front.

    Real temp is still frozen at 2.0v

    Is that not crazy? Now after the 2.0 V it's all down hill very fast.
     
  17. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (6.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    dual or quad? 65nm or 45nm?
     
  18. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,914 (4.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,979
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
  19. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,119 (5.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,454
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    QX9650

    I had the CPU Voltage at 2.0
    PLL at 2.0
    VTT around 1.8

    Frozen but on the edge.


    2.1 not frozen

    2.2 about to over heat

    Game over

    But it kinda plays. Been meaning to RMA for a new steping.
     
  20. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,119 (5.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,454
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    See how he keeps saying (retail chips might have higher memory multiplier unlocked)

    I think those chips clock better.


    920 4.2Ghz on air
    http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/showpost.php?p=3402474&postcount=82

    NDA most likly
    965

    4.2 Air 48 hours STABLE
    http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/showpost.php?p=3404525&postcount=97

    retail

    on air
    http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/showpost.php?p=3416319&postcount=130
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]


    another 965

    4.2 on air
    http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/attachment.php?attachmentid=88984&stc=1&d=1226619732

    I don't think everyone really understands how to death clock yet.

    A few fugger is stable at what 5.4 ?

    But that's under cascaded phase -100c close to LN2. How ever I did read somewhere yesterday about a cold bug, and they were trying to stay above -50c.

    I think I have seen more retail chips clocked higher than the samples, but I'm not 100% sure on that.
     
  21. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,183 (3.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,399
    I love the cd stack mod on the cooler ^^ :laugh:
     
  22. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,119 (5.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,454
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    Where did all the benching go:(
     
  23. dark2099

    dark2099

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    Messages:
    4,400 (1.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    755
    Location:
    where everyone wants to be
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Got the retention bracket for my CM Hyper 212 and it helps temps some, but damn these chips really get hot.
     
  24. SystemViper

    SystemViper

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2007
    Messages:
    2,500 (1.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    472
    Just ordered the GIG Extreme, so need to get the chip and ram....

    are you both just using hte 920i?
     
  25. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,119 (5.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,454
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    Did fit kill his machine?
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page