1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

TPU's F@H Team

Discussion in 'Folding@Home' started by W2hCYK, Jun 10, 2006.

  1. Urbklr

    Urbklr

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    Messages:
    2,346 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    247
    Location:
    Nova Scotia, Canada
    I'm getting 3200 PPD on my 4850, sound about right?
     
  2. johnspack

    johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,382 (1.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    865
    Location:
    Nelson B.C. Canada
    When you game on that rig, pause and exit all clients. When you resume them, they will pick up where they left off. Also are you using the smp client or the cpu client? If you have an intel use the smp client. It sounds like both your gpus are getting about what they should.
     
  3. johnspack

    johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,382 (1.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    865
    Location:
    Nelson B.C. Canada
    That's actually good Urbklr! Nice. Can you oc it anymore?
     
  4. Urbklr

    Urbklr

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    Messages:
    2,346 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    247
    Location:
    Nova Scotia, Canada
    My GPU? No, it's balls are to the wall pretty good with only 1.158v:laugh:

    [​IMG]
     
  5. johnspack

    johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,382 (1.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    865
    Location:
    Nelson B.C. Canada
    Well, that is still darn good, nice ppd for that card. It will get even more in the future with a fah core update!
     
  6. johnspack

    johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,382 (1.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    865
    Location:
    Nelson B.C. Canada
    LightofHonor, oc that quad to 3.0ghz, your ppd will shoot up.
     
  7. BUCK NASTY

    BUCK NASTY F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,595 (1.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,942
    Location:
    Tallahassee, FL. U.S.A.
    Lightofhonor, If you want to max out your PPD on all rigs. You have to follow my directions carefully. Gpu folding and SMP folding do not mix well on the same CPU core. Download "Get & Set Affinity Changer". Make sure you choose the quad core variant. Now you have to delete the SMP install you did. It was enabled as a uni processor install(single core) and is incorrect. Before we go any further, do you have a password for your username on the Q6600 rig?
     
    johnspack says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  8. johnspack

    johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,382 (1.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    865
    Location:
    Nelson B.C. Canada
    Oh, cmon, these 384s are killing me, one after another: [​IMG]
    I'm actually begging for 511 point jobs now....
     
  9. proletariandan New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2009
    Messages:
    475 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    50
    Location:
    Chicago
    I just installed the CPU and GPU clients - the GPU client was seriously stressing my card at default settings and sucking alot of juice. The CPU client is running about 50% and only using ~20-30W compared to 60W for the GPU. The icon is showing 195/1500 after ~4 hours, is that any good?
     
  10. Lightofhonor

    Lightofhonor

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2008
    Messages:
    104 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    68
    Location:
    WA, USA
    It's already clocked at 3.1 :D


    There is no password for the account.
     
  11. johnspack

    johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,382 (1.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    865
    Location:
    Nelson B.C. Canada
    Sounds like you didn't use the smp client, I'll let Buck or another smp user guide you through that process. You need to setup username and pword same as your computer for it to work.....
    Edit: sorry Lightsofhonor, wasn't sure if you were clocked. You're still doing good. Wait for new core that will unlock ati cards, you will do much better soon!
     
  12. mmaakk

    mmaakk

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2008
    Messages:
    567 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    171
    Location:
    Brasil
    Congratulations

    BUCK NASTY

    :eek::eek::eek: 5 Million :eek::eek::eek:

    Where is the party?

    :toast:
     
  13. stanhemi

    stanhemi New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2008
    Messages:
    802 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    351
    Location:
    Montreal,-Canada.
    Congrats BUCK NASTY :toast:
     
  14. Lightofhonor

    Lightofhonor

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2008
    Messages:
    104 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    68
    Location:
    WA, USA
    You know BUCK NASTY if you were your OWN team, you'd be in 450th place right now? lol Thats kinda insane... Congrats.:respect:

    And another noob question (cause I'm just full of them!) Folding my 4850 on my desktop takes 25% cpu power (or 1 core), whereas folding my 8600m on my laptop only takes ~2%. Is this because the nvidia core is more up to date or what? Oh, and right now (until I get my smp thing fixed on my desktop) I'm up to 5000 ppd according to FahMon :)

    *Edit* switched the laptop back into mac and found mac is always in smp :rockout: so at 1600ppd it's a lot better than the ~800 I was getting on the graphics card in windows. ;)
     
    Last edited: Dec 20, 2008
  15. johnspack

    johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,382 (1.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    865
    Location:
    Nelson B.C. Canada
    Actually the nvidia driver has resolved cpu usage issues for geforce cards. Hopefully solved soon for ati cards. I'm trying to do some makeup here, I'm pulling 13.5k on my 2 cards at max oc right now, going to let them go overnight.....
     
  16. BUCK NASTY

    BUCK NASTY F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,595 (1.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,942
    Location:
    Tallahassee, FL. U.S.A.
    Yea, the current Nvidia drivers (180.60) drop CPU usage significantly for XP only. Vista has always been low due to the OS. Ati has not been able to drop it's XP CPU usage AFAIK. 1600 PPD is damn respectable for a laptop. OK, back to SMP. Set up a password for the desktop in the control panel-user accounts. Then re-install "MPICH" SMP. Open the folder for MPICH and run the "Install.bat" file. Hit return on username (none needed) and enter your username password twice. Now create a shortcut and drag to the desktop. Right-click the shortcut and go to properties. You need to add to the end of the target filepath"- smp". Leave 1 space after the original target and 1 space after the hyphen. Apply those settings and now you are in SMP mode. Before we go further, did you download "Get & Set Affinity Changer"?

