1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

TPU's F@H Team

Discussion in 'Folding@Home' started by W2hCYK, Jun 10, 2006.

  1. WhiteLotus

    WhiteLotus

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Messages:
    6,530 (2.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    fit isn't already part of the team?!?!?

    crazy, i know he benches a great deal but i wonder if he could be persuaded to just leave his rigs on after he finishes. I'm also pretty sure he leaves his benching rig naked so not really any great issues with heat.

    I shall ask him to join the cause!
  2. BUCK NASTY

    BUCK NASTY F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,445 (1.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,517
    Location:
    Tallahassee, FL. U.S.A.
    If I remember correctly, Fit said he tried folding, but the Elec Bill was a little too steep for his liking.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. WhiteLotus

    WhiteLotus

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Messages:
    6,530 (2.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    Yea after i posted that i did recall him saying he tried it but didn't like it as he keeps changing his monster rig so he would have to keep reinstalling it etc. Oh btw there is a new person i have directed your way, check out the "the sleeper awakes" thread. Guy there will have an execellent rig for folding and he seems very keen. hope you dont mind
  4. BUCK NASTY

    BUCK NASTY F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,445 (1.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,517
    Location:
    Tallahassee, FL. U.S.A.
    No problem at all. Already replied to his PM. Send us everyone you got and the Folding Team will get them set up with the most efficient configuration based on their hardware specs. :toast:

    Hey, has anyone heard from BOW? He just disappeared off the face of the Earth.
    Last edited: Jan 26, 2009
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. stanhemi

    stanhemi New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2008
    Messages:
    802 (0.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    351
    Location:
    Montreal,-Canada.
    Yep if i remember correctly he "cooked" one of is 8800gt's . I never see him after that.
  6. Beertintedgoggles

    Beertintedgoggles

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Messages:
    720 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    194
    That's why you have to make sure things are cooled well. On a different topic, the second rig is up and running now with dual 8800GS at 705/1728/1800 (62C and 60C load temps on 511 pt. jobs) I lapped the ASUS Glaciator heatsinks and used mx-2. Thanks BUCK for the MB/CPU/RAM.

    Edit: With the cards so close the one fan is just mm's away from the other card.
    Last edited: Jan 26, 2009
  7. stanhemi

    stanhemi New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2008
    Messages:
    802 (0.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    351
    Location:
    Montreal,-Canada.
    My asus 8800gs at 730/1784/1600 on 511pt WU running at 59c

    511 pt = 2900 ppd 59c
    384 pt = 3820 ppd 57c
    480 pt = 4800 ppd 57c
    keep folding :toast:
  8. dadi_oh

    dadi_oh New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    809 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    Location:
    Almonte, Canada
    Well this is a little odd. I have a server that I keep in my basement for system backups. Fairly basic, cheapo ECS socket 775 mobo with an E1200 overclocked to 2.8GHz and 2GB DDR2. Also has a BFG 8800GT OC to 700MHz core and 1753 shaders. Originally I had Ubuntu Linux installed on it and running the Linux SMP client I would get anywhere between 1000 and 2000 ppd (going from memory) depending on the WU.

    I decided I wanted to create a video streaming setup to my PS3 from this machine so I switched it over to Vista as an OS and threw on a 1TB drive for videos. Now I use the GPU2 client on my 8800GT (driver 181.20). So I decided to install the latest SMP client 6.22 deino version to steal some CPU cycles for folding. I just fired it up and it has only run about 4% but it is getting only 452 ppd. Seems kinda low to me... In the Linux setup there was no GPU client available so I guess that is different. But the newer Nvidia drivers drastically reduce the CPU requirements during GPU folding so I figure that effect should be minimal.

    I'll see if the ppd gets any better over the next day or so. Currently chugging away on a 1920 pointer with 4 days to go :laugh:

    Any thoughts? Is the Linux client that much better than the Windows client? In the end I am better off in Vista since I have the GPU folding.
  9. BUCK NASTY

    BUCK NASTY F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,445 (1.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,517
    Location:
    Tallahassee, FL. U.S.A.
    Your welcome Blake. Glad you could put the hardware to use. :toast:
    Crunching for Team TPU
  10. BUCK NASTY

    BUCK NASTY F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,445 (1.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,517
    Location:
    Tallahassee, FL. U.S.A.
    Linux is always better for SMP than Windows. Are the GPU2 and SMP clients mixing on the same cores and fighting each other?
    Crunching for Team TPU
  11. Beertintedgoggles

