1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

TPU's F@H Team

Discussion in 'Folding@Home' started by W2hCYK, Jun 10, 2006.

  1. theonedub

    theonedub habe fidem

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Messages:
    7,130 (3.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,658
    Thanks for the help. I am using the PSUs 6pin, no molex adapter so I should be okay. Only 1 PCIe slot though, next upgrade will most likely be around winter with a quad, new MB, and SLI planned, $ permitting.
    BUCK NASTY says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  2. johnspack

    johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,358 (1.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    850
    Location:
    Nelson B.C. Canada
    Did a practice run with my paypal, I know how to use it now. I'm looking for a p5q-pro mobo and an e8400-500 cpu. Used preferably. Or else an sb750 southbridge based am2/3 mobo and phenom ii tri. The intel is probably cheaper right now, I've got really fast ddr2 ram for it. I'm going to xfer funds to paypal right away, I'll be adding more next cheque. My mobo is dying... help? Oh sorry, forgot to mention, Canada only....
  3. BUCK NASTY

    BUCK NASTY F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,445 (1.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,518
    Location:
    Tallahassee, FL. U.S.A.
    What are you looking to spend? I have a P5Q Pro and E8400 CO stepping. Runs 3.6Ghz 24/7 @ 1.35V. While I love the combo, I have been looking @ PII/Sli Motherboards lately.
  4. bogmali

    bogmali Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Messages:
    6,642 (2.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,124
    Location:
    Olympia, WA USA
    My main rig with a watercooled GX2 will be down for two days until my G3/8 barbs show up. I was stupid enough not realize that a Thermochill PA120.3 has a different thread pattern:banghead:
  5. Beertintedgoggles

    Beertintedgoggles

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Messages:
    720 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    194
    Have there been any performance gains in the newer Nvidia drivers in the past few weeks or couple of months even? It's been a while since I've bothered updating mine but it seems as though my numbers are still on par with what everyone else has been getting.
  6. BUCK NASTY

    BUCK NASTY F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,445 (1.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,518
    Location:
    Tallahassee, FL. U.S.A.
    I am still running 3 month old drivers. I updated 1 rig a week ago with the new drivers and saw no noticeable difference.
    Beertintedgoggles says thanks.
  7. stanhemi

    stanhemi New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2008
    Messages:
    802 (0.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    351
    Location:
    Montreal,-Canada.
    i try the new driver on my 9800gt (windows xp)and i lost 100-150 ppd vs the 182.50 i switch back to 182.50.
  8. pepsi71ocean New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Messages:
    1,471 (0.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    125
    Location:
    The Peoples Republic of New South Jersey
    finally up and folding again, running all cylinders 24/7
    NastyHabits and BUCK NASTY say thanks.
  9. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    same problem here but with a 8800gt(same GPU) but difference is i am using windows 7. 182.50 seems to give me the best ppd. How many ppd are you getting with the 9800gt?
    Crunching for Team TPU
  10. stanhemi

    stanhemi New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2008
    Messages:
    802 (0.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    351
    Location:
    Montreal,-Canada.
    353 pt: 5650 ppd
    511 pt: 3650 ppd
    1888 pt: 4300 ppd

    clocked at 675/1810/900 temps stay 66c-72c :toast:
    Last edited: Aug 6, 2009
    p_o_s_pc says thanks.
  11. thebluebumblebee

    thebluebumblebee

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,910 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,437
    You're getting higher PPD with 511's than you are with 1888's?
    Last edited: Aug 6, 2009
  12. stanhemi

    stanhemi New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2008
    Messages:
    802 (0.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    351
    Location:
    Montreal,-Canada.

    oups sorry my mistake

    511pt: 3650ppd :laugh:
  13. thebluebumblebee

    thebluebumblebee

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,910 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,437
    maybe wishful thinking?
  14. stanhemi

    stanhemi New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2008
    Messages:
    802 (0.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    351
    Location:
    Montreal,-Canada.
    na... :laugh:my wishful thinking is for september:) (working on a deal with a friend for 3x9800gtx+ and a evga mobo)
  15. johnspack

    johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,358 (1.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    850
    Location:
    Nelson B.C. Canada
    Man, I wish it wasn't 80 bucks to ship anything from the states to Canada, that p5qpro is exactly what I've been wanting, and the e8400 is still a sweet little chip! I could scare up $200 or so by the end of the month. But thats not really enough combined with shipping. Maybe some kind of payment plan? I get paid once a month, and would have access to say $400 with 2 cheques. Although for that kind of money I'd like an e8500 as well heheh! But whatever, I do have to replace this thing before it dies, and pii is too much money for me right now. Something to ponder. Also, increase the lifespan of your 260s and 280s people! I've now folded overnight on my 280 at 712/1512/1260 at 1.09v! I've also gamed with it, flawless, lower gpu temps, lower vrm temps, lower power draw. Looks like the 260s will do 3d at least as low as .98v at full oc. Extend the life of your card, they don't seem to need at the stock voltage at all!

