1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

TPU's F@H Team

Discussion in 'Folding@Home' started by W2hCYK, Jun 10, 2006.

  1. Thermopylae_480

    Thermopylae_480 New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2005
    Messages:
    3,686 (1.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    393
    Location:
    Little Rock Arkansas, United States
    Ugh, now it is crashing after I start the console. It has been working for a few days fairly well except for the time checkpoint thing, now it decides it doesn't want to work anymore...
     
  2. thoughtdisorder

    thoughtdisorder New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,818 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    269
    Location:
    Just South of Mars
    Is it giving you any messages or just crashing? :confused:
     
  3. Thermopylae_480

    Thermopylae_480 New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2005
    Messages:
    3,686 (1.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    393
    Location:
    Little Rock Arkansas, United States
    BSOD dont' remember code.
     
  4. thoughtdisorder

    thoughtdisorder New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,818 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    269
    Location:
    Just South of Mars
    Hate to say it, but you may need to reinstall the client. If anyone else has a better solution, please speak up! I had this issue once and I had to reinstall the client. :(
     
  5. johnspack

    johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,366 (1.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    856
    Location:
    Nelson B.C. Canada
    Man, can't wait till I finish the month, win the 285, and restart folding for TPU with dual 280s and my 9800gtx.. that's upto 25k ppd according to what I can do currently. Sorry guys.
     
  6. thoughtdisorder

    thoughtdisorder New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,818 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    269
    Location:
    Just South of Mars
    No need to apologize, every single unit counts and helps! :D
     
  7. Lightofhonor

    Lightofhonor

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2008
    Messages:
    104 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    68
    Location:
    WA, USA
    Started folding my 4850 again.... Windows 7 takes a lot more GPU power to run though so my numbers aren't very high :( SMP client doesn't work at all for me right now either.
     
    BUCK NASTY says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. Thermopylae_480

    Thermopylae_480 New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2005
    Messages:
    3,686 (1.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    393
    Location:
    Little Rock Arkansas, United States
    Figured out my problem with the GPU console. Whenever power saver would send the shutoff code to my monitor it messed up the client in some way. Since I disabled automatic monitor shutoff it seems to work.
     
  9. Error 404

    Error 404

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,777 (0.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    169
    Location:
    South Australia
    My laptop is up to 28% of a 411 WU after 3 days (about 36 hours on/off) of folding, and I've got a 353 on my 9600 and two 225s on my CPU. :)
     
  10. Homeless

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2005
    Messages:
    1,025 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    109
    Location:
    USA
    Anyone know any specific windows vista x64 tweaks that would help f@h? I've had nothing but problems since I've switched and my biggest problem is that if windows crashes, (which it does often even with all updates installed) I have to start my WU over from the beginning again. Haven't had a successful WU in 2 days now :[
     
  11. Thermopylae_480

    Thermopylae_480 New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2005
    Messages:
    3,686 (1.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    393
    Location:
    Little Rock Arkansas, United States
    I think your best bet would to be to find out why Vista is crashing. Despite all the Vista hate on the Interwebz, crashing all the time isn't normal.
     
  12. thoughtdisorder

    thoughtdisorder New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,818 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    269
    Location:
    Just South of Mars
    Exactly. Doesn't sound like a F@H issue, sounds like a Vista issue. I'm not sure what exactly as I don't use Vista often enough, but get Vista stable and you should be good to go. :)
     
  13. dadi_oh

    dadi_oh New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    809 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    Location:
    Almonte, Canada

    You need to subtract 32 bits from your Vista ;)

    Seriously though, this is not normal. Is your system OC'ed at all? I have read some accounts where OC stability changed between XP and Vista for example.

    Also, before I started SMP folding with my Q6600 I was running "stable" at 3.6GHz. Well stable as far as I was concerned... a couple of hours of Prime95 small FFT. But I was discovering the machine reset overnight consistently. I had to back down my FSB by 20MHz and now it is running 24/7 stable folding with no crashes.

    Just something to think about.
     
  14. dadi_oh

    dadi_oh New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    809 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    Location:
    Almonte, Canada
    Wanted to get a couple of opinions from my esteemed fellow folders. I currently have my "server" machine setup in my basement which acts as a video streaming/system backup machine for the rest of the computers in the house. This started as a really budget build so I have this ultra cheap ECS GF7050VT-M motherboard with an E1200 OC to 2.8GHz (stock cooling).

