1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

TPU's F@H Team

Discussion in 'Folding@Home' started by W2hCYK, Jun 10, 2006.

  1. Silverel

    Silverel New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Messages:
    1,769 (0.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    233
    Location:
    Detroit, MI
    Ah! lol

    The benefits are for the general populace as a whole. If you like rankings and competition, then there's benefits for you too.

    Check out the very first post in this thread, that'll tell you in detail why we F@H.
  2. BUCK NASTY

    BUCK NASTY F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,443 (1.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,504
    Location:
    Tallahassee, FL. U.S.A.
    OMG...Zoidberg FTW

    Fit, who else are you folding for? It does not look like the points are showing up under TPU...:(
    Last edited: Feb 26, 2009
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. PVTCaboose1337

    PVTCaboose1337 Graphical Hacker

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Messages:
    9,513 (3.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,142
    Location:
    San Antonio, Texas
    Buck, one of my machines is having trouble connecting to the server, it has done 3 WU so far, but I don't get them cause it is not able to report, any ideas. It is connection sharing with another PC BTW.
  4. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (6.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,106
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    for some reason i have TONS of WU but not many points. only been folding for 30 hours now since last tuesday.
  5. BUCK NASTY

    BUCK NASTY F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,443 (1.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,504
    Location:
    Tallahassee, FL. U.S.A.
    Check you clients for your user name and team #50711. Why are you sandbagging with only 30 hrs??:laugh:
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (6.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,106
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    all looks good man.
  7. mc-dexter

    mc-dexter New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,507 (0.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    95
    Location:
    England
    Ok so the concept is to combine our pc's to be one super computer, and all these other things... but what are the risks/security risks etc, to me and my infomation stored on my system?
  8. El Fiendo

    El Fiendo

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2008
    Messages:
    2,305 (1.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,164
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    None really. It basically just processes information then sends that specific work unit off an receives another. It could be a data miner but really all of the people folding are generally tech enthusiasts already so they likely would have found something. Though I've often wondered that when I'm folding and I open up some porn, do the guys at Stanford all of a sudden get like a 3 second clip of porn because the processor didn't quite keep the data seperate? (I know it doesn't work like that but it still makes me giggle thinking that its possible.)
  9. lilkiduno New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2008
    Messages:
    477 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    Kansas City, Ks
    i finally joined, folding with my main rig see system specs
  10. BUCK NASTY

    BUCK NASTY F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,443 (1.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,504
    Location:
    Tallahassee, FL. U.S.A.
    Welcome aboard! Let us know if you have any questions.:toast:
    Crunching for Team TPU
  11. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,698 (6.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,860
    Why are you limitting the CPU to 60% anyway?
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  12. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (6.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,106
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    my main rig need to be able to do other things while im using it. if not its at a standstill.
  13. Kursah

    Kursah

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    7,619 (2.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,578
    Location:
    Missoula, MT, USA
    I have no issues running an SMP client at full throttle, alongside a GPU2 client for the GTX at full throttle, that's with an older quad and an older GTX series card. I can multitask and do whatever I want beyond heavy gaming. But there are some games I can run while folding, which is definately very cool.

    Though using Realtemp 3.00, FAH SMP (w/o SMP Affinity Mod), is only using around 84% of my total processor load. Not sure how accurate that is as everything else shows 100% load, but multiatasking is never affected like I said unless using a heavy application/game. So I guess it depends on what you're doing, you could choose to just use 2-3 cores and leave one free for multitasking, have 300% (3 of 4) instead of 240% (60x4). I'm sure there's a way to set affinity to do that, not sure how it would affect the client overall though.

    :toast:
  14. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,698 (6.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,860
    The client being set to idle should allow you to do anything you want on it, as everything else should have a higher priority. Are you haveing slowdown issues when running the client?

    I noticed you are only working on 2 of your cores in your thread, what is up with that? Is it normally like that?

    And is that "GPUTool" on your desktop the ATITool successor? You lucky SOB. :)
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  15. MAGMADIVER

    MAGMADIVER New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Messages:
    254 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    45
    Location:
    FT. LEWIS
    Now does Stanford actually have programmers or is F@H just a student written program with the faculties' blessing? Because it seem to me that they bit off more than they could chew when it comes to GPU support....
  16. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (6.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,106
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    i have 2 machines.

    my main rig is an e8200 and gtx260.

    the e8200 folds SLOW SLOW SLOW compared to the gtx260

    AND YOU DIDNT SEE THAT "GPU TOOL". DISREGARD THAT!

    yes... my machine is a bit slower than i would like it to be.
  17. BUCK NASTY

    BUCK NASTY F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,443 (1.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,504
    Location:
    Tallahassee, FL. U.S.A.
    Ok, F@H is underwritten by Stanford, but run by Vijay Pande and the Pande Group. The GPU client is always evolving(GPU & GPU2)and has to harness the power of a wide variety of GPU's spread across several types of GPU architecture. They are constantly revising the cores and the .dll's to stabilize the clients and improve the accuracy of the results that we return to Stanford. So, that being said, it's difficult to encompass all GPU's with a single client, especially the newer dual GPU cards. Most of the time it's a driver issue that causes instability. I assure you that F@H & AMD's Mike Houston(who writes the ATI cores) are working hard to enable the 4870 X2's to fold the 2nd core. Check out the F@H forum for the latest updates.

    http://foldingforum.org/index.php?sid=c70fd6350d2d9e7951551fdb56395284
    Crunching for Team TPU
  18. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,698 (6.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,860
    The SMP clients go a lot slower, especially the dual-cores, but each WU is worth more points. Saddly, my X3370(Q9650)@4.0GHz only gets about the same PPD as one of my 9600GSO's. If you think your e8200 is moving slow, you should see the Pentium D 805's I have running it...
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  19. PVTCaboose1337

    PVTCaboose1337 Graphical Hacker

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Messages:
    9,513 (3.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,142
    Location:
    San Antonio, Texas
    That is still like having a free 9600gso though! Too bad all my folding rigs are single cores. :(
  20. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (6.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,106
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    my gt200 cards fold like mad. most WU's take about 15 - 30mins it seams.
  21. PVTCaboose1337

    PVTCaboose1337 Graphical Hacker

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Messages:
    9,513 (3.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,142
    Location:
    San Antonio, Texas
    Are NVIDIA cards generally faster than the ATI ones at folding?
  22. thebluebumblebee

    thebluebumblebee

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,875 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,416
    Go ahead, rub it in, :nutkick: as long as you fold for techpowerup! :D:D:D I'm in the 3-6 HOUR range.
  23. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (6.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,106
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
  24. thebluebumblebee

    thebluebumblebee

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,875 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,416
  25. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (6.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,106
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    whats it mean?

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page