1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

TPU's F@H Team

Discussion in 'Folding@Home' started by W2hCYK, Jun 10, 2006.

  1. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Oh. Thanks for the info. I was wondering why I was only getting a few extra PPD than someone with a 3870 :p Cant wait for the new client! I am probably gonna get at least a 100% increase huh!
     
  2. Zenith

    Zenith

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    166 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    36
    Location:
    Slovenia
    Sigs are updated every now and then. After a while you get correct state.
     
  3. Bow

    Bow

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Messages:
    2,478 (1.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,125
    Location:
    South of Planet Earth
    i know but it has never been this " off " before
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. johnspack

    johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,382 (1.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    865
    Location:
    Nelson B.C. Canada
    My poor little 9800gtx tries hard, but doesn't match my 280...
    [​IMG]
    Oh and it took a day for my sig to show.... so just wait I guess.
     
  5. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    that 9800GTX should be getting higher then that. Is it overclocked any?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. infrared New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Messages:
    3,307 (0.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    183
    Location:
    Southampton, UK
    Even at stock the 9800GTX should be getting 6000+ easily and the 280 should be at around 8000.
     
  7. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,552 (2.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    828
    Location:
    TX, USA
    dont you get more in vista vs xp ?

    i did i think been a long time
     
  8. johnspack

    johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,382 (1.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    865
    Location:
    Nelson B.C. Canada
    No, XP64 gives me best performance overall, beats xp32 and vista64. And no, I didn't have the 9800 oced, I should of.. and both cards folding at once drain my athlon bad... 100% usage on one core, I can't figure out how to make it balance out, arg. So I end up folding on the 9800gtx in the day, and the 280 at night.
     
  9. phanbuey

    phanbuey

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    5,207 (2.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    975
    Location:
    Miami
    cant you assign the processor affinity to each GPU core?
     
  10. SirKeldon

    SirKeldon New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Messages:
    489 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    154
    Location:
    Barcelona, Catalonia (Spain)
    Yay! At least i've passed the 100 WU's and 115k points (99% of them in SMP-mode) ... these last 6 weeks have been incredible, my OC in Linux is extremely stable and brings out the best folding i could do, always in SMP and no freezes, memory's management is great and no hang-ups with games or something. This 2.6.27 kernel is ACE! :D

    4Ghz folding almost 24/7 FTW!!! Keep Folding team :)

    PS: 86% completed of a WU with 3340 of score, WOW!
    PS(2): When GPU clients will be supported on GNU/Linux? :(
     
  11. BUCK NASTY

    BUCK NASTY F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,595 (1.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,944
    Location:
    Tallahassee, FL. U.S.A.
    There was promise of x2 support with the current ATI core, but i believe it has not been nowhere near as successful as they had hoped for. Alot of people complain that their X2's won't fold the 2nd core. There is talk of a Beta core on the forums. Check the linky below for updates:

    http://foldingforum.org/viewforum.php?f=51
     
    mlee49 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  12. BUCK NASTY

    BUCK NASTY F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,595 (1.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,944
    Location:
    Tallahassee, FL. U.S.A.
    Dump that System Tray Client and get the Console Client. Leaving the viewer open kills PPD. The Console Client has no viewer, u just monitor via Fahmon. Try closing the viewer and see if PPD increases.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  13. BUCK NASTY

    BUCK NASTY F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,595 (1.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,944
    Location:
    Tallahassee, FL. U.S.A.
    F@H is working on a Linux GPU client, but it's still in development with no promises on timeframe.

    I agree with POS pc and Infared. That 9800GTX should be getting 6K+ PPD. Why don't you send the GTX to Uncle Buck's house for the Holidays. Oh, the dirty things I would put it through[​IMG]....:D
    Are you sure you have the flags set correctly for the GPU's? It almost looks like both clients are running on the same card.
     
    SirKeldon says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  14. mmaakk

    mmaakk

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2008
    Messages:
    567 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    171
    Location:
    Brasil
    Back ONLINE!!!

    I was catching up the last pages of our forum...

    My internet and home phone went down Saturday morning ...until now!!!

    Fuc@#@#$#%&&**#@# BELL CANADA!! I HATE YOU!!! :mad:

    OK, life goes on! Rigs running now, except my GTX 260 rig.

