1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

TPU's F@H Team

Discussion in 'Folding@Home' started by W2hCYK, Jun 10, 2006.

  1. KieX

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    2,408 (1.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,461
    Location:
    London, UK
    Don't know what happened, can't thank Bogmali's post. the thanks button has dissapeared.

    Cool. I think in that case I'll run SMP with the two GPU3 cards on that rig. Time to countdown the days for me now
    Last edited: Dec 18, 2010
  2. mstenholm

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2,026 (1.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,136
    The 6900 is a -bigadv.
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  3. Josh154

    Josh154 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,229 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    317
    Location:
    Hartford SD
    Oh, why does it say smp2 then? Haha sorry im a noob i've never done bigadv :eek: Looking forward to starting though!

    Oh and gpu2 clients take less cpu usage than gpu 3 correct? What would a i7 clocked at 4.0 do with two 8800gts's? Right now i get about 11-13k depending on what work unit's i get on the 8800gts's.
  4. KieX

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    2,408 (1.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,461
    Location:
    London, UK
    bigadv is a command of the SMP core client to get those special WU.
    Josh154 says thanks.
  5. Josh154

    Josh154 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,229 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    317
    Location:
    Hartford SD
    Ohhh, i got it now thanks! :eek: Anybody need some ddr2 ram? I've got some!
  6. BUCK NASTY

    BUCK NASTY F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,443 (1.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,504
    Location:
    Tallahassee, FL. U.S.A.
    Very nice bogmali. Still pulling 27K PPD while feeding 2 Fermi's.:rockout:
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. Bow

    Bow

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Messages:
    2,347 (1.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    938
    Location:
    Way Upstate New York
    :respect:
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. xbonez New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,182 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    315
    Location:
    Philly, PA (US)
    Ok, noob question. What is the difference between GPU, GPU2 and GPU3 client, and which should I run for a 470 and a 480?
  9. bogmali

    bogmali Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Messages:
    6,641 (2.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,124
    Location:
    Olympia, WA USA
    Your Fermi cards will need to run GPU3, GPU2 will not work with them. Other cards will run GPU2 but will have a handicap running GPU3 (meaning less PPD).
    xbonez says thanks.
  10. xbonez New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,182 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    315
    Location:
    Philly, PA (US)
    Ok, gotcha. Checked my config and I do have it running as GPU3.

    For all folders:
    I'm selling an Asus GTX 470. I had two of them. Sold on to TexBill. This is the second one and is an OPEN BOX from newegg.
    If you buy it for folding, I'll knock 20 bucls off
    [FS][US] Asus GTX 470 Like New

    Until the card sells, I might use it to fold.

    So, I have both my GTX 470s plugged in, but not SLI'ed. In FAH GPU Tracker, I go to configure and Autodetect GPUs, but it only detects one GPU. How can I fold using both?

    [​IMG]


    Question:
    Can someone also tell me what are the requirements for -bigadv?
    Last edited: Dec 18, 2010
  11. BUCK NASTY

    BUCK NASTY F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,443 (1.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,504
    Location:
    Tallahassee, FL. U.S.A.
    You need a least an i7 clocked @ 3.6Ghz to make the deadline for the bonus. most of us aim between 3.8 and 4.0ghz for the O/C's. Some have even used highly clocked(4.0+Ghz) Phenom II x6's, but get a diminished bonus. The more cores, the merrier with -bigadv.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  12. Josh154

    Josh154 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,229 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    317
    Location:
    Hartford SD
    Oh guys i just got another idea! So after i got my droid x i haven't touched my itouch sense. It's a 2nd gen 8gb version but the back plate has my name in it. i took the front digitizer off before as it was cracked and haven't gotten a new one. I checked ebay and i can get a brand new back plate for about $15 bucks and a new digitzer for another $15 bucks. So i could put $30 bucks in it and i think i could get $100 bucks out of it. I still have the retail packaging and all. The only negative i could think of is the serial number won't be on the new back plate. I could just include the old back plate with it for the serial number if they really need it.

