1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

TPU's F@H Team

Discussion in 'Folding@Home' started by W2hCYK, Jun 10, 2006.

  1. bogmali

    bogmali Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Messages:
    6,622 (2.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,097
    Location:
    Olympia, WA USA
    +1 :rockout:

    [​IMG]

    Attached Files:

  2. mmaakk

    mmaakk

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2008
    Messages:
    567 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    171
    Location:
    Brasil
    :rockout:

    [​IMG]
  3. mike047 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Messages:
    483 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    170
    Location:
    Zirconia NC usa
    Just put a 260 on.....waiting for work:(
    trt740 and bogmali say thanks.
  4. oily_17

    oily_17

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    Messages:
    2,313 (0.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    670
    Location:
    Norn Iron
    Well I have been down for about a day or so with some problems and just noticed these new 5514 wu's, 430 pointers.

    They seem to be even less ppd than the 511 point wu's.Will have to keep an eye on the heat out put as well :(
  5. BUCK NASTY

    BUCK NASTY F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,378 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,302
    Location:
    Tallahassee, FL. U.S.A.
    Yea, I saw you have been down for a few days. Anything we can help with?
    oily_17 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. oily_17

    oily_17

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    Messages:
    2,313 (0.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    670
    Location:
    Norn Iron

    Thanks Buck!! but all is good so far.

    Been swapping out some parts and installing new OS's, just trying to tidy this mess up :laugh:

    Have to do some more rewiring work in the attic, as I have now moved two rigs up there (the wife could not stand the noise in our spare room :eek:)


    Got myself a K9A2 Platinum, so hope to add a couple more 260's to the mix by next month :D
    BUCK NASTY says thanks.
  7. BUCK NASTY

    BUCK NASTY F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,378 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,302
    Location:
    Tallahassee, FL. U.S.A.
    Excellent, nothing like more fuel for the TPU fire!

    +2

    [​IMG]
    Last edited: May 23, 2009
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. bogmali

    bogmali Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Messages:
    6,622 (2.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,097
    Location:
    Olympia, WA USA
    I had to remove the GTX275 last night from folding but was replaced by 2 9800GTX+. I'm making room for a GTX295 coming in next week along with another Core i7 courtesy of Loonym;)
  9. oily_17

    oily_17

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    Messages:
    2,313 (0.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    670
    Location:
    Norn Iron
    That's what I was hoping to do...4x GTX260's on the one board, just wasn't sure about the space, but it is looking good :)

    Plus it will take up less space and I may be able to add another board down the line.
  10. bogmali

    bogmali Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Messages:
    6,622 (2.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,097
    Location:
    Olympia, WA USA
    Look at my tech bench setup. That is a K9A2 with 2 8800GTS/2 8800GS;) Look at the spacing of each card. The GTS is a dual-slot while the GS is single. The problem that you're going to run into with 4x GTX260 (even with just 2) is the length of that card is going to cover your SATA ports (only thing I hate about the K9A2) and your panel connectors. My 2nd K9A2 has a 9800GX2 ATM and that is the only card I can put in there because the 9800GTX+'s covered up the ports:shadedshu so when I get my 295, I'm putting the GTS20 in there since they're shorter than the 9800GTX+'s.
  11. oily_17

    oily_17

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    Messages:
    2,313 (0.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    670
    Location:
    Norn Iron
    @bogmali....I was thinking that they would cover the sata ports...wonder if you could get a 90* angled sata cable squeezed in there.

    Is mmaakk running 4 double slot cards on his, where does that sata cable go??
  12. bogmali

    bogmali Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Messages:
    6,622 (2.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,097
    Location:
    Olympia, WA USA
    I tried with a 90 degree angle SATA cable but I couldn't get it to boot with the angled side plugged into the board:banghead::confused: I remove the 9800 and switched the cable and everything is gravy:wtf:
  13. oily_17

    oily_17

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    Messages:
    2,313 (0.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    670
    Location:
    Norn Iron
    Yeah, I may just grab another 2 9600GSO's and put those on instead.

    Have to get a CPU for it first..this has me bugged now..cant wait till get it fired up :)

    EDIT:will PM mmaakk, I cant tell from the pic how his sata cable is installed ??
  14. Hayder_Master

    Hayder_Master

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,159 (2.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    637
    Location:
    IRAQ-Baghdad
    im in under my name hayder.master
    oily_17 and bogmali say thanks.
  15. bogmali

    bogmali Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Messages:
    6,622 (2.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,097
    Location:
    Olympia, WA USA
    Welcome:rockout:
    Hayder_Master says thanks.
  16. bogmali

    bogmali Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Messages:
    6,622 (2.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,097
    Location:
    Olympia, WA USA
    I'm going to mix my 9800GX2 along with 2 GTS250 with my other K9A2 for my 2nd farm, hope I have enough juice in my PSU to power those bad boys:D
  17. oily_17

    oily_17

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    Messages:
    2,313 (0.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    670
    Location:
    Norn Iron
    Welcome hayder.master.

