1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

TPU's F@H Team

Discussion in 'Folding@Home' started by W2hCYK, Jun 10, 2006.

  1. stanhemi

    stanhemi New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2008
    Messages:
    802 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    351
    Location:
    Montreal,-Canada.
    I've got the same issue with my smp client for the last 2 week,i lost 9 job,I uninstall my smp client,reinstall everything and now it seem ok,but need to complete more WU to be totally sure.

    Are you overclocked at all ?
     
  2. dadi_oh

    dadi_oh New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    809 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    Location:
    Almonte, Canada
    yes i am overclocked but it is a stable oc. never did this before in the last few months of folding.
     
  3. stanhemi

    stanhemi New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2008
    Messages:
    802 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    351
    Location:
    Montreal,-Canada.
    My E7200 is stable @ 4008mhz 1,40 vcore (24hour of prime) but for folding only 3200mhz@ 1.30 vcore,I don't understand why, but i guess i have to live with it.

    Before i fold @ 4008mhz without any issue ,but for the last 2 week something change? and i'm using vista ultimate 32 for the last years.
     
    Last edited: Jan 24, 2009
  4. BUCK NASTY

    BUCK NASTY F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,657 (1.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,043
    Location:
    Tallahassee, FL. U.S.A.
    To everyone having problems with 6.20 SMP:

    Have you upgraded to 6.23 Beta R1? That's what i had to do with 5 rigs. click the link and look to the bottom of the page for "Drop-in binary for current Windows SMP console client (6.23)" . Just delete the old executable and paste this one in.

    Here is the link:http://folding.stanford.edu/English/DownloadWinOther
     
    El Fiendo and dadi_oh say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  5. stanhemi

    stanhemi New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2008
    Messages:
    802 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    351
    Location:
    Montreal,-Canada.
    I drop in the binary for smp client last week,after you told me to do it Buck,and now my smp client run perfect @3200mhz everything higher than 3200mhz result in "missing workfile".

    I try many overclocked and vcore setting and the best for me right now is @ 3200mhz for 850ppd.:) Thanks
     
    BUCK NASTY says thanks.
  6. Homeless

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2005
    Messages:
    1,026 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    109
    Location:
    USA
    Try bumping your MCH / VTT a little. I had the same problem the first time before I tried running F@H. I had 1.32 mch and it primed 24 hours but my computer would freeze randomly with folding. Bumped it so 1.36 and I have no problems now
     
  7. El Fiendo

    El Fiendo

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2008
    Messages:
    2,304 (0.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,164
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    My SMP just finished its first work unit (1920 woot!), my machine is now running round the clock like a pro. Can't tell why it had issue the first time around, maybe just needed a chance to burn in the fresh Arctic Silver. Anyways I'm running the 6.22 version of SMP and haven't had issue, I didn't go 6.23 because I wasn't sure if it supported Vista x64. I didn't see anything along those lines (and honestly I didn't really look too hard because 6.22 was working). I might try it later now seeing you guys have issues.

    Currently following one more electronics store (12th in 4 days) for a resistor, failing that I'll order online which I find a bit ridiculous, but oh well. Anyways when I get the dummy plug up I'll be pulling around 11000 PPD - 13000PPD. Currently sitting around 6k-7k.

    Soon after, and the final step will be my first foray into overclocking. Upon finding a stable voltage and putting some VF1000s on my 9800GTXs, I'll be sitting pretty and letting this sucker crank away.
     
    BUCK NASTY says thanks.
  8. dadi_oh

    dadi_oh New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    809 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    Location:
    Almonte, Canada

    I'll give it a shot. Running now and will see what happens for the next few days.

    Maybe my overclock which was stable for XP is not stable for Vista? May need to do some Prime95 runs to check if it is a system stability issue or a folding issue.

    Thanks Buck... You da man...
     
  9. El Fiendo

    El Fiendo

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2008
    Messages:
    2,304 (0.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,164
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Actually, now that you mention I haven't thanked buck for one iota of the help he's provided. Thanks man, keep up the crazy helping and the insane PPD. You helped me tons and made setting myself up a whole bunch easier.
     
