1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

TPU's F@H Team

Discussion in 'Folding@Home' started by W2hCYK, Jun 10, 2006.

  1. oily_17

    oily_17

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    Messages:
    2,313 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    670
    Location:
    Norn Iron
    Just checked my setup figures -

    i7 920 @4GHz, memory at 8-8-8-18 but only running 1140MHz (I had it turned down to get the OC on the CPU stable)

    Will have to play with the settings some more when this WU finishes.
  2. mstenholm

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2,026 (1.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,136
    Some people on Folding Forums think that the timings and RAM speed are of great importance. I will test my hex with lower timings once I get my new sticks. I have a TPF of 21:59 (2686) to beat. Hopefully tomorrow.
    oily_17 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. oily_17

    oily_17

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    Messages:
    2,313 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    670
    Location:
    Norn Iron
    I don't want to reboot till this WU finishes, I hear the 2684 are flaky.

    So will wait and get it setup better in a few days.

    EDIT: BTW, Thanks for the info mstenholm
  4. TeXBill

    TeXBill

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    1,358 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    645
    Location:
    TX
    This is my AMD hex 1055T oc to 3.8GHZ with a PNY465 GPU

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Oct 24, 2010
    KieX and Chicken Patty say thanks.
  5. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,117 (5.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,454
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    Down a card folding son stole the rig for new vegas
  6. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,225
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    Well you find a reason to punish him by taking the PC away. :laugh:

    "You didn't use a fork for your food???????? GROUNDED!!!!!!!!!" :roll::roll::roll::roll::roll:
    DaMulta says thanks.
  7. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,117 (5.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,454
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    better yet, make him play on on-board instead of the 9800gtx for the lolz
  8. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,225
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    :rockout: Works for me :p
  9. TeXBill

    TeXBill

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    1,358 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    645
    Location:
    TX
    I tried the Tracker file and it works pretty good Check out the above post on my X6 amd.
  10. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,786 (6.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,889
    Location:
    North Carolina, United States
    !

    That's hot! :eek:

    Awesome that you have 3 bigadvs ATM, that's sweet! :toast::toast:
    With a TPF like that, might it be better to just do standard SMP?
    :rockout:
    That looks great...you have quite the farm! :rockout:
    I might have to give it a shot...it could be a lot easier than lots of different clients
    Crunching for Team TPU
  11. oily_17

    oily_17

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    Messages:
    2,313 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    670
    Location:
    Norn Iron
    Yeah, I used it to setup my new clients on the i7 rig.It is very easy to get multiply clients running.

    @Ion, both getting about the same PPD now, just hoping with a better OC and better WU that my PPD will go up using -bigadv.
  12. TeXBill

    TeXBill

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    1,358 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    645
    Location:
    TX
    It makes it easy if you are setting up several client's. I used it on the one rig just to test it and it has worked great for about 4 days now
  13. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,786 (6.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,889
    Location:
    North Carolina, United States
    Well, I'll be getting a 3rd GPU before too long, and it seems like it would be nice to be able to start/stop all of them easier....
    Crunching for Team TPU
  14. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,117 (5.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,454
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    he said he isn't getting off
    he LOLed when I said I should ground you for not using a fork with your sandwich
    Then went I told him to play with the on-board video card he gave me the LOLz, and told me to report back to you guys.

    That he isn't doing any of that stuff unless he gets a million dollars.

    I should of bought it for PS3 :slap:
    KieX says thanks.
  15. theonedub

    theonedub habe fidem

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Messages:
    7,125 (3.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,656
    Everythings back up now

    Went out of town to spend some time with the the Mrs' side of the family :D Weather was poor, but it was a good time.
    garyinhere says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  16. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,779 (2.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,485
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    I still can't get my HD 5770 (primary) folding on my main rig with SMP and a GT220 (secondary). FAH GPU Tracker has no option for R800, so running GPU 1 with it causes F@H to think I have two NVIDIA cards. Running a standalone GPU3 client gives me this:

    [​IMG]

    Help?
    Crunching for Team TPU
  17. thebluebumblebee

    thebluebumblebee

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,864 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,411
    If the 5770 is the primary GPU, the switch should be -gpu 0. Secondary is -gpu 1. And I thought that r700 worked for the 5000 series.
  18. NastyHabits

    NastyHabits

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,072 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    609
    Location:
    Oakland, CA
    I'm running an i930 at 4 GHz. Memory is running at 6-7-7-16 at 1188 MHz. (I did nothing yet in setup, just upped BLK)

    I could go higher, but need to cool the NB better first. I'm also running a single GTX260. It looks like the extra GPU client must account for the difference.
    Last edited: Oct 24, 2010
    mstenholm says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  19. oily_17

    oily_17

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    Messages:
    2,313 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    670
    Location:
    Norn Iron
    Quote from Tracker site -

    Not sure why my TPF is at 53min, we are both about same OC and running on 7 cores but about 4min different in TPF.I also have the 2 GPU clients tied to the 8th core that is not used by the SMP client.
    Last edited: Oct 24, 2010
  20. BUCK NASTY

