1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

TPU's F@H Team

Discussion in 'Folding@Home' started by W2hCYK, Jun 10, 2006.

  1. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,256 (6.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,294
    Yep, that is the correct SMP core(a1). Now 4 processes with that name should pop up using ~25% of your CPU each once work starts.

    Also, the SMP client can be configured to work as a service. However, once you install it as a service you have to go into services.msc and configure it. You need to go into the service's properties and go to the logon tab. There you can tell it to use your username and password and it will work after that.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  2. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,421 (5.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,719
    Location:
    Florida
    sorry i kinda scrolled up on that screen...
     

    Attached Files:

  3. Ben Clarke

    Ben Clarke

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Messages:
    4,403 (1.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    152
    Location:
    England
    Solaris17 says thanks.
  4. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,256 (6.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,294
    If it is having a problem starting the core, it is probably because you need to re-run install.bat. And you have to have a password.
     
    Solaris17 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  5. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,421 (5.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,719
    Location:
    Florida
    YES im up boys i created a password for my account re ran install.bat used the pass now im at 000 steps complete (o percent) shes working Solaris is folding smp style and my task manager confirms it w00ot!!! thank you.
     
  6. Ben Clarke

    Ben Clarke

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Messages:
    4,403 (1.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    152
    Location:
    England
    Solaris, to allow you to monitor the progress and calculate your PPD, use the tool I posted above ;) And don't forgot to thank us for our help ;)
     
  7. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,421 (5.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,719
    Location:
    Florida
    of course ill thank you but first any ideas? im getting closer but ughghghgh
     

    Attached Files:

  8. Ben Clarke

    Ben Clarke

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Messages:
    4,403 (1.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    152
    Location:
    England
    I'll post that on the FAH boards for you. Sit tight till I get a response.

    EDIT: Try uninstalling FAH through Add/Remove Programs, and try instaling again.
     
    Solaris17 says thanks.
  9. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,421 (5.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,719
    Location:
    Florida
    ok tnx for the help
     
  10. Ben Clarke

    Ben Clarke

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Messages:
    4,403 (1.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    152
    Location:
    England
    Did you try the re-install method?
     
  11. Steevo

    Steevo

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    8,574 (2.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,329
    This is more sensative to hardware failure than any other software I have found. My C2D here needed to have a .2 volt increase after a week of running the SMP to remain stable, everything else worked fine, but F@H is that sensative.
     
    10 Million points folded for TPU
  12. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,421 (5.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,719
    Location:
    Florida
    thats what im doing rasing my voltages and adjusting my timings. i remember when oblivion came out it hated OC's
     
  13. Steevo

    Steevo

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    8,574 (2.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,329
    The reason Intels prform so much better with F@H is the higher precision they can do, in the tiny microscopic relm of rounding a processor does a few billionths make a difference, and a slightly different round up or down can make a huge difference on a project likt this.
     
    10 Million points folded for TPU
  14. Ben Clarke

    Ben Clarke

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Messages:
    4,403 (1.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    152
    Location:
    England
    Solaris, try the reinstall method. That might work.
     
  15. oily_17

    oily_17

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    Messages:
    2,313 (0.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    670
    Location:
    Norn Iron
    Try with less of an OC,I had to cut back on my OC to get SMP to fold on my Opty.
     
  16. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    i will be folding on a 1.2ghz Celeron soon for TPU and i am going to be folding for TPU soon on my system that is in my specs.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  17. imperialreign

    imperialreign New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,043 (2.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    909
    Location:
    Sector ZZ₉ Plural Z Alpha
    I'd have to absolutely agree . . . I finally got around to getting this P4 stable at 4GHz, and F@H is the only program that will crash the rig, after about 30-45min of running. Nothing else seems to be that sensitive - I've been able to run ScienceMark, SuperPi, PCMark05, F@H GPU, and F@H CPU simultaneously from initial boot - but if I leave just the CPU console alone for a long while, BSoD.

    I still wish I could take more of an advantage with the HyperThreading capability of this CPU, but HT isn't supported in any of their consoles, yet. Just CPU alone only runs at 40% load, if I add in the GPU console, it puts it straight at 100%. Oh well . . .
     
  18. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    folding on my X2 and a 1.2ghz Celeron. Should help bring TPU up some maybe not alot but every little bit will help right?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  19. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,421 (5.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,719
    Location:
    Florida
    yay ok guys i cut back to 2.85 and she'll fold no problem i win!!!!! smp folding ftw!
     
  20. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,256 (6.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,294
    Good to hear it. Start pumping out those WUs.:toast:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  21. Ben Clarke

    Ben Clarke

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Messages:
    4,403 (1.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    152
    Location:
    England
    Screw it. I'm going back to XP, and SMP. See ya'll later.
     
  22. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    17,033 (5.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,105
    Location:
    Ohio
    Any idea on when they will get the F@H GPU version working on Nvidia cards, specifically the 8 series?
    lol 6.66 PPD
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  23. Ben Clarke

    Ben Clarke

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Messages:
    4,403 (1.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    152
    Location:
    England
    They won't. Pandegroup said NVIDIA won't help them with the driver, and the cards don't have the performance anyways. Apparantly.
     
  24. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    17,033 (5.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,105
    Location:
    Ohio
    WTGAY!!
    What's so special about SMP anyway? Is it faster? Would it do workunits that the old console would do? I'f so I'm going to run double SMP instead of double... uh... old core as soon as my current WU's finish (76%)
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  25. Ben Clarke

    Ben Clarke

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Messages:
    4,403 (1.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    152
    Location:
    England
    You should only run 1 SMP, it was designed to use 4 cores. It's not faster, it just makes use of all cores instead of just 1.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page