1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

TPU's F@H Team

Discussion in 'Folding@Home' started by W2hCYK, Jun 10, 2006.

  1. Eric_Cartman

    Eric_Cartman

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2007
    Messages:
    587 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    45
  2. Steevo

    Steevo

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    8,432 (2.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,253
    I have a few systems that have been taken off the project due to extra demands. But I will put them back on, don't worry, I will not allow anyone to overtake me :D
     
    10 Million points folded for TPU
  3. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (4.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,616
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    Interesting comment. :D
     
  4. Eric_Cartman

    Eric_Cartman

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2007
    Messages:
    587 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    45
    i don't think you have anything to worry about steevo
     
  5. Alcpone

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    2,339 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    96
    Location:
    Tyne & Wear, UK
    He aint worried at all lol, nor should he worry :toast:

    What name do you fold under eric?
     
  6. Eric_Cartman

    Eric_Cartman

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2007
    Messages:
    587 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    45
    Number47

    http://fah-web.stanford.edu/cgi-bin/main.py?qtype=userpage&teamnum=48759&username=Number47

    obviously i fold for a different team though, i stopped folding when it started to get hot outside because it was making my office extremely hot and i don't want to turn the air conditioning on so early in the year, it is too expensive

    i had my 805 folding on both cores and an older 2.4ghz p4 system folding 24/7

    if i start folding again i'll probably dedicate one or both of the 805 cores to techpowerup
     
  7. infrared New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Messages:
    3,307 (0.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    183
    Location:
    Southampton, UK
    yeah, those 805's pump out the heat! Even on my high end watercooling, i couldn't keep mine cool. Mind you it was running at 1.7v, 4.2ghz at the time :wtf:
     
  8. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,122 (6.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,183
    We'll see, I have more machines I can add to the cause if I needed too, but don't want to right now due to them being a rather far distance away and gas prices suck, I'll probably add them the next time I absolutely have to go out there to deal with a problem.

    Friendly competition that leads to a good cause in the end is always fun.:toast: This is like one of those cancer walks/runs, except with IT people that have figured out a way to make their computers do all the work so they don't have to go outside.:D
     
    50 Million points folded for TPU
  9. oily_17

    oily_17

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    Messages:
    2,313 (0.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    670
    Location:
    Norn Iron
    I noticed this in my txt log today-

    [12:39:33] + Attempting to send results
    [12:55:15] - Server reports packet it received an incomplete payload.
    [12:55:15] (May be due to packet loss during network transmission or a corrupted file.)
    [12:55:15] - Error: Could not transmit unit 07 (completed May 15) to work server.


    [12:55:15] + Attempting to send results
    [12:55:16] - Couldn't send HTTP request to server
    [12:55:16] + Could not connect to Work Server (results)
    [12:55:16] (171.65.103.100:8080)
    [12:55:16] Could not transmit unit 07 to Collection server; keeping in queue.

    Is anyone else having problems sending results?
    Also do I just let it keep trying to send, or do I have to do something else.
     
  10. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (4.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,616
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    The folding (result) servers are either down for awhile or super busy. Just let it keep trying.
    Happens all the time :)
     
  11. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (4.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,616
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    Oops, I overlooked the incomplete payload error. Let it retry and if you keep getting this something is wrong with the results from the WU you were working on.

    Let us know what happens ...
     
  12. oily_17

    oily_17

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    Messages:
    2,313 (0.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    670
    Location:
    Norn Iron
    It has been trying to send for a couple days now,still no luck!! :confused:

    Other later results have sent OK.
    Should I delete this unit? And how would I do that?
     
  13. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (4.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,616
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    I know that you can save the core executable somewhere else, delete your folding directory and create a new one, and then move the core back into it and run it to start over.

    There may be a quicker way but I am not sure what it is. Maybe Steevo or someone else on this thread knows.
     
  14. Steevo

    Steevo

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    8,432 (2.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,253
    Probably too large to send reliably on dial up. Some of my first units at home were like this while I was waiting for my DSL to be turned on.