  10. johnspack

    johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,391 (1.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    872
    Location:
    Nelson B.C. Canada
    Well, I partially ripped apart my main rig, then reassembled it. Now it runs like there was never a problem! 9800gtx back up and folding....
     
  11. BUCK NASTY

    BUCK NASTY F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,657 (1.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,043
    Location:
    Tallahassee, FL. U.S.A.
    Congrats, good to hear it back up and running. Mobo's can be weird sometimes. I just spent 120 bucks to replace a mobo that's perfectly good:shadedshu. Turns out the PSU SATA power connector wasn't providing enough power to HD and board could not recognize it. I just love troubleshooting:p
     
    johnspack says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  12. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,421 (5.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,719
    Location:
    Florida
    111 of 152324 keep it going guys!!
     
  13. johnspack

    johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,391 (1.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    872
    Location:
    Nelson B.C. Canada
    Darn, 111, now just wish I could click the thanks button on every active folder at once!
     
  14. BUCK NASTY

    BUCK NASTY F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,657 (1.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,043
    Location:
    Tallahassee, FL. U.S.A.
    Actually........

    [​IMG]
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  15. Homeless

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2005
    Messages:
    1,026 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    109
    Location:
    USA
    So what's the ETA on breaking a hundred?
     
  16. WhiteLotus

    WhiteLotus

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Messages:
    6,554 (2.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    857
    i'll give it a month
     
  17. oily_17

    oily_17

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    Messages:
    2,313 (0.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    670
    Location:
    Norn Iron
    1.5 weeks and we should be #104...so hopefully make the top 100 in a month.


    [​IMG]

    So fold on and help break the 100 mark.
     
  18. mmaakk

    mmaakk

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2008
    Messages:
    567 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    171
    Location:
    Brasil
    If each one of the active folders buy a GTX 295...

    ...I guess we will reach the 100 in a week! :roll:

    :toast:
     
  19. crazy pyro

    crazy pyro New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1,662 (0.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    125
    Location:
    Newcastle
    Persuade Fit to fold for you.
     
  20. stanhemi

    stanhemi New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2008
    Messages:
    802 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    351
    Location:
    Montreal,-Canada.


    $619.99 @ newegg.ca I don't think i can buy one next week.:D or maybe you can buy one for me.:toast:
     
  21. mmaakk

    mmaakk

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2008
    Messages:
    567 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    171
    Location:
    Brasil
    No problems stanhemi, I will write a letter for Santa. What's your address?

    :nutkick:

    JK...
     
  22. oily_17

    oily_17

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    Messages:
    2,313 (0.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    670
    Location:
    Norn Iron
    Well... have have been getting some errors while folding with my 260, which I think are due to my crappy PSU.
    So I put my Pc P&C 750 into the 260 and has been folding all day with no problems yet ::fingers crossed::

    So what PSU's are you all using to power your folding rigs ??

    I will have to upgrade a couple of mine and want to be future proof as well (in case I add more cards)
    Would like a solid/stable PSU >750W with at least 4 pci-e connectors, 6 would be even better for the future.

    Any suggestions post them up here.Would like to stay under the £160/$240 mark.
     
  23. BUCK NASTY

    BUCK NASTY F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,657 (1.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,043
    Location:
    Tallahassee, FL. U.S.A.
    For 24/7 folding, you can't beat Antec or Corsair for cost/efficiency. The Corsair 750TX has a 60amp rail/4x pci-e 6/8 pin and is tested beyond it's rated power. It's a great PSU and $120.00 on Newegg. Whatever you get, make sure it's 80+ certified.

    [​IMG]
     
    phanbuey and oily_17 say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  24. thoughtdisorder

    thoughtdisorder New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,818 (0.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    269
    Location:
    Just South of Mars
    Finally folding again! You guys have kicked some serious azz in the meantime! :toast:
     
  25. oily_17

    oily_17

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    Messages:
    2,313 (0.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    670
    Location:
    Norn Iron
    Thanks Buck, I have been looking at those Corsair PSU's.They are about the same price as the Pc Power&Cooling 750 silencer which I have already (another great PSU)

    I was thinking of getting one with 6xPci-e and then I could run 3 cards on the same board and maybe save some money that way.But going any higher spec and the price seems to shoot up quite a bit more :(.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page