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813135064

    I leave the 8800GT (700MHz core, 1850MHz shaders) in the machine folding 24/7 but the E1200 only pumps out about 400ppd and I don't want to interfere with any server functions so I stopped using the E1200.

    So my thought is this... If I were to replace the E1200 with a quad core then I would be able to get 2 or 3 of the cores busy with folding and 1 core should be plenty for the server tasks. I would want to OC a little but this mobo has very limited OC options. I can't even increase Vcore (thus the 2.8GHz on the E1200... I had it up to 3.2GHz on a ASUS P5K-SE P35 based board).

    I am on a budget (who isn't? besides maybe Fitseries :D so I am looking at a used low end quad like the Q6600 or Q8200. The Q6600 has 8MB cache but is a power hungry beast and not sure how well it OC at stock voltage. The Q8200 only has 4MB cache but it is 45nm and will run much cooler (I was thinking of using the stock heatsink). I "think" the Q8200 might OC to 3GHz on stock volts but looking for advice from anyone with experience.

    So there you have it. Buried somewhere in that rambling is a question I think :)

    Anyone got a Q8200 they want to sell me ;)
     
  15. dadi_oh

    dadi_oh New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    809 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    Location:
    Almonte, Canada
  16. stanhemi

    stanhemi New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2008
    Messages:
    802 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    351
    Location:
    Montreal,-Canada.
    @dadi_oh at my local pc shop they sell some combo: Q9450 + ecs gf7050vt-m I think the Q8200 probably work too.
     
    dadi_oh says thanks.
  17. Thermopylae_480

    Thermopylae_480 New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2005
    Messages:
    3,686 (1.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    393
    Location:
    Little Rock Arkansas, United States
    Just set the processor to fold at 50-75%, you should still have enough power to home file serve and stream video.
     
    dadi_oh says thanks.
  18. trt740

    trt740

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    10,935 (3.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,113
    fellas my gpu is folding but the display viewer is blank anyone know why? Is it my new video drivers for the 280 gtx? I would like to participate but I cannot get this to work right.
     
    Last edited: Feb 10, 2009
  19. stanhemi

    stanhemi New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2008
    Messages:
    802 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    351
    Location:
    Montreal,-Canada.
    Last edited: Feb 10, 2009
  20. trt740

    trt740

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    10,935 (3.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,113
    how will that help
     
  21. stanhemi

    stanhemi New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2008
    Messages:
    802 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    351
    Location:
    Montreal,-Canada.
    The sys tray client is slower and nobody use it.Believe me switch to console client.I'm running 2 smp client and 3 gpu client all on console client,really stable 24/7
     
  22. trt740

    trt740

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    10,935 (3.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,113
    Okay wiil try, but it hates my system. It seems thats not working right either, for now I'm giving up. My GPU is folding but the folding viewer won't work a lick.
     
    Last edited: Feb 10, 2009
  23. dadi_oh

    dadi_oh New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    809 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    Location:
    Almonte, Canada
    That would be good news. Tried searching to see if anyone listed this combo. Fry's sells a lot of these motherboards with E7200/E7300/E8400/Q6600 but their Q8200 package uses a different motherboard. Seems that if it really worked then Fry's would sell them like that (since they seem to have a whole cargo ship worth of the GF7050 mobos) :wtf:
     
  24. dadi_oh

    dadi_oh New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    809 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    Location:
    Almonte, Canada

    OK. Impulsive is my middle name apparently ;) I decided to take a different route. I figure the E1200 is doing fine so rather than spend money on a new quad core and worry about OC headaches with the crappy ECS board I just picked up an ASUS P5Q Pro motherboard that I will switch the E1200 over to. Now since I have 2 PCIe slots I am thinking I can place my 8800GT in one of the slots and then pickup another 8xxx series cards for dedicated folding. I will get a lot more PPU out of another GPU than any quad core could give me.

    So what is the best bang per buck for a folding card? I see a bunch of you with 8800GS or 9600GSO. Is that what you would recommend? I am in Canada so I can't get the awesome deals you guys get at the US Egg. We have a Canadian Egg but exchange rate kills us. I am happy to buy used if I can find a deal so send me any pointers you might have.

    Foldin' Foldin' Foldin'... keep them doggies Foldin' (Sung to the tune of "Rawhide")

    :toast:
     
  25. Homeless

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2005
    Messages:
    1,025 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    109
    Location:
    USA
    It's all the old x86 apps I run that cause vista to crash most of the time
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 3 (0 members and 3 guests)

Share This Page