1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

TPU's F@H Team

Discussion in 'Folding@Home' started by W2hCYK, Jun 10, 2006.

  1. mstenholm

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2,194 (1.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,313
    I would have thought that the artifacts originated from the card but a bad connection can give all sorts of problems so why not artifacts as well. Let´s hope they stay away from now on.
     
    TeXBill says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  2. TeXBill

    TeXBill

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    1,358 (0.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    645
    Location:
    TX
    +1 yep I hate to do an RMA with my best folding card right now. I already took a bad hit from the last week or so since it's been screwing up.
     
  3. theonedub

    theonedub habe fidem

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Messages:
    7,270 (3.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,896
    Ive had a cheap cable drop signal before but not artifact.

    My fan speed is set to 72%, but once I saw it at 82C I adjusted the fan profile to 82%, but the temps did not change on that WU. The 611 its on now is doing 79C.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    12,503 (6.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,491
    Location:
    Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
    Well, I pushed my clocks up to 950, and they weren't stable (at least at 1.15v) :ohwell:

    Had an EUE pause while I was having dinner, so that's a no-go.

    And, I'm back to getting 611s for only 7.8k PPD (vs 14k) :(
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. grunt_408

    grunt_408

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Messages:
    2,027 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    488
    Location:
    Australia
    Sign me up. Let me know what i need to fold for tpu. Got 2 here that could fold.
     
    King Wookie says thanks.
  6. thebluebumblebee

    thebluebumblebee

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,387 (1.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,984
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Does this happen to the GTX460?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  7. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    12,503 (6.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,491
    Location:
    Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
    SMP guide in the essentials thread, it's out of date and I'm going to re-write whenever I have time
    PPD still drops, but not by 50%. IIRC it gets around 10k on the 611s
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,823 (3.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    how much does a gtx-280 spit out a day?


    yeah i got one earlier too, 9k :(
     
  9. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    iirc ~10.5k at stock and 12-13k oced

    well alittle googling says i'm wrong. i found ~7k ppd but that seems really low
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  10. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,823 (3.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    thats not so bad, but id rather get a 450 then, around same price used and like half the power usage for the 450 lol
     
  11. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    12,503 (6.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,491
    Location:
    Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
    IIRC ~8.5k stock and ~10k OCed
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  12. theonedub

    theonedub habe fidem

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Messages:
    7,270 (3.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,896
    I think those numbers are pretty much spot on. I folded with a GTX 280 and 285 (only for a couple days) and there was only a minor improvement over the 275. Makes sense since mem doesnt really impact PPD hard and both cards rock 240 shaders :D
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  13. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (5.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    my 2 sr2's at work are still running. i did switch them to bigadv but they have yet to get a big WU from the server.

    home machine is down due to me moving and having no net at new place yet.
     
    DaMulta, mstenholm and hertz9753 say thanks.
  14. hertz9753

    hertz9753

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,096 (0.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    479
    Location:
    Bismarck, ND
    I agree with Ion and theonedub.
     
  15. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    12,503 (6.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,491
    Location:
    Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
    I think your systems keep EUEing, you'll need to qualify a new passkey (the current one is probably too far gone at this point).

    If you don't maintain at least an 80% success rate, you'll get no bonuses, and I think you've completely blown that.

    A new passkey would probably be best, I'd lower the clocks as well so they don't keep EUEing
     
    Fitseries3 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  16. mstenholm

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2,194 (1.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,313
    My 450 is starting to get NAN´s at a slight OC. After five I had to reinstall the client and lower the OC but then I got three on the same WU (10632, 16, 115, 15). Now I run it at default clocks. 8 hours wasted.

    EDIT: It was not enough to delete the entire folding directory and re-install. I kept getting the same one and it kept throw errors at me. I had to re-install and change the machine ID.
     
    Last edited: Oct 21, 2010
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  17. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    12,503 (6.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,491
    Location:
    Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
    Wow..sounds like a bad WU. I'd go over to the FoldingForum and report it ;)


    In the mean time, both of my GPUs have the worst WUs possible :shadedshu
    [​IMG]
    I'm down not quite 8k PPD total :(
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  18. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (10.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    Guys about how much will two 450's put out stock? Also what about power draw compared to a gtx 295 let's say? I appreciate the help, at work right now :(
     
  19. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    12,503 (6.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,491
    Location:
    Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
    Mine does between 7.5k (611pt WUs) and 14k (9XX PT WUs). Mostly it's been on the 9XXs, but it's had about half a dozen 611s now.

    TDP @ stock is 106w, so I'd assume no more than 250w for the pair folding w/ a slight OC/OV :)
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  20. Feänor

    Feänor New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2005
    Messages:
    512 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    238
    Optimizing folding@home, especially smp and bigadv

    Hello everyone. I've made the move to folding on a ram disk a month ago, and must say to everyone who care about it's ppd, it is the way to go!!! Around 3500-4000 ppd more only on the bigadv, 1000-2000 on smp and a few hundreds more on gpu2. I'm using DataRam ramdisk software, and it took maybe 5 minutes to copy everything and complete setup. A 512 mg disk is just fine, never seen it full. But having more than 4 gb of ram seems a must, as i'm using a hair more than 4gb, so adding (or removing to be precise) 512 mb will impact global performance if you're short on memory. Just my two cents to share!

    I'm currently folding on 6 client at a time, so if someone fold on maybe one or two client, it could be done even on a 4gb system. Just check your ram while folding, and see if your system can afford 512mb less.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Oct 21, 2010
    Chicken Patty, [Ion] and mstenholm say thanks.
  21. mstenholm

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2,194 (1.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,313
    Thanks. I will give it a go on my next i7 build.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  22. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    12,503 (6.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,491
    Location:
    Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
    Wow, that's amazing!

    How did you set it up? And can it auto-back up to disk? I reboot fairly frequently :(

    I'll see if it's possible on my i7 setup, even w/ only 2GB
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  23. Feänor

    Feänor New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2005
    Messages:
    512 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    238
    As long as you choose to reboot, i.e. your sytems don't crash or bsod, it'll backup everything. Personnally, when i close my system, i just clic on reboot or close, i don't close all my client manually, and windows does all the job for me. Never had any problem of any kind with that.

    BUT, because there is a but, if your systems crash, you'll lose everything you've done since the last time you started your computer. I've learned this the hard way when i used folding for testing my i7's OC.
     
    [Ion] says thanks.
  24. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    12,503 (6.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,491
    Location:
    Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
    I haven't had a crash in quite a while....if it's reboot safe, I'll definitely investigate!

    Thanks! :toast: :respect:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  25. oily_17

    oily_17

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    Messages:
    2,313 (0.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    670
    Location:
    Norn Iron
    Well my PPD will be down for today and maybe tomorrow :(

    Got my new i7/board yesterday and thought I would save some time today, and just pulled the 2 GTX460's from the other machine.

    Installed all parts into a case, and setup my water loop, pressed start and.....nothing :confused: :shadedshu :banghead:

    Kind of pissed off ATM, I knew I should have checked first just set up on the box, will have to start pulling parts, but dont have the time (and also have a banging migraine)

    Hopefully have this up and running by tomorrow, fingers crossed.
     
    BUCK NASTY says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 4 (3 members and 1 guest)

revin, mstenholm, Knoxx29

Share This Page