1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

TPU's F@H Team

Discussion in 'Folding@Home' started by W2hCYK, Jun 10, 2006.

  1. Assassin48 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,450 (1.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    515
    Location:
    95350
    quick question i am ready to start folding but before i do would i need fast internet?
     
  2. oily_17

    oily_17

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    Messages:
    2,313 (0.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    670
    Location:
    Norn Iron
    No not at all, you only need your internet to upload / download work units so any connection will do.

    Also welcome to the team :toast:
     
  3. Assassin48 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,450 (1.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    515
    Location:
    95350
    sweet
    is there a banner or something a can put in my sig?

    and is the high performance client the better choice for me?
    http://folding.stanford.edu/English/DownloadWinOther
     
  4. oily_17

    oily_17

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    Messages:
    2,313 (0.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    670
    Location:
    Norn Iron
    Yes you can grab the pic in my sig and use it if you like ;)

    Download the GPU Console 6.23 client to use with your card, it seems to be the best client.

    I see you have a 4870x2, you can run two instances of the client with this card I think.

    Maybe some of the other guy's can help you set that up (I have not run dual clients from the one card before :eek:)
     
  5. Assassin48 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,450 (1.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    515
    Location:
    95350
    i just picked the first one in the list when you click download now

    just started running it
    is it too soon to see scores?
     
  6. oily_17

    oily_17

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    Messages:
    2,313 (0.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    670
    Location:
    Norn Iron
    That is OK

    You can use FahMon to monitor your clients progress.
     
  7. Assassin48 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,450 (1.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    515
    Location:
    95350
    alright i have it setup
    how would i add it to that
    i clicked add client and did the location to it in
    but it wont show it just says N/A?

    f@H is gpu based?
     
  8. oily_17

    oily_17

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    Messages:
    2,313 (0.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    670
    Location:
    Norn Iron
    For the location did you use C:\Users\username\AppData\Roaming\Folding@home\

    Yes the GPU2 client is for folding with graphics crads.
     
  9. Assassin48 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,450 (1.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    515
    Location:
    95350
    i am going to remove F@H off this computer since i am upgrading my cpu/mobo/ram and making a F@H rig with the current cpu/mobo/ram but i need to get a psu/case/gpu for it

    if anyone has anything i am willing to trade stuff in my sig for parts for my F@H rig
     
  10. mx500torid

    mx500torid

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2007
    Messages:
    906 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,358
    just had my first 18k day so maybe im back on track. Fingers crossed.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  11. El Fiendo

    El Fiendo

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2008
    Messages:
    2,304 (1.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,164
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Just snagged a PCP&C Silencer 750w Quad. Now I just need my GTX 260s. Bogmali! Stop upgrading your hardware. If you upgrade your hardware whilst I attempt to upgrade mine, then you will still outpace me. This is quite clearly unfair in the rules I just made up for our Fold Off. If you do not cease and desist, I'll make vague sexual references at you.

    Oh, does anyone know if I can still snag a legit Key for Windows 7 betas? I want to have a 64 bit OS on this so I can use VMWare (and also try out Win7). I'm sure I can find downloads of the beta but I don't really want to use a keygen, and seeming I've never looked into this before I know absolutely nothing.
     
  12. stanhemi

    stanhemi New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2008
    Messages:
    802 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    351
    Location:
    Montreal,-Canada.

    ygpm :)
     
    El Fiendo says thanks.
  13. El Fiendo

    El Fiendo

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2008
    Messages:
    2,304 (1.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,164
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Muahahaha. Thanks Stanhemi.

    Now the last thing I need is to conjure up some cheap GTX 260s 216s. Unfortunately this is proving to be the hardest. For the time being though I'm going to run a 9800GTX in the second rig, which will allow me to get the q9450 up and running. I'll fend you off yet Bogmali, you doer of evil.
     
  14. mmaakk

    mmaakk

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2008
    Messages:
    567 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    171
    Location:
    Brasil
    Nice, all my rigs are now dust-free, up and running back to the folding duties :toast:
     
    BUCK NASTY says thanks.
  15. mx500torid

    mx500torid

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2007
    Messages:
    906 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,358
    Welcome back mmaakk!
     
    mmaakk says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  16. mmaakk

    mmaakk

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2008
    Messages:
    567 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    171
    Location:
    Brasil
    Thanks mx500torid.

    I guess bogmali isn't that happy with my return :roll:
     
  17. El Fiendo

    El Fiendo

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2008
    Messages:
    2,304 (1.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,164
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Bogmali is going to get a whole lot more facefuls of steaming hot unhappy as my plans near completion. Woe unto him.
     
  18. bogmali

    bogmali Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Messages:
    6,651 (2.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,129
    Location:
    Olympia, WA USA
    Wow, a lot of mentioning of me on here:D

    I was busy swapping out my main rig and converting it into a Core i7 (sorry El:p). Finally done and my GTX275 just started folding too (sorry again El:D). Welcome back Mmaakk, let's see if you can regain your old spot.
     
    Last edited: Apr 27, 2009
  19. El Fiendo

    El Fiendo

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2008
    Messages:
    2,304 (1.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,164
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Curses! No seriously, curses. You'll be topping me in PPD. Hands down. Mind you, there's a K9A2, 9950BE, for sale here. I've got 2 people offering PSUs that could work so I could pick up a spare. All I'd need is a good cooler and 4 x 'something nice' nVidia cards. Eh damn. My bank balance. My poor bank balance.
     
  20. El Fiendo

    El Fiendo

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2008
    Messages:
    2,304 (1.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,164
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Now all I need is 3 others and 1400 - 1500 CAD to spare. Hmm.

    800 USD GPU

    180 USD CPU Mobo Ram

    30 USD Cooler

    Proabably 100 CAD extra for additional shipping to Canada charges.

    100 CAD PSU
     
  21. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    My semperon + 8800GTS folding rig should be up this week. Just waiting on the CPU!
     
  22. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (5.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    Hey guys....

    our WCG team needs some help here on TPU.

    you can "crunch" on your cpu while you fold on your gpu's and your machine will still run very smooth for every day usability.

    i invite you to help us here... http://forums.techpowerup.com/showthread.php?t=85784

    alot of us "crunchers" are folding at the same time.

    Kursah, me, dark2099, cyberdruid, just to name a few.

    :toast:
     
  23. bogmali

    bogmali Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Messages:
    6,651 (2.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,129
    Location:
    Olympia, WA USA

    Eh.....Thanks Fit :banghead:

    :laugh::laugh::laugh::laugh:
     
    Fitseries3 says thanks.
  24. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,920 (4.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,992
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    LOL. No kidding...:laugh: Seriously guys, for those who are using GPU only for folding, WCG is a great way to use your excess processing power!!
     
    Fitseries3 says thanks.
  25. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (5.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    yeah yeah,,,, i know. :p
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page