    Party is @ mmaakk's place. With all your spare parts, we could have a rig building party and get another rig going for sure!:laugh:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  17. Birdman86 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2008
    Messages:
    17 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14
    Hello TPU folding team!

    Hi all!

    You may like to know who is that Birdman86 currently at 10th place in team stats.

    It's me and my mainstream gaming rig with Q6600 and 2x GF8800GT. So I have only one pc currently running 2 GPU and 3 CPU systray clients.

    I haven't tried SMP client or overclocking yet. I know my Q6600 (G0 stepping) would overclock well, but unfortunately, I have only boxed cooler, and I wouldn't like to overheat my CPU. I also prefer stability, thus my GPU's aren't overclocked yet.

    My rig is in bedroom and is quite noisy, thus I prefer to shut it down for nights. My room also gets quite hot even here in cold Finland, and I had to open my case because of high GPU temps.

    I have a couple of questions:
    How much more PPD could I get with an SMP client? (I have 64bit Vista)
    How can I get the PPD information at the end of forum messages?
     
    Last edited: Dec 20, 2008
    mmaakk, stanhemi and BUCK NASTY say thanks.
  18. Lightofhonor

    Lightofhonor

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2008
    Messages:
    104 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    68
    Location:
    WA, USA
    Well both machines were running vista :/ And for the price I paid for that laptop, it'd better be damn respectable haha (currently at 1731 ppd on a 1920 pointer)

    And it's Set Affinity II from here right? I have that one. The other didn't support quad.

    http://folding.extremeoverclocking.com/?nav=IMAGES
     
    Last edited: Dec 20, 2008
  19. BUCK NASTY

    BUCK NASTY F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,595 (1.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,942
    Location:
    Tallahassee, FL. U.S.A.
    Yep, that's the one. Ok, install Set Affinity II as a service. Start SMP & your GPU client. Lock GPU2(Fahcore XX.exe) to CPU core 3 and lock SMP(Fahcore A1, A0) to cores 0,1,& 2. Make sure your settings are added to favorites in the right side column and check the box for Auto-Set Affinity. Upon start-up these settings will be applied. The Clients are now isolated from each other(they do not play well together;)). You have now successfully set up the clients and now you can experiment with overclocks:D

    So you are the Birdman? Thanks for folding for TPU and posting in the forum. You will get more PPD with SMP, but I cannot say how much. I run an E8400 and get 1200-1600 PPD per core @ 4.01GHz. Maybe some others with Q6600 and SMP could chime in on their PPD?

    The Sig Stats page is located @http://folding.extremeoverclocking.com/?nav=IMAGES

    Copy & paste this in your sig box in "User CP"
    [​IMG]
    Here it is without the Img tags "http://folding.extremeoverclocking.com/sigs/sigimage.php?un=Birdman86&t=50711"
     
    Last edited: Dec 20, 2008
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  20. BUCK NASTY

    BUCK NASTY F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,595 (1.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,942
    Location:
    Tallahassee, FL. U.S.A.
    Santa came early to Buck's Place

    Oh looky what Santa just got Buck for X-MAS:)(apparently I get Santa's credit card bill). I wonder how the 8800GTS 320(96 SP) will stack up against the 8800GS/9600GSO's(96 SP also). It's still a steal for 77.99 + no shipping:D Also got the new X2 7750 Black Edition with 3MB L3. I should have everything up & running before New Years. Now I gotta go buy another 12/3 extension cord:shadedshu

    [​IMG]
     
    stanhemi says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  21. stanhemi

    stanhemi New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2008
    Messages:
    802 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    351
    Location:
    Montreal,-Canada.
    8800gs

    I play with my new baby this night and now @ 741/1782/802 .On 50xx jobs 480pt WU i get around 5000ppd :D

    After chrismas i buy 1 or 2 8800gs @ 69,99$ :rockout:
     
    mmaakk says thanks.
  22. mmaakk

    mmaakk

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2008
    Messages:
    567 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    171
    Location:
    Brasil
    Rock and Roll stanhemi! :rockout:

    I'm very happy - Great bang @ 5K PPD :rockout:

    And nice Eddie avatar!

    :toast:
     
    stanhemi says thanks.
  23. stanhemi

    stanhemi New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2008
    Messages:
    802 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    351
    Location:
    Montreal,-Canada.
    Now my router is dead again i need to connect both pc manually to internet lol. I lost so many pt during the last 2 days (can't connect the pc when i'm sleeping) :cry:
     
  24. dadi_oh

    dadi_oh New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    809 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    Location:
    Almonte, Canada
    OK. So I updated my Nvidia drivers to 180.60 and now the CPU is hardly working at all for the GPU folding. So I wanted to go to the SMP client for the CPU. Which of the 2 SMP Clients should I be using? See screenshot?

    Any pointers on how to get these running optimally appreciated.
     

    Attached Files:

  25. BUCK NASTY

    BUCK NASTY F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,595 (1.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,942
    Location:
    Tallahassee, FL. U.S.A.
    The lower one "MPICH" is the more popular version. Some believe it produces more PPD.
     
    dadi_oh says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page