1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

TPU's F@H Team

Discussion in 'Folding@Home' started by W2hCYK, Jun 10, 2006.

  1. xbonez New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,182 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    315
    Location:
    Philly, PA (US)
    So, this is what I've put together until now:

    Open Box: MSI 870-G45 AM3 AMD 770 ATX AMD Motherbo...
    G.SKILL NS 2GB 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1333 (PC3 1...
    LOGISYS Computer PS575XBK 575W ATX12V SLI Ready ...

    Motherboard and PSU both support 2 GPUs. An easy hack to make SLI work. I ahve a 320Gb HDD lying, so I'll use that.
    That only leaves me to find a GPU. I have a budget of $100 for the GPU for now (I'll add another one later). Since I'm looking to extend my RAID0 array and watercool my main rig, I can't spend anymore on the GPU. Its hard to get a GTX 460 for that much.
    Whats the next best card? Or, is anyone here willing to sell a GTX 460 to a folder, if used solely for folding?
     
  2. xbonez New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,182 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    315
    Location:
    Philly, PA (US)
    If I later extend to two GPUs, will I need atleast one monitor, then? I'm not looking to hook up a monitor to the folding rig at all since I barely have any desk space with my main rig having two monitors.
    If that is the case, I won't bother getting a SLI compatible motherboard and PSU now, and instead of later SLI'ing, I'll just sell and upgrade to something powerful. Or, I'll just move the 470 from my main rig to the folding rig, and get something new for my main rig when I need to upgrade.

    Long story short: Can SLI be used for folding without any monitor? If not, I probably won't cater for SLI'ing later on.
     
  3. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,823 (3.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    you dont have to activate sli to fold :p
     
    xbonez says thanks.
  4. xbonez New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,182 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    315
    Location:
    Philly, PA (US)
    Thats good. My other question still remains ^^.
     
  5. KieX

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    2,408 (1.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,461
    Location:
    London, UK
    Your "main" monitor (the one windows designates with number 1) never needs a screen attached even in multi GPU setup.

    For additional GPU's, although the new drivers are meant to get rid of the need for cards to be connected, I'd recommend making dummy plugs for each. Very easy and cheap to make:

    http://www.overclock.net/folding-home-guides-tutorials/384733-30-second-dummy-plug.html

    I am not sure if SLI works with folding with current drivers, someone else may be able to answer that one. It is best to run multiple folding GPU as non-sli. That's why you can get any board for AMD with lots of PCI-E slots and NVIDIA GPU.

    What he said
     
  6. TeXBill

    TeXBill

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    1,358 (0.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    645
    Location:
    TX
    Yes you will need the one monitor to set it up with. If you have 2 cards in one board the second card will need whats called a dummy plug to get it to fold. more questions just ask..
    O and thanks for joining our folding@home team. Welcome
     
  7. xbonez New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,182 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    315
    Location:
    Philly, PA (US)
    So, just to be clear:
    Once I have my folding client set up, and folding, I can disconnect ALL monitors from that system and continue folding?

    PS
    If I can't get a 460 for $100, I'll go for a 260 (not hard to find them sub $100 on eBay). Would that be alright? I'll get another one in a few months once prices plummet and I can get them for 50ish bucks
     
  8. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,823 (3.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    get the 450 instead, its a bit better than 260 and uses less power and less noise

    gonna get this folding later


    [​IMG]
     
    KieX says thanks.
  9. KieX

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    2,408 (1.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,461
    Location:
    London, UK
    On one GPU yes. That's all there is to it :toast:

    For any more GPU's you need to extend the desktop to those cards, and with new NVIDA drivers once setup you should be able to run headless computer. Although if you experience problems you may need to attach those Dummy VGA plugs
     
    xbonez says thanks.
  10. xbonez New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,182 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    315
    Location:
    Philly, PA (US)
    Last edited: Dec 9, 2010
  11. mstenholm

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2,041 (1.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,149
    Yes but not by much. As is folding does not need 1 GB cards, the 768 GB does the job just as well and at lower cost. In the future (read: when the current "test" WU's will be ordinary WU's) core count is better and then the 465's will dominate the 460's.

