1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

TPU's F@H Team

Discussion in 'Folding@Home' started by W2hCYK, Jun 10, 2006.

  1. Bluefox1115 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2007
    Messages:
    747 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    RI, USA
    That's ok. I was once number 22 with my 8800GTX. Now I've lost a lot of ground due to new folders and not having a systen running all day for quite a while. But I'm building a new system that with slowly, maybe even rather quickly eat you and throw you back to the firey depths of hell >:D haha
  2. El Fiendo

    El Fiendo

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2008
    Messages:
    2,305 (1.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,164
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    The quad, motherboard and ram are days away. The HDD and cooling is a few days behind that. I still need my dual GTX 260s and PSU though. I'm scouring hard for those. I'm aiming for less that 200 CAD per card which is tough. I figure you'll probably catch up to me just in time for me to smoke you with the afterburners.
  3. bogmali

    bogmali Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Messages:
    6,622 (2.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,097
    Location:
    Olympia, WA USA
    Ow, so now we have BlueFox and El Fiendo ganging up on me:rolleyes: Bring it on peeps:laugh:

    Hey El- are you looking at other forums for your dual 260? If so, I'll keep an eye on them for you. What quad and mobo are you waiting for Intel or AMD based?
  4. El Fiendo

    El Fiendo

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2008
    Messages:
    2,305 (1.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,164
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    I've got a q9450, Intel DP45SG, and DDR3 on its way. And I've been searching Hardware Canucks and Red Flag Deals (both Canadian sites) in an attempt to save on shipping and handling. However because Canada charges more at its retail locations the deals haven't been so stellar on the cards. I've been looking to pick up at least core 216s.
  5. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (6.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,106
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    doh...i keep getting low point WUs. what happen to the high ones i was getting every time
  6. El Fiendo

    El Fiendo

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2008
    Messages:
    2,305 (1.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,164
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    I almost never get 1888s anymore. Usually I'm pulling in the 768s that work on the old Fahcore 11. 511 pointers have seen an increase and so have the 384s and 353s. From what I can guess, the flood of 1888s (old 1680s) has lessened because most of the new stuff has been processed. What happened to the 420 pointers? What'd they turn into again?
  7. Bluefox1115 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2007
    Messages:
    747 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    RI, USA
    lawlz.
  8. Bluefox1115 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2007
    Messages:
    747 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    RI, USA
    Hey El, Newegg has a distribution center in canada now, have you checked out the newegg canada website?
  9. El Fiendo

    El Fiendo

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2008
    Messages:
    2,305 (1.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,164
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    More expensive than our current e-tailers. We don't get the crazy nutso deals you guys do, and we have to pay to have it shipped from the US anyways. I'm aiming for used, I'd even take open box but I haven't seen one open box deal on Canadian Newegg. I assume we don't get those either.
  10. bogmali

    bogmali Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Messages:
    6,622 (2.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,097
    Location:
    Olympia, WA USA
    You checked CL El Fiendo? What is the most amount that you can claim when shipping to Canada before they tag it with GET/VAT?
  11. El Fiendo

    El Fiendo

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2008
    Messages:
    2,305 (1.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,164
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Sorry, CL?

    And as far as I know, everything that is tagged as 'purchase' is subject to customs fee. Any amount. On top of that it seems to be around $10-20 more than shipping to Alaska would be for some unknown reason. I usually pay the customs fee straight to the mail lady when they deliver it. I think it can be bypassed by shipping it as 'gift', but...
  12. BUCK NASTY

    BUCK NASTY F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,380 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,305
    Location:
    Tallahassee, FL. U.S.A.
    Sound like a fold off. Place your bets now...:laugh:
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  13. bogmali

    bogmali Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Messages:
    6,622 (2.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,097
    Location:
    Olympia, WA USA
    Craigslist man:confused: You've never heard of them before? Here is what I found in your neck of the woods.
  14. mlee49

    mlee49

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    8,462 (3.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,096
    Can anyone confirm something for me, I'm debating a larger memory card to fold better. Is this plausible? Do cards with more memory fold better?

