1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

TPU's F@H Team

Discussion in 'Folding@Home' started by W2hCYK, Jun 10, 2006.

  1. popswala

    popswala New Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,294 (1.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    957
    Location:
    Conway, AR
    I'm gonna switch over to it after projects done. I got a lil tinkering to do with my oc since its not showing info right. Its showing core clock 405 when its oc'ed to 860. It was higher yesterday.
  2. TeXBill

    TeXBill

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    1,358 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    645
    Location:
    TX
    I would back off on the OC and see if that changes. I think that fermi cards will throttle back if you have the OC set to high. Not sure on that maybe somebody on here that knows more can tell me if I'm right or not...

    Also you can't have tracker running and a different folding@home client @ the same time. You have to either use the tracker V2 program or the folding@home client not both.
    popswala says thanks.
    More than 25k PPD
  3. theonedub

    theonedub habe fidem

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Messages:
    7,125 (3.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,656
    From Guru3D:

    TeXBill and popswala say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. popswala

    popswala New Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,294 (1.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    957
    Location:
    Conway, AR
    Alright. I'm now using tracker. In evga precision and msi ab, it still shows gpu1 core clock at 405. I reset to default 763.

    I guess I could open her up and check thermal. I normally do and redo everything. Was just to anxious to start using it.
  5. TeXBill

    TeXBill

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    1,358 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    645
    Location:
    TX
    I wonder if you Can turn the power saver off?
    More than 25k PPD
  6. popswala

    popswala New Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,294 (1.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    957
    Location:
    Conway, AR
    I wana guess since my clock is showing 405. That's prob why my ppd is just a lil over 5k.
  7. TeXBill

    TeXBill

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    1,358 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    645
    Location:
    TX
    Yes my guess also, that's Why I asked You to try turning it back some and see if that usage goes up
    More than 25k PPD
  8. popswala

    popswala New Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,294 (1.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    957
    Location:
    Conway, AR
    usage does show 99%. tracker is showing progress. but ppd is low and core & shader clock show half of set default speeds.
  9. TeXBill

    TeXBill

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    1,358 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    645
    Location:
    TX
    Screen shot please
    More than 25k PPD
  10. garyinhere

    garyinhere

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,599 (0.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    948
    Location:
    I'm roomates with Corey Feldman
    pretty sure you're running unstable 3d clocks so it's knocking you down to 2d clocks
  11. popswala

    popswala New Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,294 (1.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    957
    Location:
    Conway, AR
    Don't mind the big flucs on usage. thats from opening and using fox.

    [​IMG]
  12. theonedub

    theonedub habe fidem

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Messages:
    7,125 (3.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,656
    Dont use Precision and Afterburner, thats two programs meant for the same purpose. The NV sentinel will not disable until you reboot (at least in my exp), so reboot, leave everything closed but the F@H app and Afterburner and see if the clocks are right. If they are watch and see if they downclock while folding.
    popswala says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  13. popswala

    popswala New Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,294 (1.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    957
    Location:
    Conway, AR
    I'll try that. brb
  14. bogmali

    bogmali Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Messages:
    6,641 (2.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,124
    Location:
    Olympia, WA USA
    Had that same problem last night with my EVGA GTX460, drop down to stock clocks and see if you get the PPD it's suppose to get.
  15. popswala

    popswala New Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,294 (1.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    957
    Location:
    Conway, AR
    Finally showing stock. waiting for everything to load to see if ppd went up.

    Thats kinda lame that I can't change clocks on fly. Have to restart and wait for load. arrrg
  16. MoonPig

    MoonPig

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Messages:
    5,723 (2.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    886
    Location:
    Wakefield, UK
    Just wondering about some PPD scores. I started folding again yesterday on my new 9600GT:

    353wu = 3,696 PPD
    494wu = 2,974 PPD
    587wu = 3,559 PPD

    That's taken from logs over the past 24hours.

    Edit, Screenshot:
    http://img.techpowerup.org/101115/Untitled342.jpg

    Also, what exactly is SMP? Been awhile since i folded :)
  17. thebluebumblebee

    thebluebumblebee

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,864 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,410
    Uses the power of multicore CPU's.
  18. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,786 (6.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,889
    Location:
    North Carolina, United States
    That's a good bit nicer than my 9600GT did ;)

    If you want to give SMP a shot, there's a guide I wrote in the Folding section here :)
    Crunching for Team TPU
  19. thebluebumblebee

    thebluebumblebee

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,864 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,410
    If you didn't see it, Buck has an interesting thread started for those of us who are concerned about power consumption. Power Consumption thread I don't want to step on any toes, but I did a little number crunching on the first card that was posted, the EVGA GTX460/768. The OC applied results in a 26% increase in PPD, but a 43% increase in power. Still, 110 watts for almost 16K is impressive.
    Buck, the only potential problem that I could see with your testing method is if you use different PSU's with different efficiency. Also, what is the PSU's ratings?
    KieX says thanks.
  20. NastyHabits

    NastyHabits

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,072 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    609
    Location:
    Oakland, CA
    I'm also curious about one thing, did you increase the voltage to get 900 core? I have that same card and can't get over 840 with stock voltage. It would be interesting to see what difference increasing the voltage makes.

    At any rate, I ordered a kill-a-watt meter and will be doing some comparisons myself. I'll let you know the results.
    Crunching for Team TPU 25 Million points folded for TPU
  21. mstenholm

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2,026 (1.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,136
    Yes he did. He wrote that he used 1.05 V up from 1.00 V.

    16000 PPD for 110 W is good but 66000 PPD for 280 W is better. You can't beat -bigadv on a hex. I'm on my way home now so expect some better numbers from me soon.
    Last edited: Nov 15, 2010
    hertz9753, [Ion] and BUCK NASTY say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  22. bogmali

    bogmali Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Messages:
    6,641 (2.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,124
    Location:
    Olympia, WA USA
    Has anyone that is doing -bigadv caught one of the newer WU's (P6900)? It's new, runs cooler, and very generous on points:D

    See discussion about it HERE

    Was lucky to catch one:

    [​IMG]
    Fitseries3 says thanks.
  23. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (6.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,106
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    working on one now...

    [​IMG]
    [Ion] says thanks.
  24. NastyHabits

    NastyHabits

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,072 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    609
    Location:
    Oakland, CA
    No. But I have a P6800, AKA a 1298. A really swell -2500 PPD on a 460.:(
    Crunching for Team TPU 25 Million points folded for TPU
  25. mstenholm

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2,026 (1.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,136
    No, got a 2684. Hmm maybe I have more luck on my other rig.

    Edit:

    Nope same thing there.
    Last edited: Nov 16, 2010
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 3 (0 members and 3 guests)

Share This Page