1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

TPU's F@H Team

Discussion in 'Folding@Home' started by W2hCYK, Jun 10, 2006.

  1. Alcpone

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    2,339 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    96
    Location:
    Tyne & Wear, UK
    How long does it take for a name of a member to be added to the team? Does F@H do that or what? I have the right team no. in and my name???
     
    calvary1980 says thanks.
  2. Polaris573

    Polaris573 Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2005
    Messages:
    4,281 (1.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    718
    Location:
    Little Rock, USA
    When you complete your first work unit F@H adds your name to the list.
     
    calvary1980 says thanks.
  3. Alcpone

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    2,339 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    96
    Location:
    Tyne & Wear, UK
    must just take a while to get into the system, I finished my 1st unit with tpu team this morning
     
    calvary1980 says thanks.
  4. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,552 (2.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    828
    Location:
    TX, USA
    which ver, is better 5.03 or 5.04 or it doesnt matter??
     
    calvary1980 says thanks.
  5. Polaris573

    Polaris573 Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2005
    Messages:
    4,281 (1.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    718
    Location:
    Little Rock, USA
    Depends on what you mean by "better". 5.03 is the graphical client so some people find it easier to use, plus you can watch a visual representation of the work via the screen saver. 5.04 is the text-only console which takes fewer system resources and completes WU somwhat faster.
     
    calvary1980 says thanks.
  6. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,552 (2.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    828
    Location:
    TX, USA
    oh, so is it just using CPU? Ive never done this before :D
     
    calvary1980 says thanks.
  7. Alcpone

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    2,339 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    96
    Location:
    Tyne & Wear, UK
    Until yesterday the X1950's worked with the graphical beta version, but no more until the driver is sorted for it to work! I am just using the console version now until it is fixed, I found the graphical version much faster for completing units ;)
     
    calvary1980 says thanks.
  8. Polaris573

    Polaris573 Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2005
    Messages:
    4,281 (1.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    718
    Location:
    Little Rock, USA
    Yes 5.03 and 5.04 only use the CPU. The GPU client (5.91 beta) runs on video cards.
     
    calvary1980 says thanks.
  9. Steevo

    Steevo

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    8,432 (2.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,253
    First for me. If I count all the points I have submitted, I have a bit over 1.25 million.




    I have a few machines down though, mine at home are packed away as we remodel.
     
    calvary1980 says thanks.
    10 Million points folded for TPU
  10. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,552 (2.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    828
    Location:
    TX, USA
    is this how long its going to take :eek:
     

    Attached Files:

    • zzz.jpg
      zzz.jpg
      File size:
      4.7 KB
      Views:
      154
    calvary1980 says thanks.
  11. GIGGLA

    GIGGLA New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2004
    Messages:
    156 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14
    There is more info about the following at F@H forum- If you have a x1900xt/xtx, x1950, x1800, x1600, or "maybe" x1650 you can use the gpu version and fold much faster. But yeah the average cpu and average work units take like ~24 hours~.

    Also I think that if you are a gamer any open gl game will fail to start if you have the graphical(screensaver type) version of F@H running at the same time as an OpenGl game.

    Here is another example of how using a single core cpu with hyper-threading running two clients of F@H can slow down the progress of stanford university's work on the F@H program- This is from Vijay Pande, the head guy.
    In reply to:

    Thus, to get to GEN200, the non-HT machines would take (34 hours/WU) x (200 WUs) / (24hours/day) = 283 days whereas the HT machines would take (52 hours/WU) x (200 WUs) / (24hours/day) = 434 days: a difference of 150 days ~ 5 months.

    Of course, the HT machines would have 2x as many simulations. However, if the minimum number of generations is high (as it is in many of our newer, more complex simulations), having 2x as many useless simulations is still useless.

    I am re-starting one of the clients on my hyperthreaded PC with the -oneunit flag so it sends in the results and doesn't download another one. Then after the results are sent I will delete my 2nd console-text-only version folder and continue folding from my original folder.
     
    Last edited: Mar 8, 2007
    calvary1980 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  12. DRDNA

    DRDNA

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2006
    Messages:
    4,799 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    571
    Location:
    New York
    Damn , thats nice !!! I onl;y have>>74751
     
    calvary1980 says thanks.
  13. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,552 (2.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    828
    Location:
    TX, USA
    :( it does'nt work on the 1X50"s
     

    Attached Files:

    • zzz.jpg
      zzz.jpg
      File size:
      14 KB
      Views:
      168
    calvary1980 says thanks.
  14. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,128 (6.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,188
    Yeah, I found that out when I tried it on my x1650Pro. I wonder if it will support my x1300XT...
     
    calvary1980 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  15. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,552 (2.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    828
    Location:
    TX, USA
    Last edited: Mar 8, 2007
    calvary1980 says thanks.
  16. Alcpone

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    2,339 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    96
    Location:
    Tyne & Wear, UK
    Ahhhhhhhh.... it all becomes clear, I changed from catalyst 7.2 to warcats 7.2 just before I got the error lol, thanks for finding that out dom ;)
     
    calvary1980 says thanks.
  17. infrared New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Messages:
    3,307 (0.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    183
    Location:
    Southampton, UK
    Well, our team is now in the top 1000 :D
     
    calvary1980 says thanks.
  18. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    Just signed up. Gonna be running it 24/7 on the G5.

    EDIT: Gonna be running both the gpu version and normal version on my main rig during light usage and/or sleeping

    EDIT2: Nix that, gpu version doesn't like my machine. lol. Just gonna run std version in background as often as possible on the AMD, along with running the G5 as close to 24/7 as possible.
     
    Last edited: Mar 8, 2007
    calvary1980 says thanks.
  19. rhythmeister New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Messages:
    987 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    32
    Location:
    Belfast...N. Ireland mate!
    I'm a F@H noob but I've got the beast running it at 95% now and aim to do my bit :D
     
    calvary1980 says thanks.
  20. Alcpone

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    2,339 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    96
    Location:
    Tyne & Wear, UK
    Im back online with the gpu beta after returning to official ati driver, which to be honest is about as good as any others in games!

    Ive got it running flat out, 25 million iterations per work unit lol, now thats alot of data!

    Its good to see the amount of people that would give there precious idle time and wear and tear of their systems on here, its good to know there are people that care about stuff like this :)
     
    calvary1980 says thanks.
  21. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    Ok, burnin away on both cores on the PC@ 2.7Ghz, and the single G5 core @ 1.6GHz.
     
    calvary1980 says thanks.
  22. Alcpone

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    2,339 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    96
    Location:
    Tyne & Wear, UK
    Burn baby burn ;)

    After youve finished burning you can join my competition to help us ATi boys out :)
     
    calvary1980 says thanks.
  23. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    Ooooops! I completely forgot about that. lol. I'll hop over tomorrow night.
     
    calvary1980 says thanks.
  24. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    Just out of curiosity, is f@h a good heat and/or stress test for your cpu?
     
    calvary1980 says thanks.
  25. ghost101

    ghost101 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2006
    Messages:
    1,332 (0.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    165
    Location:
    London
    Yes it is very good. In fact the standard orthos testing program uses gromac cores to test stability.
     
    calvary1980 says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page