1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

TPU's F@H Team

Discussion in 'Folding@Home' started by W2hCYK, Jun 10, 2006.

  1. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (6.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    cpu sucks for folding compared to gpu.
     
  2. dark2099

    dark2099

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    Messages:
    4,400 (1.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    755
    Location:
    where everyone wants to be
    Check the GPU-Z shots, cards are running 685/1500/1053 up from 626/1350/1053 and the fan at 100% since my room gets hot. I've tried 708/1525/1053 with the fan at 85%, but sometime while I am sleeping my PC restarts so I am guessing they get to hot or bad card. They've been folding fine for awhile now.
     
  3. BUCK NASTY

    BUCK NASTY F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,450 (1.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,541
    Location:
    Tallahassee, FL. U.S.A.
    But, if the rig is already running, scavenging another 3-4k PPD is a great prospect. I got Athlon x2's producing 500PPD with SMP:rolleyes:


    Meh, sorry that I'm not up to speed on GTX2xx clocks. I sure can whip me up sum 8 & 9 series o/c's though...:laugh:
     
  4. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (6.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    my cpu only shows 15XX PPD and gpu only at 55XX PPD. im running SMP so whats the deal here?
     
  5. Thermopylae_480

    Thermopylae_480 New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2005
    Messages:
    3,686 (1.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    393
    Location:
    Little Rock Arkansas, United States
    Mkay, try and tell me exactly how you set yours up if you don't mind. I have to be doing something wrong here.
     
  6. BUCK NASTY

    BUCK NASTY F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,450 (1.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,541
    Location:
    Tallahassee, FL. U.S.A.
    Do you have the -SMP flag added to the target in the shortcut properties? There must be a single space between the original target and the argument you are adding.

    Are you using software(Get & Set Affinity) to set the affinity or just the task manager?
     
  7. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (6.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    should i do 4 or 8? HT is on
     
  8. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (6.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    now im getting "error running mpiexec..."

    what now?
     
  9. Squirrely

    Squirrely

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Messages:
    367 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    40
    I usually fold for about 5-6 hours a day while I am away from my pc during the day. But, I was thinking about upgrading my graphics card so I can get a higher ppd. How many more ppd would I get with a gtx260 216 over my current 8800gt? I can probably sell my current card for $80-100, then pick up a 55nm evga gtx260 for around 200 bucks, so it will only cost me around $120 for the 260. Not a bad tradeoff if the ppd is much higher.

    Will keep folding, as TPU is getting close to 100+. (According to Stanford's site) :D

    Thanks. :toast:
     
  10. BUCK NASTY

    BUCK NASTY F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,450 (1.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,541
    Location:
    Tallahassee, FL. U.S.A.
    Do you have a password on this rig? You will need one to run SMP. Add the password first before anything else if you do not already have one. Delete the original SMP install. Re-install MPICH and change the argument before you run the client for the first time. Open SMP folder and run the .bat file. Enter your password. You should see "if you see this twice, MPI is working". Now run the shortcut and configure the client. It will download the A0 or A1 cores and you are done.

    You could almost double your PPD with a 260. Below is a screenshot from Fahmon with 3x260's running(Thanks Dark:D). You can see that the cards are very productive. The 8475 ppd is from a 353pt WU(my favorite) and is about 75% more than you 8800GT would do. My heavily o/c'd 9800GTX+ manages to squeeze 6036 PPD for the 384pt WU, but tops off @ 7092 ppd for the 353pt WU. I say go for 260. When your not folding you could enjoy some awesome gaming.:toast:

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Feb 20, 2009
  11. Squirrely

    Squirrely

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Messages:
    367 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    40
    Hmm, 75% more isn't too bad! Thanks.
     
  12. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    What and how do I need to get both my 4830's running? I got them both running crossfire, I just need to get them folding :pimp:
     
  13. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (6.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    my 295 is only running 56XX ppd for some reason. why?
     
  14. BUCK NASTY

    BUCK NASTY F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,450 (1.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,541
    Location:
    Tallahassee, FL. U.S.A.
    You have to set up another client for GPU-1. The first client defaulted to GPU-0. Before we start, did you get SMP running properly?
     
  15. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (6.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    smp is running but still at 0%.

    both cores on the 295 are hot so i thought they were both running?
     
  16. BUCK NASTY

    BUCK NASTY F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,450 (1.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,541
    Location:
    Tallahassee, FL. U.S.A.
    Have you separated the CPU and GPU onto different cores of the CPU?
     
  17. mmaakk

    mmaakk

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2008
    Messages:
    567 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    171
    Location:
    Brasil
    You can get much better values with a GTX 260 core 216:

    My scores - STABLE values for months:

    353pt = 8.7K ppd
    384pt = 7.8K ppd
    511pt = 6.1K ppd

    Check pic for OC

    [​IMG]
     
    BUCK NASTY says thanks.
  18. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (6.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    WTF is this?

    [​IMG]
     
  19. BUCK NASTY

    BUCK NASTY F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,450 (1.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,541
    Location:
    Tallahassee, FL. U.S.A.
  20. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (6.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    gah.....

    does TPU have a WCG/BIONC acct setup?

    if not i'll make one. much easier to setup.
     
  21. BUCK NASTY

    BUCK NASTY F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,450 (1.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,541
    Location:
    Tallahassee, FL. U.S.A.
    Got good news. I am back up to full production with all cards running. Should be producing about 82-85K PPD. Mmaakk should have his rigs back up as well. We have some good momentum with several new guy's joining the team(thebluebumblebee, kid41212003, etc..) and 2-3 coming back from folding for Stephanie at the end of the month. Everyone, thanks for your hard work and keep on folding:toast:
     
    driver66, Polaris573 and mmaakk say thanks.
  22. Thermopylae_480

    Thermopylae_480 New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2005
    Messages:
    3,686 (1.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    393
    Location:
    Little Rock Arkansas, United States
    What software would you recommend?
     
  23. kid41212003

    kid41212003

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,584 (1.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    533
    Location:
    California
    It's seem like my SMP client only run on 1 thread (half a core)... How do I fix this?
     
  24. oily_17

    oily_17

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    Messages:
    2,313 (0.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    670
    Location:
    Norn Iron
    Yes, but I am running the SMP client on one core and my two GPU clients on the other core.
     
  25. WhiteLotus

    WhiteLotus

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Messages:
    6,551 (2.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    857
    This is the one that he is talking about. However i just go to task manager, click on the process and set affinity from there.

    Also i set mine up to mirror your own setup and so it completes a step about every half hour.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page