1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

TPU's F@H Team

Discussion in 'Folding@Home' started by W2hCYK, Jun 10, 2006.

  1. TeXBill

    TeXBill

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    1,358 (0.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    645
    Location:
    TX
    I finally passed that elusive 4,000,000 mark :>)
    With this new rig folding my PPd went up a bunch.
    Hope I can keep it up, thanks for all the help in getting here.
    TPU is the greatest :>)

    I also noticed we have moved up another notch to 38 in the standings, everybody keep up the excellent work.......:>)
    Last edited: Apr 17, 2010
    [Ion] says thanks.
  2. bogmali

    bogmali Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Messages:
    6,642 (2.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,124
    Location:
    Olympia, WA USA
    Grats:toast:
  3. bogmali

    bogmali Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Messages:
    6,642 (2.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,124
    Location:
    Olympia, WA USA
    OK one of my i7 rigs that was folding -bigadv WUs could not fetch anymore 268X WU and is now working on a core A3 WU:confused::wtf: Anybody else have the same issue?
  4. msgclb

    msgclb

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    1,718 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,270
    Location:
    Oklahoma City
    No, but I've got about 3 more hours before my next -bigadv WU:cool: completion. Hopefully whatever problem you had will be solved by then.:)
  5. bogmali

    bogmali Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Messages:
    6,642 (2.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,124
    Location:
    Olympia, WA USA
    Plus the fact that server 171.64.108.22 and 25 are on "reject" status is probably the main culprit:banghead::mad:
  6. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,787 (6.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,889
    Location:
    North Carolina, United States
    So I seem to be averaging about 3400 PPD on the 8800GTS with a mix of 450pt and 548pt WUs, I might be trading it for an 8800GT (the one I used to have) which reliably did ~5k PPD.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. HammerON

    HammerON The Watchful Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,479 (3.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,583
    I am not a Folder (only a serious cruncher), but I would like to help support our Folding team. I have a EVGA GTX 275 (OC edition) that I am selling and will give folders a small discount. PM me if you are interested:toast:

    http://forums.techpowerup.com/showthread.php?t=120213
    bogmali says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. msgclb

    msgclb

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    1,718 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,270
    Location:
    Oklahoma City
    The rain let up here so I went out to get some groceries and while I was out my latest -bigadv WU uploaded and a new:cool: -bigadv WU started. No :banghead::mad: here! For the past couple of days I have been having problems getting new A3 cores WUs. A couple of times it took up to 11 tries but usually only from 3 to 5. Here there have been some :banghead::mad: but occasionally they loaded as designed.

    Just as I was going to submit this post my lights went out. Only for a second or two but 4 rigs went down, 3 with A3 cores. My -bigadv rigs all have a dedicated UPS along with my 24/7 rig. The good news is all of my clients started without loosing anything but time.:)
    Last edited: Apr 18, 2010
  9. hertz9753

    hertz9753

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,079 (0.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    471
    Location:
    Bismarck, ND
    That's good to hear.:toast: I'm worried about our points today, they seem pretty low.:confused:
    msgclb says thanks.
  10. bogmali

    bogmali Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Messages:
    6,642 (2.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,124
    Location:
    Olympia, WA USA
    Good news is that my other rig just finished a bigadv WU as was able to get another; bad news is that the stupid collection server will not upload the finished unit:banghead::mad:

    Msgclb-what server are you tied to?
  11. msgclb

    msgclb

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    1,718 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,270
    Location:
    Oklahoma City
    I haven't a clue!:eek: It looks like the assignment server for my bigadu WU was 171.67.108.22.

    The problems I'm having with the A3 cores used assign.stanford.edu:8080 or
    130.237.232.140:8080.

    I checked one of my GPU clients and it used 171.67.108.21.

    It has been along time since I had one not upload.
  12. bogmali

    bogmali Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Messages:
    6,642 (2.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,124
    Location:
    Olympia, WA USA
    OK I got one credit so far but the other one is still trying to be uploaded.
  13. hertz9753

    hertz9753

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,079 (0.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    471
    Location:
    Bismarck, ND
    I got my smp running today. are these temps okay?

    Attached Files:

  14. bogmali

    bogmali Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Messages:
    6,642 (2.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,124
    Location:
    Olympia, WA USA
    You can squeeze more out of that (3.8 Ghz) and still maintain the current voltage. Temps look good although you could drop it a notch by lowering the voltage. Are you on auto?
  15. hertz9753

    hertz9753

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,079 (0.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    471
    Location:
    Bismarck, ND
    Yes.:eek:

    The system has a GTX 260 and I added a GTS 250 Friday evening to make up for the point loss caused by running the cpu at 100%.
    Last edited: Apr 18, 2010
  16. msgclb

    msgclb

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    1,718 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,270
    Location:
    Oklahoma City
    This is ridiculous.:mad: I've got a -bigadv rig looking for work but failing to find it. It gets successfully assigned to server 171.67.108.22, loading the queue but not connecting to the work server. It just cycles over and over. Anybody else seeing this?
  17. NastyHabits

    NastyHabits

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,073 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    613
    Location:
    Oakland, CA
    My old-fashioned SMP client (non -bigadv) sometimes goes for days without connecting, or getting a WU.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  18. thebluebumblebee

    thebluebumblebee

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,932 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,451
    Is it SMP or SMP2? My SMP2 system just chugs along.....
  19. El Fiendo

    El Fiendo

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2008
    Messages:
    2,305 (1.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,164
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    The only problem I'm having is getting HFM and Fahmon to recognize the bigadv client is running. I've tried synchronizing the clocks (even though I have the NTPD enabled) and that hasn't solved it, so I'm going to try a reinstall of VMWare. Failing that, I'll start over with a freshly downloaded version from LinuxFAH. I have to upgrade to version 1.2 sometime anyways.
  20. NastyHabits

    NastyHabits

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,073 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    613
    Location:
    Oakland, CA
    I'm not certain. It's at work, so I can't check right now. I think I'm using one of the advanced beta clients. Version 6.29 if memory serves me.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  21. msgclb

    msgclb

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    1,718 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,270
    Location:
    Oklahoma City
    My -bigadv rig is back to work!:toast: I don't have any trouble getting HFM to recognize my -bigadv WUs as long as I use the correct network address. A couple of times I either reinstalled or installed a new version of LinuxFAH and the address changed. I had to go scrounging to find it.
  22. bogmali

    bogmali Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Messages:
    6,642 (2.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,124
    Location:
    Olympia, WA USA
    You are having THIS syndrome.........:p

    Just let it cycle through, periodically power down, reboot and it will eventually pick up a WU. Server Stats says that it's accepting so you should be able to fetch one;)

    [​IMG]
  23. johnspack

    johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,358 (1.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    850
    Location:
    Nelson B.C. Canada
    Well, one week to go before I fire back up. I don't remember if I read it anywhere, but is it now possible to fold with cards in sli, or do I need to un-sli them every time I want to fold?
  24. msgclb

    msgclb

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    1,718 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,270
    Location:
    Oklahoma City
    Did I catch that syndrome from you?:p The good news is it's cured!:)

    Where did you get that image or link?
  25. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    you CAN run them in SLI but sometimes it causes problems and performance lost. Give it a shot if you start having problems with SLI on then you will need to disable it :toast:
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page