1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

TPU's F@H Team

Discussion in 'Folding@Home' started by W2hCYK, Jun 10, 2006.

  1. johnspack

    johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,346 (1.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    841
    Location:
    Nelson B.C. Canada
    I guess you already know I've got the 8800gs up, it's oced to 700/1700/850 and pulling 4500+ ppd now, but it's in a seperate box. So this ver 1.15 of fahcore 11 I just overwrite a current install, and restart? It won't corrupt a job?
  2. BUCK NASTY

    BUCK NASTY F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,437 (1.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,492
    Location:
    Tallahassee, FL. U.S.A.
    It's not a problem. Just shut down the client, open folder, overwrite core, and start client back up. I have done it 10-12 times this week. Picks up where you left off. This only works on the 480 PT WU's.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. johnspack

    johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,346 (1.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    841
    Location:
    Nelson B.C. Canada
    Yeah, that's all I get are the 480 pointers.. how DO you get bigger point jobs?
  4. BUCK NASTY

    BUCK NASTY F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,437 (1.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,492
    Location:
    Tallahassee, FL. U.S.A.
    F@H Main Assignment Server Down.

    This just happened @ 7:30 EST. I have 3 out of 17 clients waiting on work. The backup server may be slow to catch up. The following is from Vijay Pande's blog:

    Main AS down. We're looking into it.

    The main AS is down. The two consequences of this are that the secondary AS is handling all of the load and the main stats update have been suspended until this is resolved. The points are being kept locally on the servers, so WU's are being credited, just not showing up on our web site.

    Posted at 04:38 PM PST | Permalink | Comments (0)
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. BUCK NASTY

    BUCK NASTY F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,437 (1.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,492
    Location:
    Tallahassee, FL. U.S.A.
    You do not want the bigger point jobs. Nvidia cards are very efficient with folding medium to large size proteins. The 480 Pt WU's are all medium to large protiens. The 511 pt WU's are very large proteins and thus, we suffer with our Nvidia cards on yielding 40% less PPD. So, be thankful we have 480pt WU's still. I believe we will see more very large proteins starting next month coinciding with the new ATI/Stream core release.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. johnspack

    johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,346 (1.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    841
    Location:
    Nelson B.C. Canada
    Interesting, trying out the 1.15 on my 9800gtx, ppd just jumped to 5200! If this works out, I'll use it on my other 2 cards.
    Edit: now 12.5k ppd on my main box, will try it on my server next.
    Last edited: Nov 22, 2008
  7. johnspack

    johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,346 (1.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    841
    Location:
    Nelson B.C. Canada
    Stat server is updating now, should see results soon.
  8. johnspack

    johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,346 (1.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    841
    Location:
    Nelson B.C. Canada
    Oh, and Buck, the 1.15 does nothing for the 8800gs, but nice increases for the 9800gtx and gtx280. Could be because my server is maxxed at 2.375ghz and ram at 950mhz, just can't feed it any faster...
    My 8800gs just loaded a new job, now it's almost 4.9k! wow! Guess I was wrong on that one.....
    Last edited: Nov 22, 2008
  9. johnspack

    johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,346 (1.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    841
    Location:
    Nelson B.C. Canada
    TPU is upto #140 now!
  10. johnspack

    johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,346 (1.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    841
    Location:
    Nelson B.C. Canada
    I'm so duh!!!! I don't need my 9800gtx just to drive 2 extra monitors, the 8800gs can do that. I'm going to shift the 9800gtx to my server box to fold 24/7 and bring the 8800gs back to my main box. I think I could pull close to 6k ppd on the 9800...hmmmmm. A lot of driver resetting though, I'll post results if I try this.
  11. Zenith

    Zenith New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    165 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    36
    Location:
    Slovenia
    Moving on up. 3 places I guess. I have just bulid second rig so one will be dedicated for folding, hopefully at work place, other will stay with me at home. Need to overclock second one.
  12. mmaakk

    mmaakk

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2008
    Messages:
    567 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    171
    Location:
    Brasil
    Congrats johnspack! :toast:

    10K points yesterday. Are you following your statistics?

    http://folding.extremeoverclocking.com/user_summary.php?s=&u=403348

    Cheers
    johnspack says thanks.
  13. Bow

    Bow

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Messages:
    2,344 (1.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    937
    Location:
    Way Upstate New York
    My sig is not updating? shows my ppd but my 24hr avg is not correct any ideas?
    Crunching for Team TPU
  14. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,551 (2.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    828
    Location:
    TX, USA
  15. BUCK NASTY