    Does this sound like a good plan? I can go ahead and order those two things now and then sell it and make some cash for my i7 :)

    EDIT: Something like this and this.
    Last edited: Dec 19, 2010
  13. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,225
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    That sounds about right to me at least from the top of my head it sounds like a good way to get some extra $$$ towards your new rig.
    Josh154 says thanks.
  14. Josh154

    Josh154 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,229 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    317
    Location:
    Hartford SD
    Yeah, id rather be patient and get as much money as i can and get good quality stuff that i wont want to upgrade. I think id be happy with 1156 but then that thought of why didn't i just go 1366 for hexa in the future?

    It's just always how it is you buy one thing and then want the next best thing. Here's my other question. Should i score a used 920 or 930 where i know the stepping, VID, and what it OC's to for about 180-190 or should i grab a brand new 950 where i don't know anything about the chip and pay like $230 with tax at micro center.

    Im leaning towards the used 920/930 and then i could put that other $40-50 in a mobo :D
  15. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,225
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    Well, I always want to upgrade anyways but that's just me :roll:. I would get the used chip, but depending on who is selling it. There's a lot of reputable sellers here selling you some really good stuff at great prices that are always willing to help if you have any issues. Try to buy from soneome who can assist with a RMA if possible, in case you have the CPU go bad (could happen all of the sudden) you can RMA it. :toast:
  16. bogmali

    bogmali Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Messages:
    6,641 (2.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,124
    Location:
    Olympia, WA USA
    Chicken Patty says thanks.
  17. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,225
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
  18. Josh154

    Josh154 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,229 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    317
    Location:
    Hartford SD
    Yeah I know what ya mean with the always upgrading. I always want to upgrade but i think if i got a 1366 board i wouldn't want to upgrade to sandy bridge at all.

    Also why should i try getting a proc that i can RMA? What's warranty on processors anyways? I didn't think processors died all that much.

    I don't see it :mad: If i did i would pick one up and go re sell it on ebay for like $350 and make some cash for my i7 rig :p
  19. hertz9753

    hertz9753

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,076 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    468
    Location:
    Bismarck, ND
  20. Josh154

    Josh154 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,229 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    317
    Location:
    Hartford SD
    Ohhh gotcha. Didn't look further down. Man i haven't gotten my sleep ive hda 4 hours since thursday night haha anyone wanna play some css? I won the tourny last night at 20-5 :p
  21. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,225
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    They don't really go bad all that often, but remember you are most likely going to be overclocking and having it under load 24/7. It puts a toll on anything you know. That's why if you can buy off someone who you have seen on here perhaps and you have seen what their chip can do and you know it's taken care off then that's even better. Chances are that person can help you RMA it if it ever went bad.
  22. Josh154

    Josh154 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,229 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    317
    Location:
    Hartford SD
    Yeah i know what ya mean there. Would i be best off just getting a 950 at micro center then? I don't really want to take a chance at the batch, VID and all that crap and pay more.. But it is brand new and has warranty. Only other thing though, say i get the proc and it's DOA do i gotta bring it back to a mc? I've actually had a processor DOA before :mad:

    EDIT: Don't know if anyone's seen this but it seems like it could be pretty legit. Say we fold for asus for 2 weeks and get more hardware running for TPU or even one of those 980x's! Wouldn't that be sweet to get any of those going for tpu?

    Here is the link.
    Last edited: Dec 19, 2010
  23. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,817 (3.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    looks like a good idea, i wouldnt mind doing it
  24. Josh154

    Josh154 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,229 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    317
    Location:
    Hartford SD
    Just imagine if you scored a 980x or even any of those gpu's!:eek:
  25. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,817 (3.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    i wont :( its for US and Can only :mad:

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (1 member and 1 guest)

thebluebumblebee

Share This Page