1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

TPU's F@H Team

Discussion in 'Folding@Home' started by W2hCYK, Jun 10, 2006.

  1. stanhemi

    stanhemi New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2008
    Messages:
    802 (0.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    351
    Location:
    Montreal,-Canada.
    Are your pc overclocked at all ?
    are you using -smp flag on the f@h shortcut ?

    i'm asking this cause the smp client need a lot of vcore to run properly.

    My E7200@3600mhz 1,42vcore Folding
    same cpu E7200@4008mhz 1,36 vcore stable orthos 24 hours.
  2. mystikl New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2009
    Messages:
    100 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Yes it's overclocked but that didn't seem to stop it from doing 40% of the WU. And yes I'm using the -smp switch.
  3. stanhemi

    stanhemi New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2008
    Messages:
    802 (0.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    351
    Location:
    Montreal,-Canada.
    It happen to me,take 2 week to get it, i do 9 smp jobs, all of them crash at 100%.I received a error message "missing work file" can't send the result.

    Are you using this "Drop-in binary for current Windows SMP console client (6.23)"
    http://folding.stanford.edu/English/DownloadWinOther
    Last edited: Feb 2, 2009
  4. mystikl New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2009
    Messages:
    100 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    I tried using stock settings, still no go. I guess I have to reinstall it.
  5. stanhemi

    stanhemi New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2008
    Messages:
    802 (0.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    351
    Location:
    Montreal,-Canada.
    yep,and run your pc stock at least for 1 complete WU,and use the binary drop in for me it help .
    mystikl says thanks.
  6. mystikl New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2009
    Messages:
    100 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Alright, thanks for the help stanhemi!
  7. stanhemi

    stanhemi New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2008
    Messages:
    802 (0.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    351
    Location:
    Montreal,-Canada.
    Your welcome.give us some feedback :toast:
  8. mystikl New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2009
    Messages:
    100 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    I reinstalled but it still doesn't work, I guess it's just Vista crapping out.
  9. stanhemi

    stanhemi New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2008
    Messages:
    802 (0.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    351
    Location:
    Montreal,-Canada.
    hum.... i know some other guy running vista 64 and smp client with no problem.,maybe it slower but it work

    Don't install the f@h client in program file folder,just in case you don't know.:cool:
  10. Error 404

    Error 404 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,777 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    169
    Location:
    South Australia
    I've got the GPU problem sorted out.
    How well does the GPU client run on an overclocked graphics card?
    Also, would it be worth putting my 850 MHz PIII laptop to work? It'd be going 24/7, with some extra cooling to keep it working properly.
  11. Castiel

    Castiel

    Joined:
    May 5, 2008
    Messages:
    3,316 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    310
    Well I have a 800MHz Celeron(P3) running constantly and It has been going for about 2 days now and it has worked 34/200. Yours might be faster, but that is was I am getting for that.
  12. stanhemi

    stanhemi New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2008
    Messages:
    802 (0.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    351
    Location:
    Montreal,-Canada.
  13. Error 404

    Error 404 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,777 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    169
    Location:
    South Australia
    I'll have a go running it on my laptop; we're so close to breaking 100!
    I've even convinced my friend to join the team: he has a Q9300 and two 9800 GX2s in his PC!
  14. mystikl New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2009
    Messages:
    100 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    I've reinstalled it 5 times same thing, it just won't work anymore. I've had it with this smp bull$hit I'll just install the regular client and call it a day.
  15. Error 404

    Error 404 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,777 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    169
    Location:
    South Australia
    I havn't even bothered with SMP, I've got two console clients running, one on each core. Set to high priority, and have a different machine number and they do fine.
  16. El Fiendo

    El Fiendo

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2008
    Messages:
    2,305 (1.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,164
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Well, for no reason my SMP client went down faster than a flaming brick trying to disobey the law of gravity. No reason why. Dos window just auto closed. Couldn't for the life of me get it working. Uninstalled, nuked the folder out of existance and retried (after resetting Vista password and account options, and rebooting). Didn't work. Did the windows 6.23 drop in, redid it all up. Suddenly a flaming brick learned how to fly. I don't get it. Didn't need the patch at all up to this point. I have no clue what changed. Just... did. Bleh.
  17. phanbuey

    phanbuey

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    5,198 (2.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    973
    Location:
    Miami
    same here... it instacloses for me too... dont care tho, the cards make up for what the dualcore doesnt do.
  18. El Fiendo

    El Fiendo

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2008
    Messages:
    2,305 (1.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,164
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    I assume you set it up correctly in the past? If so do a complete purge and reinstall, do the drop in code and set it up from there. It worked for me. If you had the drop in code before, still try the reinstall, never know.

    Theoretical question. If I had a quad core, should I run the SMP client once seeming it is intended for quad cores already, or would I see more with 4 instances of SMP each set to a specific core. Assume Xeon quad core.
  19. phanbuey

    phanbuey

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    5,198 (2.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    973
    Location:
    Miami
    Yes i was folding SMP one day ago... All of the sudden it ceases to exist :wtf:

    Theoretically it shouldnt make a difference, but in reality i have no clue.
  20. WhiteLotus

    WhiteLotus

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Messages:
    6,510 (2.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    844
    In Vista, i think it is best to have 3 SMPs working on three of the corse and the you GPU running on the last one. At least that is what some here do.... i think.
    phanbuey says thanks.
  21. dadi_oh

    dadi_oh New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    809 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    Location:
    Almonte, Canada
    Anyone seen these 2144 point WU before? I don't usually pay too much attention to the CPU WU but this number caught my eye. 3210 ppd on my Q6600. I usually am 1000 ppd less than that.

    Attached Files:

  22. stanhemi

    stanhemi New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2008
    Messages:
    802 (0.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    351
    Location:
    Montreal,-Canada.
    If you run Vista-64 Mpich is presently the only option that you have. If you run Vista-32, you can choose to run the version that uses DeinoMPI. Do not attempt to run DeinoMPI on a 64-bit operating system.

    The Windows user account that will be running the SMP client must have a non-blank password for the client to work correctly

    Make a new directory in your Users folder, such as C:\Users\%username%\FAH (where %username% is your user name)

    :toast:
  23. mystikl New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2009
    Messages:
    100 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    That's exactly what I did, and it did work for 16 hours straight. Last night it reached 38% and I hit Ctrl + c and it shutdown just fine but this morning it just didn't wanna start anymore. I'm running the tray client for now until I find the time to try to make smp work again.
  24. WhiteLotus

    WhiteLotus

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Messages:
    6,510 (2.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    844
    That has happened to me as well, just refuses to start full stop. And it was at 95% complete, my first WU almost complete. :banghead:
  25. mystikl New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2009
    Messages:
    100 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    I guess that's why it's a beta version.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 4 (0 members and 4 guests)

Share This Page