    @ bogmali...that is another problem I may just run two psu for my set up, although I have an Antec Signature 850W in another build...more swapping of parts might be called for.
    Hayder_Master says thanks.
  18. bogmali

    bogmali Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Messages:
    6,622 (2.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,097
    Location:
    Olympia, WA USA
    I'm currently running a Corsair TX850 on that one.
    oily_17 says thanks.
  19. Hayder_Master

    Hayder_Master

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,159 (2.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    637
    Location:
    IRAQ-Baghdad
    thanx a lot kindly guys , im very happy , glad , proud cuz you make me folding and to join with TPU team , god bless you guys
  20. bogmali

    bogmali Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Messages:
    6,622 (2.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,097
    Location:
    Olympia, WA USA
    You're more than welcome;)

    Out of curiosity, where in Iraq are you from?
  21. BUCK NASTY

    BUCK NASTY F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,378 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,302
    Location:
    Tallahassee, FL. U.S.A.
    It can be done on a K9A2 Platinum. BTW, it's the best multi-GPU folding MOBO ever made.
    :toast:

    [​IMG]
    Crunching for Team TPU
  22. oily_17

    oily_17

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    Messages:
    2,313 (0.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    670
    Location:
    Norn Iron
    Thanks Buck, thats a tight fit in there.
    BUCK NASTY says thanks.
  23. pepsi71ocean New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Messages:
    1,471 (0.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    125
    Location:
    The Peoples Republic of New South Jersey
    Having trouble with the CPU version of F@H. it is not sending the results, it has been say9ing Attempting to send results for 3 days now. any ideas?

    The GPU version works just fine, but im not sure why the CPU one doesn't want to work.

    [23:40:23] + Attempting to send results [May 23 23:40:23 UTC]
    [23:40:23] Core required: FahCore_78.exe
    [23:40:23] Core found.
    [23:40:23] Working on queue slot 09 [May 23 23:40:23 UTC]
    [23:40:23] + Working ...
    [23:40:24]
    [23:40:24] *------------------------------*
    [23:40:24] Folding@Home Gromacs Core
    [23:40:24] Version - Server reports packet it received an incomplete payload.
    [23:40:24] (May be due to packet loss during network transmission or a corrupted file.)
    [23:40:24] - Error: Could not transmit unit 07 (completed May 20) to work server.


    [23:40:24] + Attempting to send results [May 23 23:40:24 UTC]
    [23:40:24] - Couldn't send HTTP request to server
    [23:40:24] (Got status 503)
    [23:40:24] + Could not connect to Work Server (results)
    [23:40:24] (171.67.108.17:8080)
    [23:40:24] + Retrying using alternative port
    [23:40:24] 1.90 (March 8, 2006)
    [23:40:24]
    [23:40:24] Preparing to commence simulation
    [23:40:24] - Ensuring status. Please wait.
    [23:40:24] - Couldn't send HTTP request to server
    [23:40:24] (Got status 503)
    [23:40:24] + Could not connect to Work Server (results)
    [23:40:24] (171.67.108.17:80)
    [23:40:24] Could not transmit unit 07 to Collection server; keeping in queue.
    [23:40:41] - Looking at optimizations...
    [23:40:41] - Working with standard loops on this execution.
    [23:40:41] - Previous termination of core was improper.
    [23:40:41] - Files status OK
    [23:41:04] - Expanded 9250792 -> 47924691 (decompressed 53.7 percent)
    [23:41:07]
    [23:41:07] Project: 2613 (Run 68, Clone 13, Gen 69)
    [23:41:07]
    [23:41:07] Entering M.D.
    [23:41:31] (Starting from checkpoint)
    [23:41:31] Protein: p2613_TETHERED VESICLES
    [23:41:31]
    [23:41:31] Writing local files
    [23:41:31] Completed 20676 out of 125000 steps (17%)
  24. oily_17

    oily_17

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    Messages:
    2,313 (0.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    670
    Location:
    Norn Iron
    Seems like you have a corrupted work unit

    Code:
    [23:40:24] Version - Server reports packet it received an incomplete payload.
    [23:40:24] (May be due to packet loss during network transmission or a corrupted file.)
    [23:40:24] - Error: Could not transmit unit 07 (completed May 20) to work server.
    
    Just delete the work unit from the queue and you should be ok.

    EDIT:If it is just the 1 WU then it probably is corrupt but if you keep getting the "503 error" then it is due to a server being down probably.
  25. trt740

    trt740

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    10,935 (3.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,113
    I know that 260gtx it's my old beast and my new 285gtx was junk so i'm outta the game tell a replacement comes back.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page