    Beertintedgoggles

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Messages:
    720 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    194
    would you believe that I have my 8800GT 705/1836/2000 folding a 511 unit at 43/34.5 core/mem with an SI-97 and silverstone 92mm fan on it in the same room
  12. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,008 (4.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    :eek: that is why i stopped folding on mine so i can avoid that from happing to mine
    Crunching for Team TPU
  13. dadi_oh

    dadi_oh New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    809 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    Location:
    Almonte, Canada
    I haven't installed the get and set affinity tool on this machine so I'm not sure what the 2 clients are doing with the cores. This is only a dual core so what would you suggest? GPU folding on core 0 and CPU on both 0 and 1?
  14. BUCK NASTY

    BUCK NASTY F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,445 (1.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,517
    Location:
    Tallahassee, FL. U.S.A.
    Install Get & Set Affinity for dual core. Assign GPU2 to core 1 and SMP to core 0. What PPD were you getting from the 8800GT?
    Crunching for Team TPU
  15. WhiteLotus

    WhiteLotus

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Messages:
    6,530 (2.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    I am going to have to get both the other computers doing some folding, will only be a CPU folding so only a few hundred PPD but every little helps.

    How would you get the other computers PPD to show up on your FAHmon? Is it even possible?
  16. oily_17

    oily_17

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    Messages:
    2,313 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    670
    Location:
    Norn Iron
    The PC's would have to be connected on your network.

    Just right click in the left hand window (where it shows each client name etc) and then click to add a new client.
    You will then have to browse to the other PC's Folding@home folder that contains the Work folder.
    Note: you will have to share this folder on each PC you want to add.
  17. dadi_oh

    dadi_oh New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    809 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    Location:
    Almonte, Canada
    The GPU has been getting almost exclusively 511 pointers (yuck) and the 8800GT is at 3590 ppd right now. Every once in a while I get a 480 pointer and it gives me about 5000 ppd (going from memory). I think the 384? pointers give me about 5500 (again going from memory).

    I installed G&S Affinity and I see 4 process of deinomp and 4 processes of Fahcorea1 all at core 0+1. Fahcore11 (the GPU) is on core 1. Would I set all 8 of those CPU Folding processes to core 0 then? Wouldn't I want the SMP client to run on both cores?

    The E1200 is at 434 ppd right now (almost 11% complete).
  18. El Fiendo

    El Fiendo

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2008
    Messages:
    2,305 (1.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,164
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    I'm going to have to back out of the folding business for now. I'm getting some laughable roommate drama. Apparently my computer isn't allowed to be on at all times (my house, damnit). It's even better seeming he's jobless and playing WoW 15 hours a day on a Pentium D. But no, I'm the one boosting the electricity bill to an 'unpayable and unfair share' on his part. :shadedshu

    After I 'solve' the situation (ass meet street) I'll be back up and running.
  19. stanhemi

    stanhemi New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2008
    Messages:
    802 (0.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    351
    Location:
    Montreal,-Canada.
    [​IMG]

    Buy a energie meter like this (17$ can) :D
    El Fiendo says thanks.
  20. El Fiendo

    El Fiendo

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2008
    Messages:
    2,305 (1.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,164
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    That is so absolutely sinister and awesome. I can't believe I didn't think of that. Thank you muchly.
  21. WhiteLotus

    WhiteLotus

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Messages:
    6,530 (2.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    Yea we got one for our house, parents weren't too keen on me leaving computer on, and as long as i turn everything else off in my room, and just leave the tower running, all i have to pay is another £5 a month.
  22. El Fiendo

    El Fiendo

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2008
    Messages:
    2,305 (1.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,164
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Yea, I even unplug my G15 when I leave it sit so its not drawing excess power there. Monitor goes off completely too, not just standby. Thanks guys, this should help get things 'solved'. Maybe I should get 2 and show him his usage comparative, lol.
  23. stanhemi

    stanhemi New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2008
    Messages:
    802 (0.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    351
    Location:
    Montreal,-Canada.
    Don't worry El Fiendo,I don't have a roommate but i have a WIFE and it worst....She freak about the electricity bill and the hardware cost...only one thing to do :D

    [​IMG]
    El Fiendo says thanks.
  24. phanbuey

    phanbuey

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    5,201 (2.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    973
    Location:
    Miami
    I'm having issues with my GPU clients... one or the other will finish its WU, then download another and then give the UNSTABLE_MACHINE flag.

    Either GPU will do this, but the other one will keep going (sometimes its GPU1, sometimes GPU0 -the other GPU goes on). This happens at stock clocks, even thought the cards are watercooled and are stable at 810 core 1620 shaders. Anyone else had this happen? I think my client is borked.
  25. WhiteLotus

    WhiteLotus

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Messages:
    6,530 (2.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    They maybe be both trying to work on the same core, make sure they are both set to different CPU cores to work correctly.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page