1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

TPU's F@H Team

Discussion in 'Folding@Home' started by W2hCYK, Jun 10, 2006.

  1. PVTCaboose1337

    PVTCaboose1337 Graphical Hacker

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Messages:
    9,513 (3.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,142
    Location:
    San Antonio, Texas
    How do I get it to run in a background task? I have the console now...
    calvary1980 says thanks.
  2. W2hCYK New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2005
    Messages:
    912 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    96
    when you first start, you can set options, when you get to the point of asking for "Advanced Options" type in yes

    then it will ask to run as a system task at boot up.

    if that doesnt work(doesnt on my laptop) then google for "Setting programs for startup" in google.
    calvary1980 says thanks.
  3. PVTCaboose1337

    PVTCaboose1337 Graphical Hacker

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Messages:
    9,513 (3.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,142
    Location:
    San Antonio, Texas
    No, not that, but... I want it to be by my clock, you know, in the icon tray down on the start bar...
    calvary1980 says thanks.
  4. W2hCYK New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2005
    Messages:
    912 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    96
    idk how to do that. I dont think you can do it with console. i think its just with visual..
    calvary1980 says thanks.
  5. FLY3R New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2006
    Messages:
    398 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    41
    Yes only with visual.

    Its great to see every one jumping on this, its for a great casue, KEEP UP the folding, nice work every one!!
    calvary1980 says thanks.
  6. Polaris573

    Polaris573 Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2005
    Messages:
    4,279 (1.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    709
    Location:
    Little Rock, USA
    I tried the linux console. Every time I started the program it downloaded a new WU. I can't figure out what I'm doing wrong, I'll have to play with it some more.
    calvary1980 says thanks.
  7. Alec§taar New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
    Messages:
    4,677 (1.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    94
    Location:
    Someone who's going to find NewTekie1 and teach hi
    Fellas: Semi-Important Question (others may like answer to it also)

    See subject line: I asked this last page, but got no reply (but, I wrote it in on an "edit" so, it could easily have been overlooked during the page-to-page transition with others posting)...

    Guys, is there an OPTIMIZED CLIENT for this project, as there is for SETI@Home?

    Meaning, others that took its BASE sourcecode, & ran it thru better optimizing compilers, & for certain CPU's &/or instruction sets, via better compilers (especially for floating point/fpops oriented data, which this like SETI, probably is as well mostly, rather than integer oriented data types) &/or tweaks to the code line inlined asm code use, or other "tricks" (e.g. instead of div commands, iirc, shr2 does it faster for example).

    AND, since many of you are performance fiends here?

    Well, it may be something for us ALL to know - this type of work done by 3rd parties to the stock codebase (via compilers AND hand-tuning) made HUGE diff.'s in seti processing times for me, for example, so... I am interested in this point.

    :)

    * This 'dovetails' into the points about the character/console/tty mode client being FASTER than the pure graphical gui client options... it's true in SETI@Home as well, bigtime (less overheads).

    TIA for the info. on this guys!

    APK
    calvary1980 says thanks.
  8. PVTCaboose1337

    PVTCaboose1337 Graphical Hacker

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Messages:
    9,513 (3.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,142
    Location:
    San Antonio, Texas
    WOW! The console is MUCH faster than the graphical...
    calvary1980 says thanks.
  9. Alec§taar New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
    Messages:
    4,677 (1.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    94
    Location:
    Someone who's going to find NewTekie1 and teach hi
    Want to try an experiment?

    If you have a DualCore CPU (especially this type, vs. H/T stuff), try to set the calculating process' to HIGH (or possibly REALTIME, because this doesn't lockup dualcore/SMP, or H-T rigs as it would a single CPU rig) first, & see if it "ups" its processing speed (improves it).

    Also - If this project does more than 1 unit @ a time, & I believe it can via the -local switch, & running diff. instances of it out of diff. folders on disk?

    Setting processor affinities MAY help as well... because you can additionally set it to a certain CPU core, AND up its timeslice/priority allotment as well!

    APK

    P.S.=> I do that very set of things on SETI@Home, which usually runs while I am away from home (work mostly) or sleeping etc.!

    That is with EVERYTHING else possible, 'cranked off', including the explorer.exe shell itself, all services possible (etc. just enough to keep me online) as well, & other backgrounded apps... that's so the calculating/workhorse portion gets as much CPU as possible!