    HELP NEEDED!!!

    My pc running vista32 with GTX 260, latest VGA drivers - Installed and uninstalled and cleaned and installed again - but still with problem:

    WHEN I'M RUNNING F@H OR EVEN GAMES, THE VIDEO CARD IS STUCK AT THE IDLE VALUES - LIKE GPU = 300MHZ.

    MY RIVATUNER OC OPTIONS ARE DISABLED - WON'T LET ME USE :banghead:

    ANY IDEAS?
     
  15. johnspack

    johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,382 (1.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    865
    Location:
    Nelson B.C. Canada
    This is the only setting for cores I see, and I think this should be the best setting, although I've tried it both ways, no difference, both just run on the same cpu core... frustrating, the other cpu core can be as low as 0%, still both clients just run on core1 of my cpu.
    [​IMG]
    I've done lock and don't lock.. if I could spread the load, I could use both cards!?
    Oh, and if I start it on my 9800gtx, I watch rivatuner and the gpu temp jumps, I check my 280, no change, if I start my 280, same thing in reverse. Remember, x2 athlon here, why do you think I'm dreaming of a p45 xmas?
     
    Last edited: Nov 18, 2008
  16. BUCK NASTY

    BUCK NASTY F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,595 (1.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,944
    Location:
    Tallahassee, FL. U.S.A.
    Your losing valuable time & points. I have 4x 8800GS folding on one core of a BE2400 @ 2.3GHZ and SMP running on the other core @ 5200+ PPD each. You can easily handle the GTX 280 and the 9800GTX on the same core of that 5600+. To top it off, throw SMP on the other core.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  17. BUCK NASTY

    BUCK NASTY F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,595 (1.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,944
    Location:
    Tallahassee, FL. U.S.A.
    Have you run a driver cleaner in between uninstall/installs????
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  18. mmaakk

    mmaakk

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2008
    Messages:
    567 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    171
    Location:
    Brasil
    Exactly what I did!
     
  19. johnspack

    johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,382 (1.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    865
    Location:
    Nelson B.C. Canada
    Don't forget, this is my gaming and entertainment box too, it has many things to do, I just let it use idle cycles to fold. At night I oc my 280 and let it rip. I find even folding on the 9800 can cause problems with my tv tuner ect, so I've got to let it be a night thing mostly. When I build my intel rig, I'll have this athlon thing to fold 24/7 heheh! I might try that smp for a kick though...
     
  20. BUCK NASTY

    BUCK NASTY F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,595 (1.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,944
    Location:
    Tallahassee, FL. U.S.A.
    I can understand that. I turned my HTPC into a 24/7 folder and have'nt watched a Blu-Ray in months. I'm finally taking the cards out of it and loading up another Quad GPU rig. I really missed my HTPC...:ohwell:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  21. mmaakk

    mmaakk

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2008
    Messages:
    567 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    171
    Location:
    Brasil
    GTX 260 Back on shape!


    I hate having to admit this, but is true! Vista System Restore did a good job! I went back couple of days when my rig was running smooth and BINGO!

    Back folding at 7K+ PPD! :toast:

    EDIT:

    :toast:

    TPU HAS NOW A 3 MILLION POINTS USER!!!
    CONGRATULATIONS BUCK NASTY!!
    YOU ARE FLYING!!! I MEAN FOLDING HIGH!!


    :toast:
     
    Last edited: Nov 18, 2008
    BUCK NASTY says thanks.
  22. stanhemi

    stanhemi New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2008
    Messages:
    802 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    351
    Location:
    Montreal,-Canada.
    joined, folding with my 4850's and my E7200
     
    mmaakk says thanks.
  23. Zanga New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    Messages:
    77 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    How can i make the console close without ending the folding, and just monitor from time to time with fahmon ?
     
  24. BUCK NASTY

    BUCK NASTY F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,595 (1.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,944
    Location:
    Tallahassee, FL. U.S.A.
    Just minimize the window and let Fahmon do it's thing. I only open the Console window to check the core version.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  25. mmaakk

    mmaakk

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2008
    Messages:
    567 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    171
    Location:
    Brasil
    Welcome stanhemi. Thanks for joining TPU F@H!

    Fold CANADA! FOLD!! hehe...:toast:
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page