    Ever have any issues downloading large fiules, or are you using a download accelerator? If you are check your settings and or disable the download accelerator.
     
    10 Million points folded for TPU
  15. oily_17

    oily_17

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    Messages:
    2,313 (0.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    670
    Location:
    Norn Iron
    Never had issues before this,and my connection is good,so I am stumped to what the problem is.

    I have IDM download accelerator but it is disabled so it's not that.
    Is it possible to remove this from the queue so it doesn't keep trying to send.
     
  16. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (4.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,616
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    There should be a queue.dat file in your folding directory. You could try deleting that, but I am not sure if it hold the queue info anywhere else.
     
  17. Steevo

    Steevo

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    8,432 (2.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,253
    Wait for your next WU to end and delete your work folder. After the results are sent. :D
     
    10 Million points folded for TPU
  18. oily_17

    oily_17

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    Messages:
    2,313 (0.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    670
    Location:
    Norn Iron
    OK will do that.
    Just cant figure out what was wrong,maybe problem with result server when I was sending result back.
    Oh well,just have to keep on folding.
     
  19. Steevo

    Steevo

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    8,432 (2.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,253
    Added another machine tonight. Sonicwall client and double RDC to get it setup and check out our remote stores systems.


    But it is done, and I am still not tired, had a couple large RedBulls's earlier over at a friends place then coffee and ice cream. Sugar rush and caffeine.



    Booyah.


    Now to go get two of my other systems and get them back folding and my wife her PC back. Then mebey she won't whine at me. Or a couple shots of Jack and go to bed.
     
    10 Million points folded for TPU
  20. Alcpone

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    2,339 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    96
    Location:
    Tyne & Wear, UK
    According to my log file I have still got 2 wu's in my folding folder which have not been able to be sent, but I am working on a new wu today? I thought if a wu couldnt be sent then it would keep trying until it could be sent before a new wu was issued?

    [10:47:49] + Attempting to send results
    [10:48:20] Couldn't send HTTP request to server (wininet)
    [10:48:20] + Could not connect to Work Server (results)
    [10:48:20] (171.64.65.58:8080)
    [10:48:20] - Error: Could not transmit unit 06 (completed May 14) to work server.


    [10:48:20] + Attempting to send results
    [10:48:51] Couldn't send HTTP request to server (wininet)
    [10:48:51] + Could not connect to Work Server (results)
    [10:48:51] (171.65.103.100:8080)
    [10:48:51] Could not transmit unit 06 to Collection server; keeping in queue.


    [10:48:51] + Attempting to send results
    [10:49:05] Writing local files
    [10:49:05] Completed 2300000 out of 5000000 steps (46)
    [10:49:24] Couldn't send HTTP request to server (wininet)
    [10:49:24] + Could not connect to Work Server (results)
    [10:49:24] (171.65.103.163:8080)
    [10:49:24] - Error: Could not transmit unit 08 (completed May 17) to work server.
     
  21. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (4.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,616
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    No, if the program can't send the results, for whatever reason, it puts the results in a queue and pulls another WU and keeps working. I do not know if there is a limit to how many can be in the queue before it stops pulling new WUs.
     
  22. Steevo

    Steevo

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    8,432 (2.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,253
    I dunno either.
     
    10 Million points folded for TPU
  23. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (4.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,616
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    My results are going ok. Both Oily_17 and Alcpone are on the other side of the big pond, maybe there are some issues with the overseas pipes.
     
  24. Alcpone

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    2,339 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    96
    Location:
    Tyne & Wear, UK
    Well hopefully they will send soon, I will be loosing points by the day on them :(
     
  25. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,122 (6.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,183
    Wow, the power outage really killed my folding efforts yesterday. :cry:

    Thats ok, I added a few more machines to make up for it. :D
     
    50 Million points folded for TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (1 member and 1 guest)

BUCK NASTY

Share This Page