    The "test" WU's is for fermi GPU's only and you get them them by adding -advmethods in your short cut.
     
    xbonez says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  12. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,823 (3.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    take 460, less power, less noise(very much!!!) and does more ppd afaik
     
    xbonez says thanks.
  13. xbonez New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,182 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    315
    Location:
    Philly, PA (US)
    Another question:
    Whats the recommended PSU wattage rating for 2 x 460 in SLI?
     
  14. PVTCaboose1337

    PVTCaboose1337 Graphical Hacker

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Messages:
    9,513 (3.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,142
    Location:
    San Antonio, Texas
    A 750w should cover it. Also, you don't want them in SLI if folding!
     
  15. xbonez New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,182 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    315
    Location:
    Philly, PA (US)
    Oh, yes..lol. I just say it out of habit. I meant 2 460s.
     
  16. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,823 (3.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    a good 6-700w psu if you go with something like a enermax or seasonic a 700w should do more than fine

    each card uses 160w MAX without oc, then you can add 20w to oc thats 320w in total, then 100 for cpu, and 50 for other stuff
     
    PVTCaboose1337 says thanks.
  17. PVTCaboose1337

    PVTCaboose1337 Graphical Hacker

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Messages:
    9,513 (3.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,142
    Location:
    San Antonio, Texas
    Don't forget each card used 24 amps. So 2 x 24 = 48 amps for the GPU's minimum. Not to mention the rest of the system needs to pull, let's say 12 amps depending on configuration. I would say you need 60 amps to run the system.
     
    (FIH) The Don says thanks.
  18. theonedub

    theonedub habe fidem

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Messages:
    7,133 (3.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,658
    2 460s are not going to use 24A each, maybe together but not each. The 460s TDP is 150/160w so thats about 13A per card and even folding they are not going to hit that mark.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  19. xbonez New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,182 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    315
    Location:
    Philly, PA (US)
    Suppose I get the Phenom II x2 555BE and unlock cores and OC. How many more PPDs will the 460 generate compared to the Phenom?
     
  20. PVTCaboose1337

    PVTCaboose1337 Graphical Hacker

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Messages:
    9,513 (3.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,142
    Location:
    San Antonio, Texas
    I assume you did Ohm's law. 160w/12v=13.33A

    Yeah that does sound more fair that 24A per card. I remember reading however that these indeed did pull that amount.
     
  21. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,823 (3.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    got the 2x275s up and running finally

    the one that bumps up and down is my main card,

    [​IMG]

    will be doing 100% fold on second card all day, and 80% on the main
     
    hertz9753 says thanks.
  22. xbonez New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,182 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    315
    Location:
    Philly, PA (US)
    Thanks for all the help guys. Will order my folding rig and hopefully have it together in a few days. This will fold 24x7, without a minute's rest.
    In the meanwhile, I'm going to start folding on my main rig too from 11pm - 5pm everyday (sleep/work).
     
  23. mstenholm

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2,041 (1.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,149
    I can only give half the answer - a 460 @ 850 MHz core does 11.328 PPD (points per day) on the 6800 WU. This is the current WU's. This is my second card in my work rig. My primary card, a 450 yields 7009 PPD, but there is not a big hit in PPD if you actually use the GPU, only some slow response.
     
    xbonez says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  24. mstenholm

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2,041 (1.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,149
    That's great. What is the final temperatur for the two cards?. The #1 seems to be a candidate for my workshop heating problem ;)

    I do the same - run my lower card (460) 24/7 and the work one on/off to keep temperatures in check and leave me some time to other stuff.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  25. Josh154

    Josh154 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,229 (0.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    317
    Location:
    Hartford SD
    Hey guys! Just got my second 8800gts today and have them installed. Does anyone have any helpful links to getting it setup on two cards?
     
    (FIH) The Don says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 3 (0 members and 3 guests)

Share This Page