1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

TPU's F@H Team

Discussion in 'Folding@Home' started by W2hCYK, Jun 10, 2006.

  1. theonedub

    theonedub habe fidem

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Messages:
    7,430 (3.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,255
    That's what I thought which is why his post below was confusing me.

    [​IMG]
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  2. msgclb

    msgclb

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    1,719 (0.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,271
    Location:
    Oklahoma City
    I was only getting the 611 WUs on all my GTX 400 GPUs before my problem started.
    Now I'm getting 912 and 925 WUs.

    I'm not positive but I think my OC on my GTX 465 might have been to much when it switched to a 925 WU.

    I don't remember for sure what the OC was but it might have been this...

    GPU: 651
    Mem: 1674
    Shader: 1301
    611 WU PPD: 10998

    I put it on the stock settings and now I'm getting this...

    GPU: 608
    Mem: 1603
    Shader: 1215
    925 WU PPD: 11928

    My GTX 465 has now completed 4 925 WUs. When I get some energy:rolleyes: I might do some OCing.

    --
    This afternoon I ordered a GTS 450 to put in my 24/7 machine. I currently have a GTS 250 in this rig but it gets to hot to run very often.

    I'm also building up my PayPal account to buy a GTX 460. This might not happen until I get my next SS check around the 20th.
     
    BUCK NASTY says thanks.
  3. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    12,772 (6.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,943
    Location:
    Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
    Actually I'm not ;)

    With the WinSMP client, I had bigadv & 1 nV GPU comfortably running in 2GB on my i7 (XP Pro SP3).

    Win7 + 1 GPU + standard SMP will run OK on 1GB
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. bogmali

    bogmali Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Messages:
    6,770 (2.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,201
    Location:
    Pacific NorthWest
    I will put these babies on 24 hour duty starting tomorrow:D

    [​IMG]
     
  5. theonedub

    theonedub habe fidem

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Messages:
    7,430 (3.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,255
    That's pretty crazy, wonder why the req skyrockets on a different OS. I mean I could understand if it was Linux vs Windows, but XP->Vista->7?!

    Are you sure you were actually sent and working on a bigadv WU? Were you also getting the bonus? I just can't wrap my head around the difference.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,823 (3.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    just got the 465 up and running

    BIG thanks to KieX for helping me through teamviewer cause im a fucktard at this lol :laugh:

    how does the ppd look?

    [​IMG]
     
    [Ion], KieX and theonedub say thanks.
  7. theonedub

    theonedub habe fidem

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Messages:
    7,430 (3.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,255
    PPD looks good, start the OCing :D

    Speaking of PPD, what the heck is up with these new (at least to me) 494 WUs on GPU2? They are killing my PPD- went from 15k PPD across both cards to 13k PPD :(
     
    (FIH) The Don says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,823 (3.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    will do later, im thinking around 750 on the core? dont think i can oc shaders alone :(
     
  9. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    looks great to me :toast:

    also on a different note i keep getting EUE on my 8800GTS i think it could be failing as i don't even have it overclocked.I think i need to test it with OCCT and furmark to find out if something is going wrong with it or maybe it's just F@H
     
    (FIH) The Don says thanks.
  10. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,823 (3.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    thx guys, Buck said there was another 3k to get through some overclocking, so ill get on it later :toast:
    think i will get the 470 up and running part time in a day or 2 :D
     
  11. KieX

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    2,408 (1.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,462
    Location:
    London, UK
    Little noob to this.. but can you OC two cards at the same time through MSI Afterburner without the SLI bridge connected?
     
  12. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,823 (3.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    you should be able to, i think there is a checking box that says apply for similar cards

    in settings
     
  13. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    not sure about Afterburner but i know you can with EVGA precision so i would think you should be able to with Afterburner also.
     
    KieX says thanks.
  14. KieX

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    2,408 (1.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,462
    Location:
    London, UK
    Is that software tied to EVGA hardware? my 460's are MSI.

    Also, can anyone give me some idea of what settings I can use on the 460's for stable folding?
     
  15. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,823 (3.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    i think evga precision only works with nvidia cards, i use it on my gainward and asus
     
    KieX says thanks.
  16. bogmali

    bogmali Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Messages:
    6,770 (2.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,201
    Location:
    Pacific NorthWest
    You can do it with both. Precision is not tied to EVGA specifically but rather all Nvidia based GPU's (just about). It works with "most" ATI/AMD as well:D
     
    KieX says thanks.
  17. KieX

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    2,408 (1.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,462
    Location:
    London, UK
    Cool thanks for all the tips. Time to fire up the dedicated cruncher/folder and finally get it going full force sometime today. :D
     
  18. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,823 (3.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    question guys

    i have the 465 as 2nd gpu in system, now i have overclocked it a bit

    but i wanna test it to make sure it works, the problem is,....the testing programs only test on the 470 :(

    is there anythin i can do about it or just run f@h and hope it doesnt crash?
     
  19. bogmali

    bogmali Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Messages:
    6,770 (2.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,201
    Location:
    Pacific NorthWest
    What is the program?
     
  20. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,823 (3.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    furmark, occt, kombustor
     
  21. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    12,772 (6.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,943
    Location:
    Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
    Didn't know it worked on most ATIs as well....that's cool :D
    Yeah, it had a bigadv, a P268x (don't remember exactly). Didn't end up getting bonuses because I was an idiot, OCed it too high, it BSOD'd and didn't restart automatically (didn't have the shortcut where I needed it).....and it missed the preferred deadline by 13 minutes by the time I got it restarted :shadedshu :shadedshu :rolleyes:

    What sort of mem requirements have you had? I *might* be able to give it a shot on my i7 if you really want....but that would involve reinstalling Windows (running Kubuntu, got tired of Windows 7)
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  22. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    you could switch cards around and use the 465 as the primary and test it at the speeds you want or you can just run F@H and see if you get any EUE or crashes,etc. when i ran 2 cards that aren't the same i would use the F@H method the most often.
     
  23. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,823 (3.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    im doing that now lol

    running @700 on the core, meaning 1400 on shaders, dont think they can be unlinked on these cards, if yes tell me how lol

    so far it looks nice

    up @ 12200pp from what the program says
     
  24. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    you maybe able to get alittle more out of it. But i don't think there is a way to unlink the shaders. :)eek:ucking nvidia :shadedshu)

    is there a software "volt mod" on your card?

    btw next month i hope i can get a gtx460 or gts450 to replace my 8800GTS
     
  25. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    12,772 (6.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,943
    Location:
    Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
    You should be able to do 750/1500 :)
    That would be a nice replacement, I'm considering a GTX460 as a replacement for my 260 (GTS450 is about same speed)
     
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page