1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

TPU's F@H Team

Discussion in 'Folding@Home' started by W2hCYK, Jun 10, 2006.

  1. mmaakk

    mmaakk

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2008
    Messages:
    567 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    171
    Location:
    Brasil
    Very sorry Buck. I'm gonna contract a "hot nurse" to take care of you. ;)

    About the 511 points... Yesterday I had a storm of 480pt. Today 384pt.

    :toast:[​IMG]
  2. BUCK NASTY

    BUCK NASTY F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,437 (1.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,492
    Location:
    Tallahassee, FL. U.S.A.
    Oh My Goodness
    OK, send here over. I'm making a list of things i want her to look at.;)

    Can you imagine joining a folding team and seeing this stuff in the team forum? TPU rocks!!!!!!!
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    Man I am really climbing the ladder fast I in 94th place !
    BUCK NASTY says thanks.
  4. Lightofhonor

    Lightofhonor

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2008
    Messages:
    104 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    68
    Location:
    WA, USA
    Same here :) Up 84 places in 3 days. Currently at 101.


    Yeah my 4850 is doing ANOTHER 511pt WU. Weird that they would give that small a unit to a gpu while giving a 1760 and a 2140pt WU to my cpus...

    And BUCK NASTY: how many ppd should the q6600 be getting? right now it's barely pulling 1600 :( could it be because there are four processes running on 3 cores?
    BUCK NASTY says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. BUCK NASTY

    BUCK NASTY F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,437 (1.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,492
    Location:
    Tallahassee, FL. U.S.A.
    My E8400 does 1250ppd with all 4 processes on one core. Something is not right. What are you CPU clocks?
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. Lightofhonor

    Lightofhonor

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2008
    Messages:
    104 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    68
    Location:
    WA, USA
    3.05ghz right now. I lowered them a little because it was going to be at 100% full time. And I also raised their priority level to high.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. mmaakk

    mmaakk

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2008
    Messages:
    567 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    171
    Location:
    Brasil
    Confession...

    I have a confession to make:

    [​IMG]

    I love folding around with computers.

    [​IMG]
  8. johnspack

    johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,346 (1.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    841
    Location:
    Nelson B.C. Canada
    Ah, those 50xx jobs yesterday were nice, my 8800gs actually got to fold 2 jobs! I'm still struggling to produce as I'm trying to catch up on my games. Wish my gtx280 wasn't such a good folder....
  9. stanhemi

    stanhemi New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2008
    Messages:
    802 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    351
    Location:
    Montreal,-Canada.
    Another n00b question :D
    Is there a way to install another core for my nvidia client.Now i'm using fahcore11.exe,I know i need to delete fahcore.11 and the queue.dat files but it won't work,keep downloading fahcore11.exe again and again.:ohwell: thanks
  10. johnspack

    johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,346 (1.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    841
    Location:
    Nelson B.C. Canada
    Just delete the entire folder and build a new one. Before you start it however, make a backup of it somewhere. Now if you hoop it, just delete folder, and copy backup over and start!
    Also, just use the console client, it's easier to deal with.
    stanhemi says thanks.
  11. BUCK NASTY

    BUCK NASTY F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,437 (1.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,492
    Location:
    Tallahassee, FL. U.S.A.
    The 511pt & 384pt work units will require Fahcore 11 v1.19. This is the only core you can get from Stanford. Some of us still have copies of v1.15, which carries optimizations only for the 480pt WU's. I personally choose to copy it over v1.19 whenever I have 480pt WU's. The last 5 days have been good folding for my rigs, but today was horrible. I have been tormented by these 511pt WU's all day. I can't get a break from them. Is anyone else getting these constantly one after another?

