1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

TPU's F@H Team

Discussion in 'Folding@Home' started by W2hCYK, Jun 10, 2006.

  1. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,552 (2.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    828
    Location:
    TX, USA
    Ive been folding I was in the 16000's now im in the 22000's :D and #9 sorry PVTCaboose1337 :p
     
  2. Steevo

    Steevo

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    8,432 (2.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,253
    3 now on the SMP client and my X1800XT folding again. The rest of my herd is under more stress and thus slowing. I might add another to the SMP as they seem to actually work the CPU less than a a few of the regular clients do.
     
    10 Million points folded for TPU
  3. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,131 (6.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,193
    4.4GHz Celeron D replaced with a 3.6GHz Pentium D running the SMP Client.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  4. nflesher87

    nflesher87 Staff

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Messages:
    4,499 (1.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    487
    Location:
    Texas
  5. Alcpone

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    2,339 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    96
    Location:
    Tyne & Wear, UK
    Holding off kreij aslong as I can, another day and I will be relogated to 5th, then 6th after dom catchs up! Has taken him a little while but he has advantage of ati folding, I dont have that option no more and smp refuses to work!
     
  6. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,552 (2.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    828
    Location:
    TX, USA
    Im using SMP FAQ :rolleyes: lot better then GPU but it take like maybe 24hrs+/- for one SMP but I get 1000+ points ;) and GPU its like 8-10 hrs, but only 300+ points :p
     
  7. Alcpone

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    2,339 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    96
    Location:
    Tyne & Wear, UK
    1000 points, maybe I will try again to get it working lol
     
  8. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,552 (2.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    828
    Location:
    TX, USA
    I got it the 1st time you need to folw the directions at the bottom lol

    I didnt want to say anything cuz I wanted to take over 4th and then 3rd :D Cuz later today I shoud be in 4th and I think Kreij well do better cuz he gots a Q :ohwell: so is you need help ask cuz its not hard
     
  9. Alcpone

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    2,339 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    96
    Location:
    Tyne & Wear, UK
    Ive read the faq's

    Ive ran the install:
    ran the bat file, then got this screen, tried keeping it blank then tried my name, then put a password in and got the next screen?

    How did you get past it?
     

    Attached Files:

  10. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,552 (2.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    828
    Location:
    TX, USA
    do you have a password in the log in screen ?
     
  11. Alcpone

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    2,339 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    96
    Location:
    Tyne & Wear, UK
    no
     
  12. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,552 (2.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    828
    Location:
    TX, USA
    :laugh: you need one for the smp to get in the internet

    DETAILED WINDOWS INSTALLATION INSTRUCTIONS

    Installation instructions are also included with the client download in a readme.rtf file.

    NOTE: The account under which the client runs MUST have a password. Blank passwords will cause the FAH cores to fail.

    1. Required component for XP & 2000 (not Vista, as it is built in): The Windows SMP client requires the Microsoft .NET framework v2.0; please install this prior to installing the client. The version 2.0 framework is required; it can co-exist with other versions, but this version must be installed. It can be obtained from Microsoft at the following URL: http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/...cb-4362-4b0d-8edd-aab15c5e04f5&displaylang=en. Administrator privileges are required for install.

    2. Unpack files. Run the self-extracting installer to unpack the SMP client files.

    3. Client installation. Run install.bat from within the SMP install directory to complete the installation. This will install MPI services that the client needs. If you have Windows Firewall enabled, you may get a pop-up window asking if you should give access to the smpd and mpiexec programs. Grant access. If you use an alternate firewall product, you will likely have to make a similar exception for smpd.

    **NOTE** The username and password you provide for mpiexec should be your Windows login that you will run the client under. This is used for authentication on your local machine. It is cached in encrypted form in your Registry and is not transmitted to FAH servers.

    At the end of the install process, you should see two lines of output:

    If you see this twice, MPI is working
    If you see this twice, MPI is working

    If you do not see these lines, do not start the client. MPI is not successfully installed, and the client will not run successfully.


    4. Run the client:

    Run fah.exe to start the SMP client. You will get another pop-up firewall window. Note: We do not currently support running the SMP client as a service
     
  13. Alcpone

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    2,339 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    96
    Location:
    Tyne & Wear, UK
    D'oh lol

    That worked 1st time :)

    only prob now is...
     

    Attached Files:

    • 3.JPG
      3.JPG
      File size:
      140.3 KB
      Views:
      134
  14. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,552 (2.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    828
    Location:
    TX, USA
    do you have win live messager ?
     
  15. Alcpone

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    2,339 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    96
    Location:
    Tyne & Wear, UK
    Ive got a USB massager my gf got me for xmas lol

    Yeah ive got MSN live, im not signed in though!
     
  16. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,552 (2.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    828
    Location:
    TX, USA
    well whats your name so I can add you and get on, cuz its faster then posting on here

    you can send a pm if you want
     
  17. Alcpone

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    2,339 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    96
    Location:
    Tyne & Wear, UK
    Ok cool :)
     
  18. Alcpone

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    2,339 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    96
    Location:
    Tyne & Wear, UK
    1 notch down the league is bad enough, but 2 in 1 day is harendous lol

    Some one please help me get the SMP working, I have tried allsorts but most point me back to thinking its a stanford problem, god dam 0.0.0.0 :(
     
  19. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,131 (6.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,193
    0.0.0.0 means there is no work available for you to do.

    When you configure the client make sure you set the advanced options up so you accept big work units and advanced work units.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  20. Alcpone

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    2,339 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    96
    Location:
    Tyne & Wear, UK
    Ok, I will try again to set it up :)
     
  21. Alcpone

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    2,339 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    96
    Location:
    Tyne & Wear, UK
    Can someone check these settings are ok? I have read its best not to use ie settings to fix the 0.0.0.0 problem also!
     

    Attached Files:

    • 1.JPG
      1.JPG
      File size:
      113.6 KB
      Views:
      115
  22. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,131 (6.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,193
    Change "Request work units without deadlines" to "No". It will then ask you to set the advmethods flag to accept advanced work units, set that to "Yes".
     
    Alcpone says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  23. Alcpone

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    2,339 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    96
    Location:
    Tyne & Wear, UK
    Nice 1, thanks for the help :)
     
  24. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,131 (6.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,193
    No problem.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  25. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,131 (6.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,193
    Oh and by the way, did anyone else notice we broke into the top 600?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)

Share This Page