    BUCK NASTY F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,438 (1.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,500
    Location:
    Tallahassee, FL. U.S.A.
    I have a -bigadv dumping tonite that should put us over 1 mil for the day. I also have another dumping tomorrow morning. Bogmali has done an excellent job leading us for the last few months and has caused more than a few of us to re-consider our folding strategy. While our points may look a little slim now, that just means there are quite a few -bigadv's ready to be dumped in the next few days. Keep up the phenomenal work guys!
    mstenholm, bogmali, [Ion] and 3 others say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  21. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,786 (6.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,889
    Location:
    North Carolina, United States
    Awesome Buck, it would be great to see a bigadv a day from you :rockout:
    Crunching for Team TPU
  22. BUCK NASTY

    BUCK NASTY F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,438 (1.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,500
    Location:
    Tallahassee, FL. U.S.A.
    Just picked up another 2685:rockout:. I could get used to this...:D
    Crunching for Team TPU
  23. garyinhere

    garyinhere

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,599 (0.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    948
    Location:
    I'm roomates with Corey Feldman
    Hey guys i have a new cruncher/folder that will hopefully be up by the middle of the week... thing is i don't have any ddr3 for this new mobo... i would gladly pay for it if anyone has any laying around. Preferably 1600's but i'll take 1333's too. 2x 2gig preferably. Please help it's the only thing i lack!!!!
  24. bogmali

    bogmali Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Messages:
    6,641 (2.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,124
    Location:
    Olympia, WA USA
    Two rigs ATM, won't get to troubleshooting until tomorrow.
    hertz9753 and BUCK NASTY say thanks.
  25. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,779 (2.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,485
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    So, I wiped out my entire FAH GPU Tracker folder and started fresh with v3.31 stable. Hit autodetect GPUs and it only picked up my GeForce GT 220 as GPU 0 in slot 2 of my motherboard, and auto set it as GPU2 as nvidia_g80. Manually added my XFX HD 5770 (slot 1) as GPU 1 ati_r700 using the GPU2 client. Also have SMP going on my Phenom II X4. Besides manually enabling GPU 1 as r700, everything else is default. SMP and GPU 0 (GT 220) work flawlessly. HD 5770 STILL DOESN'T WORK. :banghead: :banghead: :banghead:

    --- Opening Log file [October 25 06:37:56 UTC]


    # Windows GPU Console Edition #################################################
    ###############################################################################

    Folding@Home Client Version 6.23

    http://folding.stanford.edu

    ###############################################################################
    ###############################################################################

    Launch directory: C:\Users\******\Downloads\FAH_GPU_Tracker_V2\FAH GPU Tracker V2\GPU1
    Executable: C:\Users\******\Downloads\FAH_GPU_Tracker_V2\FAH GPU Tracker V2\FAH_GPU2.exe
    Arguments: -oneunit -forceasm -forcegpu ati_r700 -gpu 1

    Warning:
    By using the -forceasm flag, you are overriding
    safeguards in the program. If you did not intend to
    do this, please restart the program without -forceasm.
    If work units are not completing fully (and particularly
    if your machine is overclocked), then please discontinue
    use of the flag.

    [06:37:56] - Ask before connecting: No
    [06:37:56] - User name: Jstn7477 (Team 50711)
    [06:37:56] - User ID: 4015856E048EF478
    [06:37:56] - Machine ID: 4
    [06:37:56]
    [06:37:56] Loaded queue successfully.
    [06:37:56]
    [October6] + Processing work unit
    [06:37:56] Core required: FahCore_11.exe
    [06:37:56] Core found.
    [06:37:56] Working on queue slot 01 [October 25 06:37:56 UTC]
    [06:37:56] + Working ...
    [06:37:56]
    [06:37:56] *------------------------------*
    [06:37:56] Folding@Home GPU Core - Beta
    [06:37:56] Version 1.24 (Mon Feb 9 11:00:12 PST 2009)
    [06:37:56]
    [06:37:56] Compiler : Microsoft (R) 32-bit C/C++ Optimizing Compiler Version 14.00.50727.762 for 80x86
    [06:37:56] Build host: amoeba
    [06:37:56] Board Type: AMD
    [06:37:56] Core :
    [06:37:56] Preparing to commence simulation
    [06:37:56] - Ensuring status. Please wait.
    [06:38:05] - Assembly optimizations manually forced on.
    [06:38:05] - Not checking prior termination.
    [06:38:05] - Expanded 70331 -> 360060 (decompressed 511.9 percent)
    [06:38:05] Called DecompressByteArray: compressed_data_size=70331 data_size=360060, decompressed_data_size=360060 diff=0
    [06:38:05] - Digital signature verified
    [06:38:05]
    [06:38:05] Project: 5740 (Run 4, Clone 533, Gen 269)
    [06:38:05]
    [06:38:05] Assembly optimizations on if available.
    [06:38:05] Entering M.D.
    [06:38:11] Tpr hash work/wudata_01.tpr: 41151596 3173580908 549985512 926028836 4170434257
    [06:38:14] CoreStatus = FFFFFFF6 (-10)
    [06:38:14] Client-core communications error: ERROR 0xfffffff6
    [06:38:14] This is a sign of more serious problems, shutting down.
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)

Share This Page