    Darn, Buck: just found my mounting hardware for intels for my zalman 9700, make me an offer, I'll see if I can do it!
    Last edited: Aug 8, 2009
  16. rangerone766

    rangerone766

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,036 (0.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    111
    srry to say that times are tight, and money short. so i have to shut my folding rig down for a while. hopefully i'll be able to get it up and running again in the future.
  17. BUCK NASTY

    BUCK NASTY F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,445 (1.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,518
    Location:
    Tallahassee, FL. U.S.A.
    No problem. We will be here anxiously awaiting your return.
    :toast:
  18. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    :shadedshu:wtf: i get LOWER PPD on all of them even with my card clocked higher.. I get around 3500-3800ppd on EVERY WU (sometimes 5k on the 353pt) i know my card is stable maybe its because the CPU is crunching and the OS is kinda cluttered
    Crunching for Team TPU
  19. theonedub

    theonedub habe fidem

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Messages:
    7,130 (3.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,658
    Just for reference my 9600GSO @ 600c/1650/600

    353: 4013 ppd
    472: 4292 ppd
    511: 2643 ppd (pulls temps to 74C)
    1888: 3550 ppd

    This is in the same comp that has the Q6600 running WCG on all 4 cores 100% AND with SetAffinity II set to make sure FAHcore_11 and FAHCore_14 have access to all cores instead of just one.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  20. stanhemi

    stanhemi New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2008
    Messages:
    802 (0.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    351
    Location:
    Montreal,-Canada.
    my cpu is crunching too and it a weak e1200.I use xp 32 and nvidia driver 182.50. Boinc running on 2 core and i use ''get and set cpu affinity'' to make sure FAHcore_11 and FAHCore_14 have access to only 1 core.
    Last edited: Aug 8, 2009
  21. johnspack

    johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,358 (1.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    850
    Location:
    Nelson B.C. Canada
    Just so everyone knows, CamelJock refers to a WW1 pilot who mostly flew sopwith camels. I fly RB3D and am helping to design an updated fm, and possibly a whole new game. I also am on the Canvas Knights development team, to create a full addon/mod for IL2 Sturmovich:1946. So that's the weird nick. Last time I'll explain it, heheh!:)
    stanhemi and BUCK NASTY say thanks.
  22. msgclb

    msgclb

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    1,718 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,270
    Location:
    Oklahoma City
    When you're a Cameljock in a Sopwith 2F.1 Camel you will eventually be overtaken by a F4 whether it be a Corsair or a Phantom II. I spent many years as an instrument technician on F4C, F4D, F4E and RF4C aircraft so I'd rather be a GIB if I couldn't be in the front seat.

    For a long time I've been inching closer to Cameljock but now I'll need to bob and weave to keep the Sopwith's Vickers from flaming me out.:toast:
  23. mike047 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Messages:
    483 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    170
    Location:
    Zirconia NC usa

    Air Farce??:D

    USN here. 13 years Aviation Electronics Technician. F4A/B/G[Navy "G"]/J. Also time with A7 and S3.
  24. msgclb

    msgclb

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    1,718 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,270
    Location:
    Oklahoma City
    US Air Force:)

    20 years Avionics Instrument and Flight Control Technician. Started on C-124 Globemaster II, C-141 Starlifter and then years with the F4C/D/E, RF4C and then F-16, F-15, F-111.

    I did work on a few A7s during my tours of Ubon AB, Thailand.

    [​IMG]

    On the other side of that wall is revetments for about 100 F4s.

    Here's a moment in time...
    [​IMG]
    Last edited: Aug 9, 2009
  25. A Cheese Danish

    A Cheese Danish

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2006
    Messages:
    2,963 (1.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    413
    Location:
    your local vending machine
    Sorry guys, but my parents have finally told me I need to keep my computer off when I'm not using it.
    I'll keep folding whenever I get on it, but it may not be much. :(

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page