1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

TPU's F@H Team

Discussion in 'Folding@Home' started by W2hCYK, Jun 10, 2006.

  1. Steevo

    Steevo

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    8,107 (2.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,123
    I believe it was the success of the program ATITools and other software made by the founder of the forum that pushed the number, and now seems to be pushing the envelope.


    I was the number one producer as well as the the number one spot. I hit a bit over 900K and had some issues with how the forum was being run, and moderated. So I gave them a choice, change or I will leave.


    I am now here. This forum seems to be changing, for the better or worse, I do not know. But it seems to be falling away from what it started as, and away from what it's goals were.
    10 Million points folded for TPU
  2. Tau

    Tau New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2007
    Messages:
    821 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    92
    Im sorry to hear that :(

    may i ask what your old forum was?
  3. Alcpone

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    2,339 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    96
    Location:
    Tyne & Wear, UK
    Just thought I would upload a pic of the stats ;)

    We seem to be moving closer to the 900 most productive team mark :) Just wish I hadnt been folding anonymously for the last couple of months lol

    Gonna do some photoshop wizzardry, its abit small the text

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Mar 9, 2007
  4. Steevo

    Steevo

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    8,107 (2.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,123
    OSNN.


    They had mods that thought they were gods. A few of us opened threads and had a bit of fun, and they were closed, when a mod opened a drunken posting thread, it was kept open.



    I gave them a choice, reopen our thread, and let us have our fun, or I would leave.


    I am here. They have asked me to come back, and unfortunately, my memory is long.


    I believe that one of my other homes lost it members as the other mods there (I was one too) thought it was their god given right to close any thread they didn't liek, not understanding it was the fire and fuel of the forum. It died. I co-admin a few other sites, and we have had small success due to the lack of disk space, and want on others parts.
    10 Million points folded for TPU
  5. infrared New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Messages:
    3,307 (0.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    183
    Location:
    Southampton, UK
    Thanks for that alcpone :)
  6. KennyT772

    KennyT772 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2005
    Messages:
    3,585 (1.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    103
    this forum is slowly sliding downhill, but that is expected as more and more users join, and those who are highly knowledgable grow tried of repeditive answers when the exact same thread has been started 4 times before.


    back on topic, i wish i could get my school network folding under my name...400 or so p4 2ghz and 16 quad xeon servers...
  7. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,777
    Wooot! I finally made the list. lol
  8. rhythmeister New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Messages:
    987 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    32
    Location:
    Belfast...N. Ireland mate!
    Why can't I get a work packet today? I did my 1500 frames yesterday but left the prog running again last nite only to find it this morning STILL not working like a dog!
  9. Alcpone

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    2,339 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    96
    Location:
    Tyne & Wear, UK
    No worries ;) we are still going up the leader board as I speak :)
  10. Alcpone

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    2,339 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    96
    Location:
    Tyne & Wear, UK
    Updated stats ;)

    Anyone else want to join?

    Attached Files:

  11. Alcpone

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    2,339 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    96
    Location:
    Tyne & Wear, UK
    Updated stats ;)

    Got 31 members now, you can see we are moving up the leader board slowly but surely, please help make us a better team :)

    Attached Files:

  12. infrared New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Messages:
    3,307 (0.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    183
    Location:
    Southampton, UK
    I've moved the thread into the general software section again. :)
  13. Polaris573

    Polaris573 Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2005
    Messages:
    4,279 (1.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    709
    Location:
    Little Rock, USA
    Excellent. Can you update the stats on the first page? I don't have permission on this forum and it would be nice to see our progress on the first page of the thread again.
  14. rhythmeister New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Messages:
    987 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    32
    Location:
    Belfast...N. Ireland mate!
    So, can any1 tell me why I can't get any work from the server? I can't connect to it even tho you can see me on the team list with stats! Is there not enough work to go around?
  15. Alcpone

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    2,339 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    96
    Location:
    Tyne & Wear, UK
    Which version are you using?
  16. Alcpone

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    2,339 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    96
    Location:
    Tyne & Wear, UK
    Daily updated stats :D

    Attached Files:

  17. rhythmeister New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Messages:
    987 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    32
    Location:
    Belfast...N. Ireland mate!
    I was using the 5.03 GUI version successfully and completed one task. I didn't get any more data from the server and tried freeing up the prog in the firewall but no change. I have also uninstalled that version and am now using the 5.04 console version which reports the same error-attempt to get work failed and no other work to do :confused: I've changed that in Winblows firewall so it's not blocked but no joy.

    Do I need to free up a certain port on my router? I can't see info on that in the FAQ on the Stanford F@H site :twitch:
  18. Alcpone

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    2,339 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    96
    Location:
    Tyne & Wear, UK
    I would download the newest version, I think the X1650 supports GUI, I use the 5.91 beta, you just run the program dont need to install it, I dont think your router will be stopping it as mine doesnt give me any grief! ;)
  19. infrared New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Messages:
    3,307 (0.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    183
    Location:
    Southampton, UK
    There ya go, stats on the first page have been updated. :)

    Has anyone got onto the lambda 5way melt protein yet? It seems to heat the cpu up a lot more than the old supervillin one.
    Last edited: Mar 12, 2007
  20. rhythmeister New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Messages:
    987 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    32
    Location:
    Belfast...N. Ireland mate!
    Err, I'm not sure why yr mentioning my gfx card as I was using the 5.03 GUI version which works the cpu! :confused:
    I've tried freeing up port 8080 in router and also editing values in the cfg file (asknet=yes/ no, active=yes/ no) but I still get no work as I can't connect to the server :wtf:

    Any other ideas besides kicking my router up and down the street? :twitch:
  21. Steevo

    Steevo

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    8,107 (2.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,123
    Wait until the server you are assigned to gets more work. It happens occasionally that the servers run out of WU's for a day or so. Only be worried if you cannot SEND a WU.
    10 Million points folded for TPU
  22. rhythmeister New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Messages:
    987 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    32
    Location:
    Belfast...N. Ireland mate!
    Cheers ears, I've just been trying to connect all day and yesterday as well and thought it was an issue my end!
  23. Alcpone

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    2,339 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    96
    Location:
    Tyne & Wear, UK
    Oh well, looks like youve got your answer then :) Just thought you would get more done if you got the gfx card into the equation ;)
  24. rhythmeister New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Messages:
    987 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    32
    Location:
    Belfast...N. Ireland mate!
    Can I run one copy of F@H on the GPU as well?
  25. Alcpone

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    2,339 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    96
    Location:
    Tyne & Wear, UK
    You could try the other beta that I aint tried yet it is console and gpu, im in the middle of a work unit so dont want to try it until im finished!

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)

Share This Page