    Specifically the GTX275 1.5GB vs 896MB
  15. BUCK NASTY

    BUCK NASTY F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,380 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,305
    Location:
    Tallahassee, FL. U.S.A.
    Memory has a small effect on folding. It's really the memory clocks, not size that produce more ppd. So, buy the cheaper card an o/c the mem.:D

    Thanks Bogmali, I'm quiting F@H and diving headfirst into WoW!!!!:rockout:
    [​IMG]
    Last edited: Apr 16, 2009
    mlee49 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  16. Mindweaver

    Mindweaver Moderato®™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,052 (2.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,604
    Location:
    Statesville, NC
    Hey guys!, I just joined today to help fight the good fight. So far I have 4 of my machine's running f@h (2 core2duo's "E6700@2.6ghz, E8400@4.01ghz", 1 amd x2@2.2ghz "939 socket", 1 core2quad "Q6600@3.0ghz). hopefully by the end of the weekend I'll have 10 to 15 machine's running f@h.

    Mindweaver
    BUCK NASTY and thebluebumblebee say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  17. El Fiendo

    El Fiendo

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2008
    Messages:
    2,305 (1.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,164
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta

    Well welcome aboard. What graphics cards do you have running? Most of the cards 2006 and newer will run folding at home. If you have any questions feel free to ask.


    Bogmali, yes I've heard of Craigslist but my brain must've been fried. As you can see there isn't too much happening on that sucker there, and actually kijiji.ca is more active for classifieds. Unfortunately there isn't much there either.


    And Buck, I can set you up with a level 80 warrior raid ready with a piece of tier 7 and a piece of tier 7.5 armor. I don't use it anymore and have cancelled the account.
    Mindweaver says thanks.
  18. Mindweaver

    Mindweaver Moderato®™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,052 (2.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,604
    Location:
    Statesville, NC
    Main pc E8400 w/ evga superclocked 285gtx
    E6700 w/ bfg 9600 gt
    4200x2 w/ 4670
    q6600 w/ ati firegl v5600

    I want to get another 285, and sli them soon. Only thing holding me back is.. I'm broke....lol

    Mindweaver
    Crunching for Team TPU
  19. El Fiendo

    El Fiendo

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2008
    Messages:
    2,305 (1.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,164
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Well, I'm not sure about that Fire GL, but if you check the GPU client setup thread in this sub forum, the rest will fold very, very nicely. Ask if you need help dude.
  20. Mindweaver

    Mindweaver Moderato®™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,052 (2.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,604
    Location:
    Statesville, NC
    Thanks for the heads up El Fiendo. Seems to be working fine.. I'm going to check in the morning and see how it's doing.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  21. El Fiendo

    El Fiendo

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2008
    Messages:
    2,305 (1.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,164
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    If you haven't already, I suggest getting Fahmon as it will give you one single window to check if anything is wrong. Also, if you post a screen shot we can tell you if the projected points per day you're getting is about right for that component (which indicates everything is in the clear). I believe there is a thread around with information on how to set that one up correctly, though its pretty self explanitory.
  22. BUCK NASTY

    BUCK NASTY F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,380 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,305
    Location:
    Tallahassee, FL. U.S.A.
    The FireGL V5600 is a hopped up HD2600XT(RV630 core) and is capable of folding GPU2
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  23. Mindweaver

    Mindweaver Moderato®™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,052 (2.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,604
    Location:
    Statesville, NC
    Yea, It's actually a workstation graphic card mainly for CAD work. I purchased it last year to beef up our Solidworks Box, and not spend a great deal on it. Really smooth running solidworks 2008 and 2009 plus AutoCAD 2008. Our CAD guy really likes it over the v3300 it replaced.

    Mindweaver
    Crunching for Team TPU
  24. Mindweaver

    Mindweaver Moderato®™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,052 (2.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,604
    Location:
    Statesville, NC
    Buck I need to ask one more question before I go to bed. Currently I have version "6.23
    Windows XP/2003/Vista System tray client installer with viewer" installed on all machines. Does this version have GPU2? Thanks for all the help once again!

    Night all
    Mindweaver
    Crunching for Team TPU
  25. BUCK NASTY

    BUCK NASTY F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,380 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,305
    Location:
    Tallahassee, FL. U.S.A.
    There is a GPU2 tray client. I do not advocate using it. The viewer is not required to fold and this client is less efficient than the console client. Download console GPU2 and you will be happier in the long run.
    Mindweaver says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page