1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

TPU's F@H Team

Discussion in 'Folding@Home' started by W2hCYK, Jun 10, 2006.

  1. Birdman86 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2008
    Messages:
    17 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14
    I started the SMP client today on my Q6600 @2.4 GHz, and it's giving me over 1800 PPD with WU
    Project: 2653 (Run 5, Clone 49, Gen 98) (1760 points). That enables me to get 10000 PPD again after good old v1.15 GPU core and project 501x WU times. I have 64bit Windows Vista and 2 GPU clients running causing about 4% CPU usage. I could test 1333 MHz FSB to get at 3.0 GHz, but I don't know whether my boxed cooler can handle all the heat.

    If someone is interested, here are some PPD of my GF8800GT GPU's with v1.19 core
    with 384 point WU's:
    gpu0: about 4000, clocks: 600/1500/900 (default)
    gpu1: about 4400, clocks: 650/1625/900 (stock OC)
    with 480 point WU's:
    gpu1: about 5000
    with 511 point WU's:
    gpu1: about 3400
     
    Last edited: Dec 22, 2008
  2. Lightofhonor

    Lightofhonor

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2008
    Messages:
    104 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    68
    Location:
    WA, USA
    I'm thinking of running my q6600 in a virtual machine running linux and run smp for 2 cores there. Has anyone else tried this yet? I found out that the reason my laptop outscores my desktop (cpu wise anyways) is because it uses the a2 core which is more efficient. I could then run a regular client on the other free core and leave one core for the gpu.

    Also, if I were to use the onboard video card instead of my 4850 and use the 4850 exclusively for folding, would I see any big difference in ppd?

    Suggestions? Comments? Thanks.
     
    Last edited: Dec 23, 2008
  3. BUCK NASTY

    BUCK NASTY F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,634 (1.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,005
    Location:
    Tallahassee, FL. U.S.A.
    Everyone running GPU2/Nvidia please report in on the Work Units you are getting. I'm on my second day of 511pt units and it's killing my farm, along with the heat and EUE's. I have only been getting work from 171.67.108.11 for every GPU I have. Anyone know how to select another server without blocking the problematic one?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  4. mmaakk

    mmaakk

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2008
    Messages:
    567 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    171
    Location:
    Brasil
    Buck, for the last 3 days I'm getting all, but 511pt WUs. Getting specially 384pt. :confused:
     
    Last edited: Dec 23, 2008
  5. Urbklr

    Urbklr

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    Messages:
    2,346 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    247
    Location:
    Nova Scotia, Canada
    I have been getting 384's and 511's...but they are random, I never got a straight day of 511's.
     
  6. johnspack

    johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,383 (1.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    865
    Location:
    Nelson B.C. Canada
  7. stanhemi

    stanhemi New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2008
    Messages:
    802 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    351
    Location:
    Montreal,-Canada.
    I get hit by 384's for the last 2 days.:shadedshu Look@ my 4850 ...hehe finally!!!,running on fahcore 1.22 :D

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Dec 23, 2008
  8. rangerone766

    rangerone766

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,036 (0.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    111
    i've been getting 511's to for the last few days, really hit my points bad. and tomarrow i'm losing a rig. i built a rig for xmas to give to my dad. i've been folding on it the last few weeks.

    hes getting a
    abit ip35-e
    e2180 @ 3.2ghz
    2 gigs of adata ddr2 @ 800mhz
    palit 9600gt v/modded will run 900mhz on the core to fold, but setting it back to stock.
    so i hope he's happy with the rig.
     
