1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

TPU's F@H Team

Discussion in 'Folding@Home' started by W2hCYK, Jun 10, 2006.

  1. BUCK NASTY

    BUCK NASTY F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,447 (1.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,533
    Location:
    Tallahassee, FL. U.S.A.
    Picked up another Open Box GTX460 @ Newegg. Just need 3 more and another GTS450 Top to accomplish my goal for year end. It's a shame that the points have tanked for these cards.
     
    mstenholm, TeXBill, hertz9753 and 2 others say thanks.
  2. thebluebumblebee

    thebluebumblebee

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,099 (1.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,622
    The prices on the new 6900 series AMD cards should push Nvidia prices down.

    Secondly, any guesses if the GTX560 will have all 384 shaders active? Hopefully, that will help with the big WU's.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. xbonez New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,182 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    315
    Location:
    Philly, PA (US)
    Great...seems like my PC either shut down (highly unlikely), or that I lost net connection sometime in the night (quite likely). 0 points today...sad face
     
  4. Josh154

    Josh154 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,229 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    317
    Location:
    Hartford SD
    Bummer :( Im having some issues with my overclock right now. I had to take the ram down to 667 to be stable at 3.6 but now i will randomely freeze up. No BSOD nothing just freezes everything. I don't know if this is a ram issue or needs more vcore. I upped the vcore just one more and im folding right now. Seem's pretty stable but wondering if i should loosen my ram timings to keep it at a low vcore.
     
  5. MoonPig

    MoonPig

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Messages:
    5,729 (2.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    886
    Location:
    Wakefield, UK
    Should, RM depending, have a GTX460 arriving tomorrow!
     
  6. xbonez New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,182 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    315
    Location:
    Philly, PA (US)
    For some reason, about once a day I lose net connection to my PC. Disconnecting the ethernet cable and reconnecting it, or restarting the router restores my net connection. Once I get my dedicated folding rig, I do no want to have to do this as the aim is the folding rig should be a low maintenance 24/7 folding machine.

    So I solved my problem by writing a small C# program and a batch script. Just in case anyone else is having the same problem as me, this should help.

    C# code:
    (urlToCheck and batchFileLoc variables may be changed)

    Code:
    using System;
    using System.Collections.Generic;
    using System.Text;
    using System.Net;
    using System.Diagnostics;
    using System.Threading;
    
    namespace TEST_restartRouter
    {
        class Program
        {
            static void Main(string[] args)
            {
                string urlToCheck = @"http:\\www.google.com";
                string batchFileLoc = @"c:\batchtest.bat";
                Uri urlCheck = new Uri(urlToCheck);
                WebRequest request = WebRequest.Create(urlCheck);
                request.Timeout = 15000;
    
                WebResponse response;
    
                while (true)
                {
                    try
                    {
                        response = request.GetResponse();
                    }
                    catch
                    {
                        Process proc = new Process();
                        proc.StartInfo.FileName = batchFileLoc;
                        proc.StartInfo.WindowStyle = ProcessWindowStyle.Hidden;
                        proc.StartInfo.CreateNoWindow = true;
                        proc.Start();
                        proc.WaitForExit();
                    }
    
                    Thread.Sleep(600000); //wait 10min
                }
    
            }
        }
    }
    
    
    Batch file:
    (telnet will have to be enabled in router settings

    Code:
    192.168.1.1
    WAIT "login:"
    SEND "username\m"	//ur username here
    WAIT "Password:"
    SEND "password\m"	//ur password here
    WAIT "#"
    SEND "reboot\m"    //command to reboot modem here
    WAIT "#"
    SEND "exit\m"
    
    I'm just going to run this on my folding rig. The program runs infinitely, checking for a net connection every ten min, and if the connection is down, it restarts the router.
     
    Josh154 says thanks.
  7. Josh154

    Josh154 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,229 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    317
    Location:
    Hartford SD
    Cool man!:D
     
  8. mstenholm

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2,069 (1.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,172
    xbonez says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  9. xbonez New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,182 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    315
    Location:
    Philly, PA (US)
    Hmm...maybe that is why I have 0 points today?

    Great. Just logged in to my home desktop from work via VNC. Seems like my comp restarted sometime in the night and so folding stopped (damn Windows update). Resumed folding now. Fortunately I had my VNC server in start up.
     
  10. Josh154

    Josh154 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,229 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    317
    Location:
    Hartford SD
    Thats why you turn windows update to download but ask me when to install ;)
     
  11. mstenholm

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2,069 (1.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,172
    Folding rule # 1 - deactivate Window Update ;) - learnt it the hard way
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  12. xbonez New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,182 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    315
    Location:
    Philly, PA (US)
    Seems I did too...lol
     
  13. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,823 (3.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    i know where you stole that from lol :roll:

    jk

    nice trade you 2 did btw :toast:


    i usually put the fah shortcuts into the start folder, then its no problem if the machine restarts, it just continues, allthough i dunno how that works for CPU folding
     
  14. msgclb

    msgclb

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    1,718 (0.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,270
    Location:
    Oklahoma City
    I had a rig crash last night and I couldn't see why that caused me to loose so many points.
    The above link doesn't seem to have any solution. Hope the problem is only effecting the stats.

    Update: I just noticed this.

     
    Last edited: Dec 15, 2010
    mstenholm says thanks.
  15. mstenholm

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2,069 (1.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,172
    GPU folding is no problem as long there is only one acount. My -bigadv experience is that if stopped and restarted the bonus is lost (8995 vss 92.000 (hex) / 75.000 (quad))
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  16. xbonez New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,182 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    315
    Location:
    Philly, PA (US)
    Would an EVGA 9800GX2 for $60 be a good deal? According to the GPU PPD DB I should get about 10k PPD.
     
    (FIH) The Don says thanks.
  17. bogmali

    bogmali Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Messages:
    6,644 (2.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,124
    Location:
    Olympia, WA USA
    $60 is a sick deal for a 9800GX2. Two words-"Get it"!
     
  18. xbonez New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,182 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    315
    Location:
    Philly, PA (US)
    Alright. here's my next question. The guy i am buying it from has 4 of these available. Anyone else interested? If we buy all 4, we could get a good deal. I can buy them and then ship them out (US only, of course)
    EDIT - He also said he'll bundle dummy plugs since they'll be used for folding.
     
    (FIH) The Don says thanks.
  19. bogmali

    bogmali Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Messages:
    6,644 (2.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,124
    Location:
    Olympia, WA USA
    Where and who are you buying them from?

    Reason I asked is just make sure that they work!
     
  20. mstenholm

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2,069 (1.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,172
    6800 WU Update From Folding Forum - Unfortunately we have lost the records for credits so re-crediting in this case is not possible. Really sorry.

    8½ hours of Fermi folding down the drain.
     
    theonedub says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  21. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,823 (3.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    damn :eek::rockout:
     
  22. xbonez New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,182 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    315
    Location:
    Philly, PA (US)
    A guy from another forum. He's reputable, has great heat and ebay feedback. He also guarantees against DOA.
     
  23. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,823 (3.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    sick deal if you can get them, i would do it
     
  24. xbonez New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,182 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    315
    Location:
    Philly, PA (US)
    Awesome. Should I count you in for 1 or 2?
    I could potentially keep two of them (though I'd prefer one).
    I need to be able to get rid of 2-3 of them, in which case I'll buy all 4.
     
  25. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,823 (3.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    i dont live in the states, but i would if i did
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page