1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

TPU's F@H Team

Discussion in 'Folding@Home' started by W2hCYK, Jun 10, 2006.

  1. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,786 (6.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,889
    Location:
    North Carolina, United States
    I registered with EVGA a while back when I bought an 8600GTS....and I downloaded EVGA Precision then. Is there a special edition with voltage adjustments that I would need?
    Crunching for Team TPU
  2. bogmali

    bogmali Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Messages:
    6,641 (2.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,124
    Location:
    Olympia, WA USA
    It will only let you download it if you have the following registered under your account:

    Compatible Cards:
    EVGA GTX260
    896-P3-1260-XX
    896-P3-1262-XX
    896-P3-1263-XX
    896-P3-1264-XX
    896-P3-1265-XX
    896-P3-1266-XX
    896-P3-1267-XX
    896-P3-1268-XX
    896-P3-1269-XX
    896-P3-1270-XX
    EVGA GTX280
    01G-P3-1280-XX
    01G-P3-1282-XX
    01G-P3-1284-XX
    01G-P3-1286-XX
    01G-P3-1289-XX
    EVGA GTX295
    017-P3-1291-XX
    017-P3-1292-XX
    017-P3-1293-XX
    017-P3-1294-XX

    :D
    [Ion] says thanks.
  3. hertz9753

    hertz9753

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,076 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    468
    Location:
    Bismarck, ND
    I know when I used to get Nvidia drivers stopped responding and recovered, the card would switch to 2D settings. Sounds like you need a new card.
  4. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,117 (5.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,454
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    alright boys and girls

    OCed the 9800GTX and cut off 45Mins on a task

    Installed Folding@home on 2 Playstations

    1 will take a break here, and there yet the other will crunch 24/7.

    I wonder if this will help me up the food chain list.

    ----

    What cuts the cake is that I have a CF motherboard with onboard video.

    I have not been able to get the onboard to work with the GTX, and I have not been able to boot with a 1800XT 512 with the GTX in the other slot.

    You would think in 7 that I should be able to turn on, and or at least boot with the 1800XT installed. I think it would be worth a few points.....O well IDK IDK IDK I'm not going to stress over something that's may make me kick the crap out of my machine :p
    Last edited: Apr 26, 2010
    [Ion] and BUCK NASTY say thanks.
  5. thebluebumblebee

    thebluebumblebee

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,887 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,423
    You can't Fold on an 1800XT. HD2000 and better for ATI. 8600 and better for Nvidia.
  6. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,786 (6.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,889
    Location:
    North Carolina, United States
    It's technically any Nvidia 8-series cards, I folded on an 8400GS and an 8500GT a while back, albeit with terrible PPD (~600 on the GT and ~400 on the GS)
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. bogmali

    bogmali Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Messages:
    6,641 (2.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,124
    Location:
    Olympia, WA USA
    Well, I was wondering why I only logged in 15K points yesterday and come to find out that I have 4 rigs that shut-off due to power failure and 1 rig that restarted on it's own:wtf::banghead: All good nowso I will have to make up some of those points that I lost:D
  8. msgclb

    msgclb

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    1,718 (0.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,270
    Location:
    Oklahoma City
    The whole world was wondering why?:rolleyes: Well, at least I was wondering but I knew you must be having some big problems.:confused: Good to here that everything is good now.:)
  9. El Fiendo

    El Fiendo

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2008
    Messages:
    2,305 (1.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,164
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    I was fairly surprised when I saw him drop off the pie charts yesterday. Glad to hear that it was an easy resolution Bogi.
  10. BUCK NASTY

    BUCK NASTY F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,445 (1.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,517
    Location:
    Tallahassee, FL. U.S.A.
    I was like:

    [​IMG]
    Crunching for Team TPU
  11. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,786 (6.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,889
    Location:
    North Carolina, United States
    So I'm almost certainly getting the GTX 260 this weekend, so it'll be up almost 24/7 for the duration of the Chimp Challenge, and should be on almost as much afterwords :)
    Crunching for Team TPU
  12. johnspack

    johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,352 (1.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    Location:
    Nelson B.C. Canada
    Sli 260s in da house! Busy playing right now, but will fold them tonight.
  13. BUCK NASTY

    BUCK NASTY F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,445 (1.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,517
    Location:
    Tallahassee, FL. U.S.A.
    I hope we can see all those shader's a'blazin during the Chimp Challenge!

    :toast:
    johnspack says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  14. johnspack

    johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,352 (1.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    Location:
    Nelson B.C. Canada
    I'll have to figure out how to get into that. Also, still need one more 750w psu to run my 280 and 9800gtx in my server to fold 24/7. Any offers of help welcome!(I'm sooo tapped out)
  15. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,786 (6.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,889
    Location:
    North Carolina, United States
    What sort of clocks should a c192 GTX260 get at 70% fan speed?
    Crunching for Team TPU
  16. johnspack

    johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,352 (1.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    Location:
    Nelson B.C. Canada
    I'm at safe clocks of 666/1150 ram/1400 shaders. These things can do 715/1150/1500+ in single card mode. That goes for all versions. The 192 version should clock even higher.
    Core not so much....
  17. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,008 (4.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
  18. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,786 (6.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,889
    Location:
    North Carolina, United States
    Crunching for Team TPU
  19. hertz9753

    hertz9753

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,076 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    468
    Location:
    Bismarck, ND
    I wouldn't fold at those settings, you don't need the core and mem. that high. Welcome back johnspack.:toast:
    johnspack says thanks.
  20. johnspack

    johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,352 (1.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    Location:
    Nelson B.C. Canada
    Think I'll do the 280 and a 260 for tonight. Gotta see what ppd I can get.
    I'm not at max oc on the 260, but I'm using the PNY 55nm, it'll oc!
  21. johnspack

    johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,352 (1.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    Location:
    Nelson B.C. Canada
    Okay, I seriously need to learn how to tweak my cards for folding, this is no good! :

    [​IMG]
  22. hertz9753

    hertz9753

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,076 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    468
    Location:
    Bismarck, ND
  23. johnspack

    johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,352 (1.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    Location:
    Nelson B.C. Canada
    Nah, the 260 is doing good, and I can get more out of it. The 280 was bothering me, but it crept upto 7900 and is staying there now. Still would like more though...!
  24. hertz9753

    hertz9753

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,076 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    468
    Location:
    Bismarck, ND
    OK, here's more. Since I know that you are using Evga Precision the core and shaders should be unlinked and don't sync to the other card, and no SLI bridges or software.;)
  25. johnspack

    johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,352 (1.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    Location:
    Nelson B.C. Canada
    Yep, I know, thats why I'm running a 280 and a 260 right now. No sli!

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page