    Theory sometimes, really works, depending on HOW the app itself is coded (not much timeslicing/multitasking calls which sometimes is considered bad practice & I agree @ times), & how much the process can actually 'suck up' CPU cycles-wise! apk
    calvary1980 says thanks.
  10. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,071 (5.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,505
    Location:
    Florida
    because i didnt crunch over night my parents are in the room next to mine and the wall was built its like 1/4 of an inch thik and my comp it load as shit and wakes them up. o ya and they see the light from my fan my uncle has been wicked pissed to because he works out in the rain not a good time to do it at night. i will be thuogh i feel really strong about this shit i need another 10ft ethernet cable and my server (466mhz beast) will be crunching all night Solaris17 for a total of 2 cpu's.
    calvary1980 says thanks.
  11. gygabite

    gygabite New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2005
    Messages:
    489 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    Aschaffenburg,Germany
    Wow, those protein molecules look awesome!
    calvary1980 says thanks.
  12. Thermopylae_480

    Thermopylae_480 New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2005
    Messages:
    3,685 (1.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    393
    Location:
    Little Rock Arkansas, United States
    Seems like CPU life will be significantly reduced since it will be running at 100% all day long.
    calvary1980 says thanks.
  13. Polaris573

    Polaris573 Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2005
    Messages:
    4,279 (1.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    709
    Location:
    Little Rock, USA
    Only if you have heat problems. There is only a five degree differnence between my CPU at idle and under load so I'm not too concerned.

    May I suggest that this Thread be made into a sticky so new forum members will know about the team?
    Last edited: Jun 12, 2006
    calvary1980 says thanks.
  14. W2hCYK New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2005
    Messages:
    912 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    96
    Can i get a cool little name under my username for F@H guy? hahaha.. jk.

    Not like it matters, we'll all have new cpu's in 2 years, lol
    calvary1980 says thanks.
  15. FLY3R New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2006
    Messages:
    398 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    41
    I actualy dont think thats a bad idea, It would be nice to have an icon under your name if your a frequent folder, kinda like a friendly compation for rank. Just to show other people and new mebers might get inspiered to start folding.
    calvary1980 says thanks.
  16. wazzledoozle

    wazzledoozle New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Messages:
    5,414 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    161
    Location:
    Seattle
    Stickied. If anyone has a spare socket A cpu I will throw it in a rig and fold with it 24/7
    calvary1980 says thanks.
  17. i_am_mustang_man New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2006
    Messages:
    1,854 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Location:
    Boston
    wow, i looked away from this thread for 3 days tops, and whoa!! this is awesome! i'm getting my gf's comp running it 24/7 and my laptop too, both 2.8 p4 so that'll be chill. F@H!!!
    calvary1980 says thanks.
  18. W2hCYK New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2005
    Messages:
    912 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    96
    solaris, whats going on with your work units? 14 points for 4 units? lol...

    Set your settings to what I said in the first post, it will let you accept bigger WU's, worth more points.
    calvary1980 says thanks.
  19. FLY3R New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2006
    Messages:
    398 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    41
    Just added another 3.2 gHz cpu Rig and 2.8gHz cpu Rig, folding 24/7.
    Last edited: Jun 13, 2006
    calvary1980 says thanks.
  20. W2hCYK New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2005
    Messages:
    912 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    96
    w00t for you!!! how long do you think till we break 1k WU's? lol.. :)
    calvary1980 says thanks.
  21. FLY3R New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2006
    Messages:
    398 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    41
    It will be a long time, but if we get 100+ people Folding for a great casue, then we could reach that pretty fast. I think we should make a section on the forums dedicated to this.
    calvary1980 says thanks.
  22. W2hCYK New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2005
    Messages:
    912 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    96
    Yea that would be really neat, we could have everyone post the specs of their system in threads, or have a main thread with a super huge poll with system specs to see what we all have.

    Fold on! ;-)
    calvary1980 says thanks.
  23. PVTCaboose1337

    PVTCaboose1337 Graphical Hacker

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Messages:
    9,513 (3.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,142
    Location:
    San Antonio, Texas
    That would be great! My comp is running the prog on and off... I will make 1 WU at 2AM tomoro!
    calvary1980 says thanks.
  24. W2hCYK New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2005
    Messages:
    912 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    96
    I added another celeron 2.4GHz and my friends Opteron 165 Denmark @ 3GHz, w00t

    **scratch the denmark, he thinks F@H is stupid, and he says he wants to use his computer for rendering videos at night, not folding, but I told him that rendering uses one core, not both, but he doesnt care so yea... lol..
    Last edited: Jun 14, 2006
    calvary1980 says thanks.
  25. PVTCaboose1337

    PVTCaboose1337 Graphical Hacker

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Messages:
    9,513 (3.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,142
    Location:
    San Antonio, Texas
    You are crazy, how many comps do you have going?! At least this is helping humanity...
    calvary1980 says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)

Share This Page