  9. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    about how many PPD would a 8600GTS give me? my 2nd rig is going to be down till i get a new PSU. I need a PSU and a video card for it so i am thinking of just getting a 8600GTS from a friend for dirt cheap and using it in my main rig for now.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  10. stanhemi

    stanhemi New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2008
    Messages:
    802 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    351
    Location:
    Montreal,-Canada.
    [​IMG]

    " Can be inexact ?
     
    p_o_s_pc says thanks.
  11. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    thanks. I think i will get higher because i will more then likely if temp allows me voltmod it slightly and overclock the hell out of it
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  12. crazy pyro

    crazy pyro New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1,662 (0.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    125
    Location:
    Newcastle
    I've joined the team, I'm not going to fold much but I will some of the time.
     
    BUCK NASTY says thanks.
  13. mmaakk

    mmaakk

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2008
    Messages:
    567 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    171
    Location:
    Brasil
    hello stanhemi! :toast:

    How was your 4850 ppd before 1.22 core?
     
  14. stanhemi

    stanhemi New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2008
    Messages:
    802 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    351
    Location:
    Montreal,-Canada.
    Hi mmaakk :)

    Before it was around 3200ppd and for some jobs 2500ppd (511pt WU)

    :toast:
     
    mmaakk says thanks.
  15. BUCK NASTY

    BUCK NASTY F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,634 (1.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,005
    Location:
    Tallahassee, FL. U.S.A.
    Every little bit helps out. Besides, every Folding Team needs a crazy pyro onboard:rockout:

    On another note, Johnspack posted earlier about the new work units. Check out my 8800GTS G92 cranking almost 7k PPD on the new WU's with v1.19. With a few more optimizations , my 8800GS/9600GSO's might be back to their previous production. Nice work Pande Group!!!

    [​IMG]
     
    mmaakk and stanhemi say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  16. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    buck could you tell me if you had any problems running 2 nvidia cards on a AMD chipset? If so what were they and how did you overcome them? I am going to be adding another card in my rig that is using a 790GX chipset
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  17. Lightofhonor

    Lightofhonor

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2008
    Messages:
    104 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    68
    Location:
    WA, USA
    Thats really good! Makes me sad that mine isn't doing as well :shadedshu have you played around with the FLUSH_INTERVAL at all?
     
    stanhemi says thanks.
  18. stanhemi

    stanhemi New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2008
    Messages:
    802 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    351
    Location:
    Montreal,-Canada.
    No i don't even know what FLUSH_INTERVAL is for ? :ohwell:
     
  19. BUCK NASTY

    BUCK NASTY F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,634 (1.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,005
    Location:
    Tallahassee, FL. U.S.A.
    I have no problems with the AMD chipset , I am currently running:

    4 x MSI K9A2 Platinum 790FX (4 x PCI-e)
    1 x Gigabyte GA-MA78G-DS3H 780G (2 x PCI-e)
    1 x ASUS P5Q Pro (2 x PCI-e)

    So, as you can see, my farm consists of all AMD chipsets except for the P5Q which is Intel. All my cards are Nvidia. I have not experienced any compatibility issues whatsoever. The only downside is I can never run Sli :cry:
     
    p_o_s_pc says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  20. mmaakk

    mmaakk

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2008
    Messages:
    567 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    171
    Location:
    Brasil
    Hey Lightofhonor! I did try the "FLUSH_INTERVAL". High values, low, in between... I didn't notice results. CPU usage, same crap, I mean hi values.

    Flushing is most of the time something important in life... but not really for ATI folding. :laugh:
     
  21. BUCK NASTY

    BUCK NASTY F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,634 (1.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,005
    Location:
    Tallahassee, FL. U.S.A.
    Is it like a colonic for your ATI card?:roll:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  22. mmaakk

    mmaakk

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2008
    Messages:
    567 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    171
    Location:
    Brasil
    Haha Buck...

    Lets wait for the January so promised new ATI core.

    ...kick butt coming soon :roll:
     
  23. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    thanks. The 780G is about the same as my 790GX so there shouldn't be a problem :toast:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  24. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Actually 780G is 16x + 4x
     
  25. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    thats why i said about the same. I knew there were some changes but didn't remember off hand what they were.The 790GX is 8x+8x
     
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page