    For the record, what do the GTX260's produce with the 511 pt WU's?
    Crunching for Team TPU
  12. johnspack

    johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,346 (1.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    841
    Location:
    Nelson B.C. Canada
    I'm back to being hit hard by the 384 pointers today. Haven't had 511 pointers in a while, but think I only got like 6.5-6.7k on the darn things.... if I ever get another one I'll post it.
  13. mmaakk

    mmaakk

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2008
    Messages:
    567 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    171
    Location:
    Brasil
    GTX 260 Scores:

    384pt = 7.9K
    480pt = 7.2K
    511pt = 6.2K
  14. Steevo

    Steevo

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    8,107 (2.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,123
    They just realeased a new client for the ATI cards HD4XXX. 1.22 and it imprevoes performance, and there is another one scheduled for january that will finally use the rest of the core on newer 3000-4000 series ATI cards.

    The Nvidia client is currently faster due to simple shaders, the new cores however will use the sahders inthe ATI cards the way they were designed to be used and allow for a 3-5X improvement in performance.
    10 Million points folded for TPU
  15. Steevo

    Steevo

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    8,107 (2.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,123
    GPU plus SMP, and with the new core the GPU client is using 9-15% of one core for setup and only 50-60% of the GPU and it folds 10-20% faster.


    29C currenly on the GPU.
    stanhemi says thanks.
    10 Million points folded for TPU
  16. Lightofhonor

    Lightofhonor

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2008
    Messages:
    104 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    68
    Location:
    WA, USA
    Wasn't that released on the 16th?

    And any ideas what could be slowing down my q6600 BUCK NASTY?

    *EDIT* Seems that it could be related to the new core 1.22.
    Last edited: Dec 22, 2008
    Crunching for Team TPU
  17. Steevo

    Steevo

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    8,107 (2.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,123
    the Nvidia cards are falling back into line with what is reasonable for PPD. People were pumping units out to get high point units too.


    Unless you are using this for a stability test, please stop kicking units out to get high point units only. You are ruining everything good about this a competition. You basicly are f***ing up good science for your personal goals.
    10 Million points folded for TPU
  18. johnspack

    johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,346 (1.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    841
    Location:
    Nelson B.C. Canada
    Just a heads up, I'll be gone for 3-5 days around xmas, during which time my cards will be pumping 24/7. I want top 10!
    Edit: I'll also be adding my brother to team tpu over xmas, only a 8800gt, but it'll add points...
    stanhemi says thanks.
  19. stanhemi

    stanhemi New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2008
    Messages:
    802 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    351
    Location:
    Montreal,-Canada.
    @johnspack i try what you explain to me,don't work still downloading fahcore.11.exe? :ohwell:
  20. johnspack

    johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,346 (1.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    841
    Location:
    Nelson B.C. Canada
    I'm sorry, I did't realize you were trying 1.1, no don't use that, just use 1.19 now. Too much hassle to try to inject ect. Just delete whole install, and install newest one. I even gave up on 1.15, as I don't get enough older jobs to make it worthwhile.
    stanhemi says thanks.
  21. James1991

    James1991 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    Messages:
    267 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    38
    Location:
    Port Lincoln, South Australia
    I think Santa should be getting Buck one of these to make his life alot easier:D
    http://www.magma.com/products/pciexpress/expressbox7/index.html
  22. BUCK NASTY

    BUCK NASTY F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,437 (1.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,492
    Location:
    Tallahassee, FL. U.S.A.
    For $2800.00 I think I'll stick with the K9A2 Platinum....;)

    On another note, I woke up to a silent home this morning. My power went out last night around 2am and I lost 4 hours of the farm folding:shadedshu. I did notice TPU had it's first 250K point day yesterday. Way to go guys!!!!!!!:rockout:
    Crunching for Team TPU
  23. James1991

    James1991 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    Messages:
    267 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    38
    Location:
    Port Lincoln, South Australia
    :eek: i didn't look at the price

    GTA 4 is getting boring now that i have finished it so i will be folding again as of tomorow:rockout:
  24. Lightofhonor

    Lightofhonor

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2008
    Messages:
    104 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    68
    Location:
    WA, USA
    You forget that SANTA is buying them :) Santa has no limits (unless his credit sucks lol)
    Crunching for Team TPU
  25. johnspack

    johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,346 (1.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    841
    Location:
    Nelson B.C. Canada
    Darn, wonder how long the results server was down last night, my cards were idle for awhile there.....

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)

Share This Page