1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

TPU's F@H Team

Discussion in 'Folding@Home' started by W2hCYK, Jun 10, 2006.

  1. Behemoko New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2007
    Messages:
    98 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Well, I joined the team! I now have 2 running F@H, but my first one is on a different team, soo..
     
    Last edited: Mar 27, 2007
  2. pt

    pt not a suicide-bomber

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,982 (2.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    208
    Location:
    Portugal
    that's just in the begin, it will decrease :)
     
  3. Behemoko New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2007
    Messages:
    98 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Yea, I noticed and I changed my post, lol!
     
  4. GIGGLA

    GIGGLA New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2004
    Messages:
    156 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14
    When Stanford F@H talks about the project slowing down with two F@H programs running they are talking about a (1cpu core 1single cpu hyper-threading system) because they are not two physical cpu's.

    I am not aware of how much each WU would slow down on a real dual-core compared to running one WU on a dual core.

    I have not read anywhere that there is any problem with running 2 WU at the same time on a dual-core.(two real cpu's).

    There is also the question if I have a real dual-core and a supported gpu can I run 3 WU's? I'm pretty sure i've read this is not a good idea.

    Then one might ask then can I run 2 WU's- one on 1cpu core and another on the GPU with 2ndCpu core helping the GPU? I say helping the gpu because the fast gpu will be waiting on the cpu for data.

    This way above with 1 WU for GPU and 1 WU for the other cpu core that is not busy.............OR just only 1 WU for GPU and that's it I am not sure which way is faster. I'm not asking the question really, because I have a single core and no supported GPU, I am only saying what is possible.

    So I am just stating 3 options here and I don't even know what the results of these would be in terms of the most work done the fastest. And this below IS NOT in order of fastest just examples-

    2 WU on cpu only(dual-core)
    1 WU for GPU and 1 WU for CPU(dual-core)
    1 WU only for GPU
     
    Last edited: Mar 27, 2007
  5. GIGGLA

    GIGGLA New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2004
    Messages:
    156 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14
    If you do run 2 WU's and run Windows OS you must add the flag/switch -local

    To do this- if you are using the console text-only version, create a shortcut to F@H exe then right-click the shortcut and select properties then at the end of the target line add a space then -local

    If you manually start up F@H start it from this shortcut.
     
    Last edited: Mar 27, 2007
  6. GIGGLA

    GIGGLA New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2004
    Messages:
    156 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14
    Wow 6000 more teams:D that is alot. Yes very good news for the F@H community.:toast:
     
  7. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,921 (6.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,021
    Also remember that if you run the console version and set it as a service you have to add -local as a start paremeter.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  8. Alcpone

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    2,339 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    96
    Location:
    Tyne & Wear, UK
    838 out of 55110, not bad at all, dont even think the new guys have been added into our team yet, I hope they have the right team no. in

    I can see us in the top 500 before long :)
     
  9. KennyT772

    KennyT772 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2005
    Messages:
    3,585 (1.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    103
    The GPU's act as a whole, and require a cpu also. You CANNOT run F@H GPU on both cores and expect it to run correctly, even with two GPU's.

    F@H is meant to be a donation program, with a competition for the fun of it. If you really want to boost your score so badly stop trying to hack the program, and goto your local government office or library, tell them about the program, and if they use it, ask if they will use your name/team. My school is currently looking into installing F@H on all the computers, and i asked that if they do please put my name in for the credit. Our computers may only be 2ghz celerons, but 400 of them will make a big difference.
     
  10. Steevo

    Steevo

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    8,285 (2.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,177
    Added a dual core Core 2 duo mobile 1.88Ghz lappie.

    It stays plugged in most of the time.


    I have another to add, plus a 2.0Ghz desktop.
     
    10 Million points folded for TPU
  11. Alcpone

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    2,339 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    96
    Location:
    Tyne & Wear, UK
    Nice 1 steevo, you will be clocking up those points :)

    Has anyone noticed getting into the stats page is getting harder and harder, the amount of data they must have to process must be massive!
     
  12. Steevo

    Steevo

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    8,285 (2.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,177
    Soon as my net at home is back I will add my machines again. Mebey i can add a couple friends machines too.
     
    10 Million points folded for TPU
  13. Pinchy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Messages:
    5,109 (1.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Joined :)
     
  14. Alcpone

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    2,339 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    96
    Location:
    Tyne & Wear, UK
    Welcome, get folding hardcore styley ;)
     
  15. Pinchy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Messages:
    5,109 (1.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    I dont think i can leave my comp on all night, but whenever its on (normally all during the day) itll be going :) (unless im gaming :D)
     
  16. Alcpone

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    2,339 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    96
    Location:
    Tyne & Wear, UK
    You will be doing your bit for mankind though ;)
     
  17. Pinchy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Messages:
    5,109 (1.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    :)

    I just downloaded the console version...and it doesnt seem to do anything. It just stays at 0/200000 things done.

    Ive been using the graphical version from before, but noticed the console was better.

    Any ideas?
     
  18. infrared New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Messages:
    3,307 (0.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    183
    Location:
    Southampton, UK
    yeah, the console version folds faster, but it's not as exciting to watch! I set them up as services, and make a shortcut to the f@hlog.txt on the desktop so i can check it from time to time.
     
  19. Alcpone

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    2,339 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    96
    Location:
    Tyne & Wear, UK
    Im not sure with the console version, I use GPU client GUI version 5.91 beta4, gets me the points I need! If you have a ATi card it would be silly not to use it ;)
     
  20. Pinchy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Messages:
    5,109 (1.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Far enough - ill stick to GUI :D
     
  21. Eric_Cartman

    Eric_Cartman

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2007
    Messages:
    587 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    45
    just don't use it if you have anything lower than an x1900 or 512MB of video ram

    bad things happen if you have lower than an x1900 and 256mb of ram or less
     
  22. Alcpone

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    2,339 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    96
    Location:
    Tyne & Wear, UK
    What do you mean bad things?
     
  23. Eric_Cartman

    Eric_Cartman

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2007
    Messages:
    587 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    45
    well when i had my x1600pro 256mb and ran the gpu client the computer would become very sluggish

    sort of like what happens when you turn hardware acceleration completely off, and don't have any video card drivers installed

    moving open windows around was very sluggish, and scrolling was very jumpy

    then when i left it running for any extended period of time the mouse and keyboard would stop responding, but i could tell the computer wasn't totally frozen because the clock was still working

    when i moved to my x1950pro 256mb i didn't experience any of these problems
     
  24. Alcpone

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    2,339 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    96
    Location:
    Tyne & Wear, UK
    Thought I would bump this thread :)

    Thanks for all the new members joining recently, pls try and keep up with the work units issued ;) We are heading for 800 most productive team out of over 56000 others! Mainly down to the hardcore folders but we all play our part :cool:
     
  25. Eric_Cartman

    Eric_Cartman

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2007
    Messages:
    587 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    45
    is it just more or is the stats server performing a lot of updates recently?

    it seems like every other time I go there it tells me to try again in 15 minutes.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page