    BUCK NASTY F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,437 (1.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,492
    Location:
    Tallahassee, FL. U.S.A.
    Yeah, the 8800GS/9600GSO cards are a sweet deal. I can get 4 from newegg for $240.00 and feed them with a $50.00 PSU and end up with 21,000 PPD. The entire rig will only draw 370 watts for excellent efficiency. Better buy them while you can. The new 9600GSO's will have only 64 shaders vs 96 now. Expect to see them in the next month.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  16. johnspack

    johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,346 (1.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    841
    Location:
    Nelson B.C. Canada
    Just discovered something amazing! The new 180.70 drivers! Before my cpu cores would be pinned at max usage, now I can set cpu slider to 100% and it just ripples above 0% now! My cpu was so taxed before I was getting occasional corrupted jobs. Someone else try these out and let me know if it works for you too. These supposedly were released just for folding! Right on the front page: http://www.laptopvideo2go.com/
    Ppd is slightly higher with these too. Oh and yeah heheh, I check my stats several times a day, and I'll be in the top 50 of tpu tomorrow!
    Update: I can verify this works, installed the 180.70 on my main rig, and run both cards and almost nothing for cpu usage, and ppd gain, almost 20k ppd from 3 cards now! Cpus on both boxes are almost idle.
    Last edited: Nov 23, 2008
    BUCK NASTY says thanks.
  17. exodusprime1337

    exodusprime1337

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,188 (0.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    342
    Hey guys, been jumping in to start folding for tpu and have a couple questions.

    1. i just got the smp client going-- how much faster, or more points will it yield vs the 2 single F@H apps.

    2. Does anybody have any idea what this does to the electric bill. I'm all for helping the greater good here but if it's gonna cost me an extra 100 a month, i think the guys at folding should cut me a check....

    That's about it, don't take it personal or anything i don't think that the folding will be that bad on the electric bill i'm just curious. I'm also setting up my g/f's phenom 9950 to fold for me as well.
  18. johnspack

    johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,346 (1.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    841
    Location:
    Nelson B.C. Canada
    Darn, you could pull 10k-12k ppd plus on those 2 8800gts cards, but you'd have to disable sli when folding. Not sure I'd bother folding on cpus, gpus produce many times more the output. Unless you have farms of multiple cards, I don't think your electric bill is going to be noticably higher...
    exodusprime1337 says thanks.
  19. BUCK NASTY

    BUCK NASTY F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,437 (1.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,492
    Location:
    Tallahassee, FL. U.S.A.
    That may work for the system tray client, but my 8 series cards/Console client haz no love for 180.70 drivers. I loaded them this morning and got unstable's all over the place. I switched back to 177.83 and back to normal. I run all my cards on the bleeding edge of unstable due to my O/C's, so that may have contributed to the problem. I may experiment with one rig later in the week to see if i can make them work. Thanks for the heads up johnspack!
    Crunching for Team TPU
  20. exodusprime1337

    exodusprime1337

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,188 (0.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    342
    thanx for the input. yeah i yield roughly 5600~ ppd from each card and like 161PPd from my cpu, but i've been climbing the ranks of people on the team lately check my sig.
  21. dadi_oh

    dadi_oh New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    809 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    Location:
    Almonte, Canada
    So you think maybe people were doing a little more gaming than usual this weekend?

    ;)

    To quote Siegfried from Get Smart....

    Stocker!!! Zees ees Kaos. Vee don't GAME here!!!!

    :D

    Attached Files:

  22. stanhemi

    stanhemi New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2008
    Messages:
    802 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    351
    Location:
    Montreal,-Canada.
    hi. I want to know if 322 ppd only is ok with my spec,i am really lost with the console and fahmon setting thank
  23. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,008 (4.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    seems low. what are you folding on (CPU or video card,both?)
    Crunching for Team TPU
  24. stanhemi

    stanhemi New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2008
    Messages:
    802 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    351
    Location:
    Montreal,-Canada.
    i just change for gpu console ,before was the cpu console,how can i fold with my cpu and gpu and now nothing seem to work
  25. stanhemi

    stanhemi New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2008
    Messages:
    802 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    351
    Location:
    Montreal,-Canada.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)

Share This Page